We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
125
103
28
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
103
28
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colobus monkeys game reserve usa river kilimanjaro airport long flight camp fire starting point first stop close proximity guinea fowl mount meru lovely spot safari holiday beautiful grounds hotel grounds spent two nights room was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

After a very long series of flights from Cape Town our group of eight were greeted at Mt. Kilimanjaro Airport and whisked away to Mt. Meru Lodge and what a treat it was. Even though it was midnight the lovely receptionist opened the bar so we could wind down with a cocktail before retiring to our beautiful cabins. The rooms were large and comfortable with well appointed bathrooms. We woke the next morning to see the animals roaming the grounds - what an unexpected pleasure. A large table had been set outside for our breakfast that was served by such wonderful staff. The food was fresh and very good and our only complaint is that we had to leave so soon.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ransclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zummi C, Owner at Mount Meru Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us an amazing review. Like you, many of our guests arrive late. We do our very best to accommodate late arrivals by keeping the kitchens open till late, sometimes serving guests dinner at midnight. I am glad to hear that the receptionist opened the bar for you so that you could enjoy a cocktail before retiring to your room. Shame you did not stay longer and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting the Nelson Mandela Institute. So much nicer than a multi-storey hotel nearer the city centre. Lovely spacious rooms with comfy beds and enormous bathrooms. Old colonial feel is great and the animal sanctuary provides a great vocal backdrop at night, so you feel you are already on safari! Lovely food, fire pit for atmosphere and proper pizza oven. Never seen so many colobus monkeys in such a short time along with Sykes monkeys. Absolutely stunning trees and garden. Great shop for local arts and crafts. Highly recommend
Professor John

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Daktari62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zummi C, Owner at Mount Meru Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

It was a pleasure hosting you during your visit, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of your company when you are next in Tanzania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We landed in JRO (Kilimanjaro airport), and was the first hotel we stayed in before moving to the national parks.

It was quiet, full of history and was our first exposure to free roaming animals (almost free roaming), with black and while colobus, blue and bushbaby monkeys (Galago monkeys) roaming freely in the trees surrounding the lodges.

The wifi was strong in our rooms and was a good way to slowly wean us off the internet as we moved to the national parks. And with the animals in close proximity within the hotel grounds, it was a good prelude for the days to come as we went for our safari tour.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sightsee809155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zummi C, Owner at Mount Meru Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the rest of your safari was a success. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

I spent a night at the lodge and really enjoyed my time there. I mostly loved the natural environment including the river within the compound. The room was spacious with a large and comfortable bed. My wish was to see the zebra that was supposed to be at the sanctuary but unfortunately he was hiding and didn’t come out! Other animals can be seen though, like crocodile, tortoise and beautiful birds.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zummi C, Owner at Mount Meru Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Shame you did not get to see the Zebra, he is sometimes at the back of the sanctuary where he cant be seen. All the animals are at the front during feeding time, 3:00 pm. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We stayed here 2 nights before commencing our safari.
The buffet meals were generous (breakfast and dinner) and had some good options for all types of eaters.
The room was very generous with two good sized beds and an ensuite bathroom each. The bathrooms were a bit rustic and could be updated, but they were ok.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank MelAxP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zummi C, Owner at Mount Meru Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the generous room, dinner and breakfast. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews