We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Em Bee
New York City, New York

Amazing is an Understatement

Review of Legendary Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Aug 2019via mobile
This place is beyond amazing. All rooms have some type of view of Mt. Meru. Sunrise with Mt. Meru in the background with clouds hovering just below the peak is awesome.

The staff are an amazing lot. They are very friendly and ready to help at any time. This is a place not to be missed.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Melia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 9 233
  • Hotels.com
8.1 km from Legendary Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 232
  • Booking.com
6.5 km from Legendary Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 846
  • Booking.com
7.6 km from Legendary Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 347
  • Booking.com
13.8 km from Legendary Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 091
  • Hotels.com
6.1 km from Legendary Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 417
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 938
8.8 km from Legendary Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 310
  • Hotels.com
9.0 km from Legendary Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 909
  • Hotels.com
31.3 km from Legendary Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 564
  • Hotels.com
12.2 km from Legendary Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 914
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
17.4 km from Legendary Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Arusha
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
118
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
118
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee plantation one night beautiful accommodations front porch stayed longer appointed rooms mount meru kilimanjaro airport large bathroom lodge africa grounds safari antelope fireplace convenience souvenirs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Palahala lodge for one night before we started our safari in the Serengeti. It is one of the largest
lodges we have stayed in & beautifully appointed. A covered patio looks out on the spacious gardens
where you can see Dik Dik grazing & Vervet Monkeys running around. The room was huge with a large
lounge room & a separate bathroom & toilet. King size bed with mosquito nets. It was very private,
quiet, clean & comfortable. All inclusive gourmet dinner with wide selection of wines & spirits &
breakfast also included. Food was beautifully presented & delicious. All staff were extremely friendly
with very attentive service. My hubby had a cold & they arranged a driver & transport to take him to see
the Doctor at the local Medical Center. Free Wifi with excellent reception.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank afong138
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2019

Legendary Lodge is another "andbeyond" property and it didn't disappoint! When the driver picked us up at the airport to drive us to Legendary Lodge, he mentioned that 95% of the guests stay one night -- on their way to some other place. In our case, we were there for less than 12 hours, but they were soft and fluffy hours. When we arrived at 9pm after a long trip, we were offered dinner. We were tired and the manager, Alena?, offered to just make whatever we wanted and have it brought to our room. We also mentioned we were hoping originally to get some laundry done (when we thought we'd arrive earlier in the day). Once again, the manager said "no problem" and had our laundry picked up before the dinner arrived in our room. The dinner was delicious and had a lovely presentation. In the morning, we were able to see the beauty of the place. The staff was very friendly. The food wonderful. The rooms large and well decorated. The stay was like resting on a soft pillow.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AuntieMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2019

There was nothing that could be done to make our stay easier or more comfortable that Alina did not suggest or make happen. While our stay was only one night, it was a very relaxing break from travel. The grounds are lovely with views of Mount Meru.
The food was excellent. The super fast laundry service made things much easier. The beds were comfortable. The rooms were large and well equipped. The staff was friendly. Perfect.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limoncelloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2019

This location and the suites were absolutely stunning. The suites are extremely large with a separate living room, sleeping area and a huge bathroom with a separate toilet areas. The bathroom has both a shower and a beautiful tub. Beds have mosquito netting which the staff pull during the turn down service. TV service is available. Meals were included and the service and the meals were incredible. The meal selection changed night to night and was limited, but always enough selection that everyone could find something they loved. Wine selection was good. Pool is available, but not heated. Suites were beautifully decorated. Too many wonderful things to say about this property. Highly recommend this as a site to start or end your safari. We had friends who stayed here and the Arusha Coffee House and MUCH preferred this site. This was part of a safari package for us, but I understand the rooms are quite pricy.

Room tip: All Rooms are Stunning.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2018

We started our trip to Tanzania and Kenya by landing at the Legendary Lodge in Arusha, and absolutely loved everything about the place. The greeting and the staff were wonderful, our room was perfect, and the food was fabulous. The grounds are lovely and the off-site fitness center and pool were surprisingly great. My massage at the Legendary was one of the best massages I've had in a long time. Since it's a working coffee plantation, you can walk around the extensive grounds and see all sorts of wildlife. The chef does a wonderful job with the menu, and the plating of every dish is a thoughtful and as tasteful as the overall experience. We highly recommend this very special boutique. hotel.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews