We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Galle Fort
More Info
Reviews (3 544)
Filter reviews
3 544 results
Traveller rating
1 871
1 323
302
39
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 871
1 323
302
39
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka nice walk world heritage site narrow streets shops and restaurants must visit place few hours historical place cricket ground tuk tuk dutch architecture old town fort walls sea ramparts portuguese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 3 544 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed the walk around the Fort periphery. It is a living Fort with people living in it. It has European style shopping streets built to attract tourist. The best part was the view of the cricket stadium from the Fort. You can literally watch a match from the walls of the Fort!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Travel_away_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2019

I made a video riding a train from Colombo to Galle for $1 . Cheap lion lagers and exploring fort Galle as well . Fort Galle is beautiful , right on the Indian ocean . Be sure to eat some of the streetfood at the nearby vendors .

I would greatly appreciate some subscribers and views on my channel . thank you

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank jaircanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2019

This Fort is a relic of this ancient city, we stayed in this city for 3 nights, bought real gems, enjoyed, however, be alert once you buy Gems, there are so many roadside shops, get a bigger one which looks old and an established shop which must have some trustworthy photos of having dignitaries buying gems from the respective shop, we enjoyed sea bath and beaches, too good and serene and calm, not like beaches in Thailand, hover around the city , take an auto rickshaw and enjoy. from Colombo try to take the express way by taxi to reach Galle, regular road is too busy and take 3/4 hours to reach Galle from Colombo. Express was shorten the road by 2 hours, it was a good experience of visiting innumerable beaches in this beautiful sea city.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank kruma1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

It is a nice walk around the old city. The feeling is like you are in Portugal but in a poorer version :p (with some effort from the authorities it would be awesome :) )
Beautiful waves crushing on the rocks.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 664patrykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2019 via mobile

The fort is not really the fort i thought of, it’s just fort walls. But the city around the fort walls is amazing. Every city in the world has a old city or city inside the city so this is one of them.
Loved being there. Its clean, quite, nice and relaxing. You can spend there half day walking and looking around with a plenty of coffee shops and eateries.

Its not a very good time for SL with almost no tourists but it is still lovely to be here and the Fort area had few tourists around, honestly we saw more tourists here than anywhere else during our stay.

We took a nice walk starting from the entrance till the end of the Fort area, including Light House which is closed for visitors, Old Dutch Hospital which is converted to little shops and we have been “escorted” by locals asking for money as they have not enough to feed their family, lost family during tsunami. It was really uncomfortable feeling. But honestly we haven’t seen these anywhere else but in Galle as we’ve been around in SL. Not a nice feeling when someone is following you for 15 min and you are trying to be polite...

There are a lot of souvenir shops, gold shops around that area and everyone can find something nice to take back home.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank FaridaAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews