We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Irena V

Best of Galle!

Review of Prince of Galle
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 May 2024via mobile
I wandered into this street and ... it was love at first sight! Special thanks to the girl who showed me some nice "details". And Vietnamese ice coffee it's simply the best! Really!
It's a real shame that I didn't discover this place earlier.
Irena from Serbia :)
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: You will be sorry if you miss this experience...
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 049
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
R 7 365
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 365
0.6 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 647
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 647
0.2 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
Pool
R 4 918
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 918
2.8 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 382
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 946
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 196
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 312
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room Balcony View
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 764
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 004
  • Priceline
4.7 km from Prince of Galle
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Galle
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
193
33
2
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
193
33
2
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2024

When strolling along the streets of Galle we came a cross this Diamond Gem of a place
by chance.
We only popped in for a drink and we were greeted by some lovley staff, who then invited us to look around this small Hotel.

Well what can we say...it is EXQUISITE. The rooms are beautiful and very tastefully presented, our only wish is we could have stayed there.

That evening we returned at 5.45pm for a tipple whilst sitting on the balcony listening to the pianist tinkling on the ivories.
FABULOUS.....

What a great find, and if we ever get back to Galle it is a definite place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2024 via mobile

A charming hotel in the old fort area of Galle. With lots of character and very friendly staff. But it presents it self on booking.com with 5 stars and also charges 5 star prices for what in fact is a 3 star hotel. Rooms are small and dark. Lacking fridge, waterboiler, safe or even a small wardrobe. Breakfast is good but not more.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Johannes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2023

I felt like the Princess of Galle staying here!
Such a stunning hotel. With fabulous staff. They were so kind & generous.

The linen on the bed is beautiful, the perfect pillows - fabulous nights sleep here.
I loved this place. Please stay here if you are a fan of the finer things in life!

Room tip: Definitely come & stay here - if you appreciate style.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2023 via mobile

The pictures on the website do not match what we actually saw. They are hugely misleading. The “swimming pool” was the size of a bathtub. And “the best delux room” of 65 m² turned out to be 15! The rest was sitting area and an unfinished balcony in the COMMON AREA, visible to all guest from the below floor! And even if you add the rest of the corridors and stairs it was still probably about 35. The room of 15 meters was supposed to fit in three people and there was NO wardrobe or any place to put or hang your clothes. My child couldn’t even fit In the “extra bed” set up for her as her legs were hanging off the edge (it was a bench covered with some duvet). The place is clearly not finished yet (reopened a month ago or something), as there are plastic bags on the floor and some materials and pipes still lying around. Seeing all that we decided to leave as we felt cheated. The manager then called the owner Stephan and passed the receiver to us. We told the owner that we’re leaving but he requested that we pay for the room. When we refused, he started threatening us that we’re going to have problems at the border when leaving the country(!!!). This was just pathetic. I highly recommend to avoid this place at all costs!

Room tip: Just choose another hotel in Galle. There are plenty of beautiful boutique and chain hotels around!
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Roving01771527746
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2023

Love, love, love this charming boutique colonial hotel inside the fort. It has been sympathetically restored and is like a living museum with exceptional staff. The breakfasts are amazing and were different each day of our stay. So much and so very tasty; one of the best breakfasts during our stay on this beautiful island. Dilan, as well as being an amazing chef, also works as a barber and trimmed my husband’s beard for free!! Saranga also makes the best iced tea I’ve ever tasted. The rooms are delightfully quirky with everything you need for a comfortable stay and the second floor is a lovely place to relax with an old colonial balcony overlooking the street below. The hotel is within easy walking of everything in the fort and only a few minutes from the best place to view the beautiful sunsets. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying within Galle thought. It’s a hidden gem!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tourleadersam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews