We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 274)
Filter reviews
3 274 results
Traveller rating
1 767
934
353
109
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 767
934
353
109
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe bem the river thai restaurant pool bar suan bua water sports sri lanka all inclusive package boat ride room boy half board kids club indian ocean huge pool main restaurant public beach pool side
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 3 274 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Having an amazing time here in Sri Lanka. We are being really well looked after especially by Sugath our room boy who has been amazing and we love his towel elephants! Wish him and his family all the best over the new year celebrations.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Paulnicholls37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waragodam, Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019

Dear Paulnicholls37,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Bentota. We appreciate your encouraging comments on our services and facilities.

It’s always a pleasure to receive feedback of this nature and to know our team members made your experience so memorable! We will certainly pass on your gratitude to the team and especially those mentioned.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.

Best Regards,
Maxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019

This was the last place we stayed in Sri Lanka. The pool and beach area are nice although the towels by the pool need to be replaced many of them are dirty with stains and some of them had holes in them. Also none of the advertised activities by the pool happened. There was a daily schedule of pool games, water polo etc but none of them happened. There was a man in charge of the activities but he mostly was sat at the bar all day which was disappointing. The food is good but compared to the other places we had stayed in Sri Lanka not as much variety and over priced. Also not very environmentally friendly with 2 plastic straws in every drink I would like to see them get rid of single use plastic straws. Lots of other places we stayed in had moved to paper straws or better yet no straws at all. The rooms are clean and spacious and the guy who made up our room (Madushanka) made some lovely towel animals each day for us. During our stay the battery on our room door died leaving us unable to get into our room. Despite contacting reception twice we were left waiting outside the room for 30 mins for maintenance to let us in which wasn’t ideal.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Centara Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank zoenicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waragodam, Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019

Dear Zoenicks,

Thank you for your review and for taking your time out to give us some feedback.

Seems we missed some points to deliver on your expectations.We have noted all your inputs and will certainly work towards improving the same.

Hope to welcome you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Maxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019

We selected this hotel as the last leg of our two week Sri Lankan holiday to rest and relax. It was a good location for a few short trips/sightseeing. The pool entertained the kids. However, I can't say it was a relaxing stay. It was quote eventful from check-in to check-out. The first night (we arrived in the evening) they did not have the actual room type we booked available, so we had to stay in a mold smelling old room full of mosquitos, and broken glass in the minibar the first night. The next day after complaining, thankfully our room was changed to the type we booked. It was a decent full pool access room.From there on the housekeeping has been very good.
When we inspected the "kids club", it was just two small rooms filled with cushions, nothing to excite our children. So we did not use it at all.
The main restaurant is ok, just enough variety of food to keep the children happy. I can't say the same for adults, unless all you want eat is rice and curry.
Halfway through our stay a group of 80 people arrived (an annual company retreat/meeting). The group consisted almost entirely of young adults (millennials?), who thought they had every right to be loud and what ever as they pleased until early hours of the morning. Despite complaints from many guests, the management didn't manage to put a stop to this.
Nevertheless, as our two children didn't complain and had fun we left somewhat happy, but I am not sure if we would feel the same if we travelled as a couple.
To sum-up if there is no hotel of similar offering available, go ahead and make a booking. Hopefully, you will get lucky unlike us.

Room tip: Rooms near the pool are convenient for day time with children, but can get loud at night due to inconsiderate guests.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank impermos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019

Great helpful and happy staff, nice pool and beach, clean room with very good maid service, anything you need, he will bring. Unfortunately like most hotels in SriLanka, you have to share your pool and outside, restaurant area, with flocks of crows. Not very relaxing to listen to the constant caw, caw, caw, have them swim in the pool with you and try and steal your food, they are very dirty birds, like rats. This is a huge problem all over SriLanka, I suggest they use a, BirdEx, sonic sound machine, or have a staff member with a slingshot, this works at the Hilton in CMB. The one bright spot for me was the main restaurant, very good buffet food at a reasonable price. Best salad bar anywhere. The head chef Chris comes out and meets all the guests to see if anything can be improved on or is missing, nice touch, good service.

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waragodam, Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019


Dear chiangmaicondorental,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Bentota.

We have noted all your inputs and will certainly work towards improving the same.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.

Kind Regards,
Maxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

Hotel was lovely, good sized rooms. The staff were amazing and great with our 7year old daughter. There were just a couple of things that didn’t make it 5star... Not much entertainment apart from a local singer in one of the bars at night. There was one night where local dancers came and danced which was really good but that was only for one night. There was also some confusion on what is half board and all-inclusive. The bar/cafe next to the pool you have to pay for drinks and foods even if you are all-inclusive (which I would be pretty annoyed about if I’d paid for an all inclusive holiday). You can get your free drinks but you can’t take them out of the restaurant and they’re only available during restaurant opening hours. We were only half board but we spoke to people that were all inclusive and they were also confused about what they’re entitled to and what they’re not. It takes a day or two to get used to it and understand what you can and can’t do. But once you get it, it’s fine. We were out most of the day so it didn’t really matter to us but just letting you know to check everything before hand. We had a great guy called Sugath who cleaned our room every day. Very friendly and welcoming. We would come into our room and there would be a different animal made from towels and beautiful flowers everyday, which our daughter loved. The Location of the hotel was fantastic and a stones throw from the beach!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank DanielleBellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waragodam, Manager at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2019


Dear DanielleBellew,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Bentota.

It’s always a pleasure to receive feedback of this nature and to know our team members made your experience so memorable! We will certainly pass on your gratitude to the team and especially those mentioned.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.

Kind Regards,
Maxi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews