We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 207)
Filter reviews
1 207 results
Traveller rating
900
280
23
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
900
280
23
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roy safaris baobab restaurant anuj sharma boutique hotel the general manager no elevator beautiful hotel indian dishes pool bar the hotel manager would highly recommend this hotel two nights safari trip spacious room breakfast buffet first night gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1 207 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We stayed here for one night prior to our safari with Roy Safari and then for several nights afterward. I don't know to begin to describe what an oasis is this lovely boutique hotel. The building itself is like a private museum, with beautiful artwork, most of it of local origin, throughout. Our room was gorgeous and spotless, offering a level of luxury that we are unaccustomed to but thoroughly enjoyed! We joked that we felt like British royalty! The bar is more like a lovely living room with cozy sitting areas and stunning artwork depicting scenes of Zanzibar. We actually elected to have our dinner there more than once, and we were quickly accommodated. The food was all delicious, from the generous breakfast buffet to every item we ordered from the menu. But the very, very best thing about The African Tulip is the staff. They absolutely made us feel like family. Every single person was warm, engaging, helpful, professional... I could go on and on! We were originally scheduled to spend our last two nights at a more rustic lodge outside of town as we had work to do, but after arriving we learned that their power was out and it would be very difficult for us to take care of our business needs. We called the Tulip and they immediately sent a driver for us, and when we arrived back at the hotel (after an absence of a couple of hours), they all greeted us like long-lost relatives! It truly felt like we were coming back home, and I will never consider staying anywhere else in Arusha. So, to our new Arusha family and co-world-cup-viewing buddies, I say a warm thank you, and we hope to see you again very soon!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Wow Thank you very much for this tremendous review of The African Tulip Hotel and for staying with us. It was a pleasure for our team to welcome you and have you stay with us for the many nights that you did. We are very grateful for your kind words and are delighted that you enjoyed your room, food and the services provided to the both of you by our staff. We look forward to your next visit whenever you are in Arusha!
Sincerely,
Melissa Amsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We stayed here for 1 night when we arrived from Kenya. Unfortunately we only had a few hours to sleep before we had to leave for our tour. We arrived at 1.30 am and found staff waiting for greet us and were very helpful. Only problem there is no elevator so if you have problems with stairs request a down stairs room. Staff are very friendly and obliging. Being an Australian I was very impressed to see Vegemite at breakfast. Top marks for that. Breakfast was delicious anything from cereal to cooked food. Eggs made to order. About 1 hour drive from the Kilimanjaro Airport but shuttle bus is available. Spacious bathroom and great shower. Rooms were also very spacious. We had a twin share and had plenty of room to move around. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureend105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing The African Tulip for your recent stay in Arusha and for your kind words. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, appreciating the spacious rooms, food and services provided. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back the next time you are in Tanzania.
Kind regards,
Melissa Amsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We stayed at the African Tulip Hotel at the start of our safari and thoroughly enjoyed it! We were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise because the bathroom was incredible-one of the best showers I ever used during my stay in Africa! Air conditioning worked well. Beds were relatively comfy. We ate dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed it; however, it was pretty pricey compared to the other places where we payed for meals. Breakfast was delicious and had a wide selection of options. Staff was very friendly and always checking to see if we needed something. Overall would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank welltraveledwithlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The African Tulip Hotel and for sharing the lovely experiences that you had with other travelers. It was our pleasure being of service to you and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your room, food and services provided. We certainly look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Melissa Amsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My wife and I stayed at the African Tulip the night we arrived in Arusha as well as using a day room the day we left Tanzania. We were not there very long either time, but had a very good experience.

Both visits, the staff was friendly and helpful. Each room was pretty large and well appointed. We were provided enough water each time for the visit (drinking, brushing teeth, etc). The beds were good - we slept well. The bathrooms were very nice (especially after 7 days in mostly tents!).

I would recommend the African Tulip to anyone with a stay in Arusha.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mstiwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for all your kind words about The African Tulip Hotel. We are all very excited to read that you enjoyed the rooms appointed to you, food and services provided by our staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Melissa Amsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

After long flights to reach Arusha, the Tulip was a true pleasure to check into and spend the night. The hotel looks great, the rooms are big and clean, the breakfast was delicious, and the staff is super helpful and friendly, especially the excellent manager. It was comforting knowing the Tulip was waiting for us at the end of our safari as well. Can't imagine a better choice in Arusha than the Tulip.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u238_235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaAmsi, Guest Relations Manager at The African Tulip, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share this lovely review of our hotel with other travelers on here. It was great for our team to serve you and we are all delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us before and after your safari. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you visit Tanzania.
Kind regards,
Melissa Amsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews