We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with excellent coffee”
Review of Pedlar's Inn Cafe

Pedlar's Inn Cafe
Ranked #25 of 250 Restaurants in Galle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 96 - R 192
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Pedlars Inn. Established in 2004 as the first coffee shop inside the UNESCO Heritage Site, Galle Fort, Southern Sri Lanka. From humble beginnings, starting with only 4 tables and one member of staff, the café has developed into a must for all visitors. It now occupies the entire ground floor of the former British post office. Maintaining original features mixed with contemporary design to deliver a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Situated on the historic Pedlars Street at the heart of the Fort, Pedlars Inn provides the perfect respite to a busy day’s exploration of the Ramparts or indulging in the numerous shops and boutiques.
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We came here for lunch and returned the next day for breakfast. The food is great and the coffee excellent especially compared to other places we've been. Very friendly staff.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thijs t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1 509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 672 of 1 510 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

I wish I was more hungry when I entered this cafe! Amazing food and ambience! The staff was wonderful. A must visit when in Galle fort.

Date of visit: March 2016
1  Thank DivvyaBehal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

The building was furnished beautifully with lots of cosy nooks to sit in and the ambiance was perfect for an evening in the fort however the menu was quite limited and after deciding on ordering pasta (bolognese and creamy mushroom) both me and my boyfriend had the opinion that it was quite bland and not as good as other pasta dishes we'd had in Sri Lanka.
If you want somewhere to spend a relaxing evening in the fort this is the perfect setting however I personally would advise you eat elsewhere

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Bel3293
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Interesting and unusual interior design. Done with love and creativity. Good food and choice of food also. Even people who are working there not always professional and client oriented - but interior is helping to forget that. :)

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank UIiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We were walking past this restaurant and it had a good vibe - so we decided to eat there for a late breakfast. We ended up sitting out on the front porch under the fan, which was pleasant and fun to people watch, however after going to the bathroom, we discovered a whole labyrinth of funky tables and spaces out the back and upstairs... Eat back there if you're in a group of 4 or more - fun! Good selection of food which tasted great.Their fresh lime juice was fabulous on a hot day. Good value for money and the staff were so efficient and friendly. Worth a visit, but they don't serve alcohol in case you were wondering.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Liane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Pedlar's Inn Cafe also viewed

 
Galle, Galle District
 

Been to Pedlar's Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.