We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
stephandearebilham
London, United Kingdom

Something completely different

Review of The Dutch House
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Feb 2020
Something completely different is the only way one can describe this magical place to stay! Cheap it’s not but but here you do get what you pay for and quite frankly it’s worth every penny. We stayed in the ballroom suite which was vast and had every amenity possible, minus a TV thank goodness.
The staff were wonderful and very attentive and looked after us beautifully throughout our stay.. I would’ve given it a five star review save for the presence of the owners Niece and friend, Who I understood was employed by the group, but clearly wasn’t brought up to work in the hospitality industry, my gripes I will be taking up in a private communication with the manager! But she definitely let the side down. Let’s hope she’s not there when you stay!
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 326
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 062
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 173
  • Priceline
    R 1 264
1.3 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
R 3 573
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 360
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 552
  • Hotels.com
    R 7 374
1.0 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 166
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 086
  • Trip.com
    R 1 326
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 196
2.0 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 008
R 3 481
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 428
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 428
  • Priceline
    R 3 868
1.3 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 4 920
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 5 029
  • Priceline
    R 4 613
  • Vio.com
    R 5 022
2.7 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 252
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 312
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 022
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 314
2.2 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 006
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 008
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 825
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 005
4.4 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 240
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 970
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 785
  • Trip.com
    R 2 578
3.6 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room Balcony View
R 866
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 840
  • Agoda.com
    R 588
  • Expedia.com
    R 779
2.3 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 675
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 666
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 946
2.5 km from The Dutch House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Galle
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
43
14
2
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
14
2
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2020

It is a wonderful experience to stay in this truly sensational property which has only four letting suites. Rather than staying in a hotel, it gives one the feeling of staying in a private house. Furnished throughout with regional antiques it exudes charm and luxury. The staff are helpful and courteous. Breakfasts on the terrace were superb. The disappointment was the fact that the poolside chairs need to be either replaced or repaired. The table in the garden, at which it would have been good to have a drink, was broken. However, by far the biggest disappointment was the constant presence of two young girls, one of whom apparently works at the sister hotel, The Sun House. If they were in any way responsible for customer relations they have a lot to learn. We were actively ignored by them throughout our stay. At the pool they took not only the best loungers but grabbed the sole sun umbrella. They were condescending to the staff and I even heard one of the girls have a hissy fit. Quite frankly they were rude.

Room tip: The Ball Room is wonderful!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020

One is spoiled for choice of hotel when touring Sri Lanka, not more so than along the south coast. Incredible old world properties have been modernised and many new ones built in recent years, but few hark back to bygone eras quite so effortlessly or elegantly as these two. Still privately owned, The Dutch House and Sun House are characterful but unique sister hotels (or homes?) a stone’s throw from each other and the hustle of Galle’s fort. Mercifully, the colonial masters of these gems are long gone, but waking up in either and being served by their delightful staff who pop up in both is a privilege. There is simply no other way of saying it. Just ask for the remarkably delicious curried scrambled eggs at breakfast. Your room girl might cook it, deliver it then wait patiently for your smile when you try it! The entire staff is as friendly, caring and accommodating as can be.

Both homes are stuffed with objet d'art, creaky chairs and dusty books, and both possess real old-world charm. It is everything above and then some which sets these properties apart from their pretenders. Wi-Fi and other nods to modernity are in evidence of course, but so are indispensable smells of the tropics - mothballs and frangipani petals! Whatever you do, don’t expect everything to work perfectly or predictably – my upside down door lock made me smile, eventually! Read a book, cross the road to the other house for supper, but otherwise just soak it all in and feel lucky you’ve had a chance to. The hidden swimming pool at the Dutch house is near perfect.

Book much less than a week and you’ll kick yourself.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

The Dutch House was built in 1712, from the moment you enter the house you can feel the history of the Galle area. Location is in a nice residential area just 5 minutes tuk tuk ride from the fort.
We had the entire house for our group, the Red room and the Blue room are the two most spacious rooms with high ceilings and are decorated beautifully. The staff were helpful and friendly. It has a great big yard with a lovely pool that we all enjoyed.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank IndyZink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2018

clean and quiet guesthouse in a tourist area. affordable price. Very good lunch or buffe to an affordable price. walking distance to all places at Galle Fort. The owners are very helpful and try the best to please you.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 313louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Far enough away from the hub bub of Galle yet close enough to local shops and the Fort area to be very convenient... very laid back, extremely easy to unwind, great breakfasts cooked to order, friendly staff. No TV but lots of books to borrow for those sunny days on the lawns or by the pool

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Smithyfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews