We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise on Earth.”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea view from podigedara
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view from podigedara
main Bathroom Entry Pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Sea view from podigedara
main Bathroom
Entry Pond
Dining Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Galle, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OlgaSas
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on Earth.”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you've never been in Paradise, this is your opportunity.
An amazingly beautiful apartment in front of the Ocean, in one of the most beautiful scenarios of the South Coast. Andree, is the most amazing host ever, and will help you in anything you need.
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany S
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely relaxing stay with warm welcome. ”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at Podi Gedara recently having found it online. We arrived to a very warm welcome from the lovely Andree who lives above the apartment. She was really friendly and gave us loads of information on places to eat and visit. Wijaya Beach Restaurant was a short tuk tuk ride away (a really nice driver called Nihal will be recommended to you who is very reasonable) this pace does delicious food.

You have your own patio area right next to the sea which is amazing. It made a change from staying in hotels.

Andree also owns a little boutique hotel with four bedrooms (Eka beach) down the road where we had breakfast a couple of days. This place seems lovely too- she obviously knows what she's doing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the natural rock pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JFT_57
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magical Location”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Podi Gedara is a delightful ground floor apartment located right on the waters edge. The apartment is tastefully furnished and well appointed to ensure a very comfortable and relaxing stay. A lovely semi-protected paved terrace opens off the kitchen, providing an ideal spot to sit and relax or entertain with a superb view over the ocean. An adjoining paved terrace with sun lounges and umbrella provides the perfect spot to catch the sun or doze to the sound of waves breaking on the off-shore reef. Safe swimming is possible in the natural reef pool in front of the apartment. The owner of the apartment, Andree, was extremely friendly and helpful, full of advice and tips regarding things to see and do, and places to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Podi Gedara and would recommend it to anyone seeking a small, intimate and personal venue right on the beach, rather than a large, impersonal hotel.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbiedlin7...
Albania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Relax and Unwind - Great Food Nearby”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned from spending five days at the wonderful Podi Gedara Apartment. Overall, we found Podi Gedara to be a wonderful spot to relax, unwind, and enjoy the quiet. The apartment was perfectly sufficient with a sitting area, bedroom/bathroom, and small kitchen area with full size fridge, stove, and necessary utensils. WiFi was also provided. By far the best part of the apartment was the outdoor patio with private bath and shower, as well as a patio area with lawn chairs for laying out in the sun only feet from the ocean. The setting is beautiful as Podi is one of the closest properties to the beach along the strip where it is located. We felt the area was private and quiet and we were not bothered aside from the occasional wave from a local fisherman or local walking on the beach.

Andree proved to be a great host and was always willing to provide shopping and restaurant recommendations nearby or 20 minutes away in Galle city. Some of our favorites were Wijaya Beach Restaurant and WB which were a quick tuk-tuk ride away. Andree was also very responsive in all our communications and was only a text message away during our stay.

This point is very clear on the apartment website, but there is no real sand real beach directly in front of the apartment. There are nice stretches of sandy beach within a short walk of the apartment, but directly in front of the apartment there is a reef which creates a kind of natural swimming pool area with calm water and shallow enough to walk. We did see some of the local neighbors throw some trash onto the beach, but Andree has been working to try and resolve this issue. Otherwise, the water was very clear and there was no issue with swimming. We have already discussed returning to Podi in the future and look forward to seeing Andree again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Proximity to beach and beauty of setting
Liked least: Seeing neighbors throw some trash on the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing