We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:30 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing Visit to Africa - Botswana, South Africa, Zimbabwe

True Africa is an amazing travel company to book with! Rebecca and the team at True Africa put... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
564jaymec
The most True African Safari Company there is

This was the second time we have booked our African holiday with TrueAfrica Safaris. In July 2022... read more

Reviewed 18 January 2024
LianSteendijk
Read all 179 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Arusha
from R 33 393,29
More Info
from R 15 643,63
More Info
from R 53 343,81
More Info
from R 53 790,04
More Info
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
178
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews true africa encounter mara ol pejeta our honeymoon east africa game drives his team tamarind tree kwihala camp acacia house airport waiting gorilla trek smallest details perfect itinerary attention to detail great sightings every respect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2023

Having had a safari trip of our life the year before, we knew exactly what we wanted. True Africa diligently addressed our needs guiding us through the pros and cons of our camp options. Through the process we felt very good about the three-camp eight-night itinerary. A last-minute cancelled flight led to our arrival a day later. True Africa went the extra mile at short notice to move camp/safari-flight dates and preserve our itinerary. The trip was truly exceptional and exceeded our high bar. We will certainly return to TrueAfrica to put together our next safari.

Date of experience: February 2023
Thank Ajit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2023

Lucky to have spent 5 nights in Serian Lamai at end October. 12 year old son and myself. overnight in Kahawa House in Arusha was perfect and adjacent to airport, nice pool too. Early morning departure to Lamai airstrip. Guided by expert guide Michael. Did 1 night fly camping, well worth it for the experience, maybe do 2 next time. 2 walks which were great one by the Mara river and other on the plains, lots of flies when walking so bring repellant.
Serian are amazing, either in Kusini or Lamai, great food and authentic experience. Staff are class. Lamai being recently made permament has flushing loos, electricity and real showers all nice after long game drives. Cant recommend TrueAfrica enough, our luggage never arrived in Africa but the TrueAfrica team got it to us in less than 2 days so fair play. Went on to Zuri in Zanzibar, expensive compared to the adjacent Gold hotel but well worth it.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank michaelmcguirk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2023

What can I say, other than I have just returned from the most incredible trip of my life, travelling to Tanzania & Zanzibar with my husband and our 12 year old son.

I know there is an element of luck in what you get to see when you book a safari, but I have no doubt that Natasha's expert planning played a huge part and trip ran like clockwork and was absolutely flawless in every way. From the private safari vehicle (which we weren’t expecting) to the most experienced and knowledgeable guides and to the wonderful staff that worked at the camps, there was absolutely nothing that I would have changed.

To say that we were lucky with our sightings would be an understatement. Oliver's Camp, Tarangire NP was just fabulous, and we had a wonderful guide called Grace, who quite honestly was an inspiration and a real credit to Asilia. We both had a love for leopards and if there was a leopard out there, she would spot it, 6 in total, two of which we saw on our return journey to the airstrip.

We also visited Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro Crater NP, staying at Gibbs Farm on route to Olakira Migration Camp, Serengeti,

We were greeted by our guide Ally, who very attentively asked what we wanted to see and we yet again we revealed our favourite animals, because let’s face it you can never see too many leopards. I didn’t think for a moment to mention a river crossing because I naively thought when you came to the Serengeti to see the migration, off course you were going to see a river crossing!!! I’d already told him about my 6 separate leopard sighting, so the bar was set quite high.

I would say that within a couple of hours we found ourselves at one of the river crossings, with a very large herd of Wildebeest debating whether or not to cross. Ten to fifteen minutes later they crossed, and we had the best seats in the house and it was only when we returned to camp late afternoon that we became aware just how lucky we were to see a crossing, especially on our first game drive. We then went on to see 6/7 more crossings, 2 more leopards and more importantly from my perspective nothing was eaten by the crocodiles.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Stone Town and took a 2 hour tour, which was invaluable when you have limited time. This was arranged through our hotel, Upendo House, which was the perfect location. We then spent 4 days at Breezes Beach Club for some relaxation, but after a couple of days we were longing to be back on safari.

We honestly cannot thank the team at True Africa for putting together the most incredible safari and cannot wait to start planning a trip to see the gorillas when my son is old enough.

If you are looking to book a dream safari, look no further!

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank WhiteNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2023

TrueAfrica organized for us the perfect Safari trip in Tanzania. Lucy was really amazing patient and kind with us. The trip was organized for a family of 6 adults ages from 60-30, So it was hard to accommodate all of our needs but Lucy did it. We had A LOT OF QUESTIONS and she answered them patiently and kindly.
We really enjoyed our camps our guides and saw a lot of amazing animals. Lucy made us feel like we are in good hands and we were. So thank you for the amazing trip

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Elad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2023 via mobile

We had a wonderful family trip to masai mara all superbly planned by Troy and his team of True Africa. July 2023 was when we travelled and enjoyed a 7 day comfortable trip to the Mara. We loved our stay at the Mara Explorer. The people were lovely and sooo hospitable. The great staff and our fantastic guides. Mary, Paul, Dennis, Lawrence thank you.
Troy organised this entire trip for us and helped us through the whole of it. Thanks so much Troy
We hope to travel with you again.
👍👍👍
Supriya Pathak Kapur

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Skapur123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews