We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Coral B
Hitchin, United Kingdom

Fantastic location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jan 2024via mobile
Budget stay that was very well priced. The location was fantastic, it was opposite the old fort walls, which meant we also had a brilliant view of the sea. The hosts were very friendly and were happy to give us advice on where to go. They showed us up to the terrace were we would be able to see views of the sea and the sunsets in the evening. These views did not disappoint. I stayed with my sister and her boyfriend. We had 1 double bed and 1 single bed which was perfect! The room was basic, but we were expecting that for the price we paid. There was a television in the room which was a surprise, not that we watched it. The only 2 negative points were that the bathroom door did not lock properly and the Wi-Fi was really poor. The wifi probably would not have bothered us that much if we were just staying for one night, but we were there for 3 nights and it made it quite difficult for us planning our next destination and how to get there and where to stay etc. There are plenty of really wonderful cafes and restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay again if we needed somewhere to stay for one night.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
    R 1 264
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 062
0.3 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 3 057
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 360
1.0 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 946
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 949
  • Priceline
    R 1 879
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    R 1 166
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
    R 1 326
2.1 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 3 477
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 4 613
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 935
3.2 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 022
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 312
2.5 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    R 2 847
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 005
5.1 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    R 1 970
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.6 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room Balcony View
R 866
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 669
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Rampart View Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Galle
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
49
74
29
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
74
29
4
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2021 via mobile

26th Dec 2021 we went to Rampart hotel for our lunch and we have ordered Chicken Biriyani. It was late 30 min. Once I received the biriyani I was confused. It's really not a biriyani. It's yellow rice with chicken curry. I had to pay RS 1,050.00 for yellow rice. Terrible. When we ask from them about this. They said this our biriyani. Worthless place

Room tip: Parking space is there and also you can have your meal watching the beautiful sea.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pamodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2020

Rampart View was in a brilliant location for the fort and especially the sunset. We had the roof terrace to get some brilliant shots and avoid the crowds. The room had air con and a fan, and the host was very lovely. We had a choice of breakfast- Sri Lankan or western, and it was delicious. Served on the balcony with an amazing view. I would recommend staying here.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nuttyf00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2019 via mobile

At the onset let me say I didn’t get to stay at this property (though we really wanted for the location and views) and this review is strictly about their going back on a booking that was done five months in advance. I had booked two rooms through bookingdotcom in the month of August for a stay in December end of this year. All was well for months till November till i sent them a message to confirm the mode of payment. Within a week of that, I got a message back that they can’t honour one of the boiled rooms for overbooking at their side. Now so close to a peak season (Christmas week) prices around had already gone up and all my advance planning was of no use and I had to scamper for an alternate hotel for higher price. What’s worrying is that, my booking was done in August and it took them four months to figure out they are overbooked and if that is not the case then it’s very evident that they are taking in a new booking by not honouring mine(should have been FCFS basis). The incentives one their side could be now to sell the inventory at a higher price which is a shame. So if you are booking this place planning a cherished vacation, be cautious that this hotel could spoil your vacation.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Debapratim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2019

View from the room is stunning, room is nicely decorated, but all this fades away under the dirt.
Hair of other people in the shower, trash bin, even in beds. Dead flies on the floor. Mold on the bed matress amd on the walls. Yellowish stains on linen.

I cannot understand how this place can have 8.3/10 points on Booking a and 4/5 points on TripAdvisor...
All the pictures went through photoshop and reality doesn't look the same. All the dirt, holes in walls amd all the negatives are well hidden in the pictures.

During breakfast, which was mainly oily omelete, we got dirty cuttlery. The receptionist tried to fool me that it is only beause of the age of the knife, but when I forced him to wash it, all the aging and the dirt magically disappeared... puff! [see the knife on the picture before and after]

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LucyHudec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohomed H, Manager at Rampart View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2019

We the owners of Rampart View are extremely sorry and dissapointed to know the bad review. From 25th of October Owners by ourselves have taken over after 2 years term ended and we asure all our guests these bad things will never happened in the future and the management is going to be like previous years like in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019

The best parts of our stay here was opening windows and doors to the view of the rampart, the changes as evening drew in and watching people pass by. Breakfast was included - delicious, great range with large amounts. Ask for Sri Lankan. We sat on the rooftop to enjoy.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews