We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
A-Man90
Melbourne, Australia

Going back in time

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Apr 2024
We stayed 1 night in this beautiful little 4 room hotel in Galle.

They have converted an ancient house into this hotel and maintained the same style and architecture. Front door is usually locked but as soon as you press the buzzer on the right side, staff would come and attend you.

We came in a scorching hot day. As soon as we entered the hotel, staff guided us to the lobby/ lounge area. We were given a cold towel and a passionfruit popsicle as the welcome drink. I thought that was genius. Something cold to cool down. Place is clean, tidy and well maintained.

We stayed at the premier seaview room. It was on the upstairs over looking fort walls and the front st. Room was surprisingly quiet. Bedroom was extremely spacious with a coffeetable and an old-school couch. Bathroom is the biggest I have ever seen in my life with a freestanding bathtub.

Staff were friendly and attentive. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. However, staff would deliver a pot of tea as soon as you request one.

Overall we had an amazing time in this boutique hotel. I highly recommend if you are looking for a different kind of hotel to stay
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taru Villas Marketing, Owner at Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort, responded to this review
Responded 03 Apr 2024
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our boutique hotel and for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our unique blend of history, architecture, and hospitality left a positive impression on you.

It brings us great joy to know that you appreciated the charm of our converted ancient house and the efforts we have made to maintain its original style and architecture. Your description of the welcome experience, with the cold towel and passionfruit popsicle, perfectly captures the refreshing and thoughtful touches we strive to provide to our guests.

We are thrilled to hear that you found your premier seaview room to be spacious, quiet, and well-appointed. Our team takes pride in ensuring that our guests feel comfortable and have everything they need for a memorable stay, and it is rewarding to hear that we succeeded in meeting your expectations.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our friendly and attentive staff. Providing exceptional service is at the heart of what we do, and we are delighted to hear that our team's efforts enhanced your overall experience with us.

Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we truly appreciate your support. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future.

Warm regards,
The Team at Taru Villas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 302
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 135
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 909
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 861
R 4 367
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 861
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 858
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort
Free Wifi
Pool
R 6 408
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 419
  • Hotels.com
    R 6 415
  • Tripadvisor
    R 6 419
2.8 km from Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 765
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 256
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 750
2.6 km from Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 2 737
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 468
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 466
4.6 km from Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 194
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 743
  • Trip.com
4.2 km from Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 627
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
2.7 km from Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 701
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 262
0.2 km from Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Room Balcony View
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 844
  • Agoda.com
    R 574
  • Expedia.com
    R 760
2.7 km from Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Galle
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
116
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the garden view room poolside room galle fort historic house sri lanka boutique property lovely pool small pool huge bathroom first floor stayed here for nights a wonderful stay rooms are spacious ramparts guardian lotion bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024 via mobile

A beautiful small 4 roomed hotel located in a great area of Galle fort . You are right in the heart of the lovely streets around Galle but a quiet oasis inside Taru Villas .
We stayed one night in a garden room which opened up on the pool area , room was stunning and had everything we needed .. the staff are extremely attentive and friendly and nothing is too much trouble … we had a flight cancellation literally as we was putting our bags into the car at 2am after having checked out but we was allowed to stay back in our room for the night and the manager and staff couldn’t had been more helpful , we we’re extremely grateful for their kind hospitality and patience while we rearranged flights …
The food was lovely we had a great seafood platter and breakfast was great ..
I have no idea when the hard working staff ever sleep as no matter what time your up and about ie when we was departing at 2am they are all still there helping you with a kind smile ..
Thankyou for a great stay it’s a beautiful boutique hotel

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank donnaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taru Villas Marketing, Owner at Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Taru Villas Rampart Street. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic experience during your stay with us.

It's fantastic to know that you found our hotel to be a quiet oasis in the heart of Galle Fort. We take pride in providing a tranquil and relaxing environment for our guests, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your garden room and the stunning pool area.

We're glad to hear that our staff provided attentive and friendly service throughout your stay. It's heartwarming to know that they went above and beyond to assist you, especially during the unexpected flight cancellation. Our team is dedicated to ensuring that our guests have a memorable and comfortable experience, and we're delighted that their efforts made a positive impact on your stay.

We're also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the delicious food, including the seafood platter and breakfast options. Our chefs take great care in preparing high-quality meals using fresh ingredients, and we're thrilled that you enjoyed them.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Taru Villas in the future. If there's anything else we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out.

Warm regards,
The Team at Taru Villas Rampart Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2024

Only stayed one night,wished it had been more.When we pulled up outside the building it looked immaculate and special but this was nothing compared to the interior or the bedroom.A building that went back several hundred years to the time of the Dutch with fixtures and fittings which had been restored,maintained or simply kept immaculately.The delicious food is served on a grand communal dining table which we shared with another couple,the service being first class.
The small swimming pool is shaded by a variety of trees and shared with land monitors and monkeys!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Companion459387
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taru Villas Marketing, Owner at Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our villa. We're thrilled to hear that your brief stay with us left such a lasting impression.

It's wonderful to know that you found our villa to be immaculate and special from the moment you arrived. We take great pride in preserving the historic charm of our building, which dates back several hundred years to the time of the Dutch. Our team works diligently to restore and maintain the fixtures and fittings, ensuring that our guests experience a sense of history and elegance during their stay.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the delicious food served on our grand communal dining table. Our goal is to provide a first-class dining experience, and we're pleased that our service met your expectations.

The presence of a small swimming pool shaded by a variety of trees adds to the charm of our villa. Sharing the space with land monitors and monkeys further enhances the unique experience of staying with us, connecting our guests with the natural beauty of the surroundings.

While your stay was brief, we're grateful for the opportunity to have hosted you. Should your travels bring you back to our area, we would be delighted to welcome you for a longer stay.

Warm regards,

Taru Villas Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024

What a wonderful hotel. Well located and an oasis of calm from bustling Galle Fort where everything is within walking distance.

The house is beautifully fitted out with a veranda looking out onto the charming small garden with pool. Langur monkeys bounce through the surrounding trees.

The rooms are an utter delight. We had the garden view room so facing inwards from the street. Very spacious with a very large and comfortable bed and plenty of storage. We had a delightful balcony on which we could sit and the bathroom is accessed via the balcony.

The bathroom had a lovely powerful and hot shower, basin and WC. Lovely cosmetics supplied and plenty of towels. Accessing via the veranda means a torch is helpful at night but there is a large privacy screen so there is no feeling of being exposed or overlooked.

Very good aircon and great soundproofing. We could not hear anything outside at night.

Breakfasts are a substantial multi course feast with the main dish ordered the night before so the kitchen has time to prepare it. Delicious. We had dinner one night which was a huge Sri Lankan curry feast, again delicious. Wine and beer is available but no spirits. Meals are taken at a shared table.

The staff are very attentive but discreet and someone was always available to deal with any matters.

This was our last stop on our Sri Lankan holiday. We were so pleased that we had chosen to stay in Galle and particularly at Taru Villas.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taru Villas Marketing, Owner at Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our villa. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

It's fantastic to know that you found our villa to be well-located and an oasis of calm amidst the bustling Galle Fort. We take great pride in offering a tranquil retreat for our guests, and we're thrilled that you appreciated the charming small garden with pool and the presence of Langur monkeys in the surrounding trees.

We're pleased that you found your garden view room to be spacious and comfortable, with delightful amenities such as a large and comfortable bed, a lovely balcony, and a well-appointed bathroom. Providing a comfortable and relaxing environment for our guests is our priority, and we're glad that you found our rooms to be an utter delight.

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our substantial multi-course breakfasts and delicious Sri Lankan curry feast for dinner. We strive to provide delicious meals with attentive yet discreet service, and we're pleased that our staff were able to enhance your overall experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your high recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Taru Villas Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024 via mobile

Stayed at Taru Villas in Feb 2024. The hotel is small, but offers a lovely tranquil setting in the hustle and bustle of Galle. We stayed in a poolside room, which was roomy and well appointed, with a great bathroom. The pool area is lovely and great to jump into after the heat of walking around the city walls. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Overall a beautiful place to spend a few days.
Would I come again, absolutely.

Room tip: Use mosi spray in the evenings before heading outside.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wiltsy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taru Villas Marketing, Owner at Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at Taru Villas Galle in February 2024. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

It's wonderful to know that despite being a small hotel, you found our tranquil setting amidst the hustle and bustle of Galle to be lovely. We're pleased that you found your poolside room to be roomy, well-appointed, and equipped with a great bathroom.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed our pool area, which provided a refreshing escape from the heat of walking around the city walls. Providing a relaxing environment for our guests to unwind is our priority, and we're glad that you found it to be enjoyable.

Our team takes great pride in providing friendly and welcoming service, and it's heartening to hear that you had a positive interaction with them during your stay.

We're grateful for your kind words and for considering Taru Villas Galle a beautiful place to spend a few days. We would be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.

Warm regards,

Taru Villas Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

After a weeks Tuk Tuking around the south on a charity challenge we needed a spot of decompress time. There were six of us (3 couples) and as soon as we walked into the hotel after a five hour taxi ride it was as though we were all hit by a cosseting iced mink blanket! Beautiful boutique hotel (only 4 rooms). Fabulous furnishings and decor, rooms phenomenal and the staff! Without doubt ALL of them wonderful. Food…. Not far off fine dining and presentation second to none. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Thank you for your magnificent hospitality.

Room tip: Room 1 is huge with magnificent bathroom. Room 2 slightly smaller but has wonderful balcony. Rooms 3 and 4 are poolside.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taru Villas Marketing, Owner at Taru Villas Rampart Street - Galle Fort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your heartwarming review and for choosing Taru Villas for your decompression retreat after your charitable journey through the south. We are thrilled to learn that your experience with us was akin to being embraced by a luxurious iced mink blanket upon arrival.

Creating a tranquil and elegant ambiance within our boutique hotel, with only four rooms, is a passion we cherish deeply. It brings us immense joy to hear that our furnishings, decor, and phenomenal rooms contributed to your relaxation and comfort.

Moreover, our dedicated team takes immense pride in delivering exceptional service, and your kind words acknowledging their wonderful hospitality truly mean the world to us. We aim to ensure that every guest receives a memorable stay filled with warmth and attentive care.

Our culinary team invests great effort in crafting fine dining experiences and prides itself on exquisite presentation. We are delighted that you found our food offerings to be near fine dining standards, and we appreciate your generous praise.

Once again, thank you for recommending Taru Villas so highly. It was our absolute pleasure to host you and provide you with magnificent hospitality. We eagerly await the opportunity to welcome you back for another rejuvenating stay.

Warm regards,
Marketing Team
Taru Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews