We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food at affordable price”
Review of Golden Prawn 933

Golden Prawn 933
Ranked #33 of 577 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

The seafood is fresh and delicious however my family find the dishes are on the saltier side. The service is a bit slow despite so many staff available. We paid half of the prices compare to the same amount we eat back home.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank JennyF2595
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 253 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Too many flies and surrounding stagnant water smelt bad. Ordered 4 dishes,squid with salted egg is v gd. Cooked to perfection,soft and crunchy. Those with sensitive tummy may want to give a miss

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Noorin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I was there sometime last year with my kids. The seafood was fresh and deliciously cooked. However, it was on a sunday night and they ran out of large prawns because of the tour groups earlier in the day.

They should also provide transport if its 3 or more people or maybe spending more than 400k rupiah. I am used to staying in Nagoya and taxi is a problem charging me from 80k to 100k per trip.

Overall, nice atmosphere and relaxing

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gtks T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Lots of choices to eat seafood in this town, but I choose to eat at Golden Prawn which is legendary in this city. Many tourists who come to the city specifically to eat at this place, both domestic or foreign tourists.
Factors strategic location of Batam city was one of the factors Golden Prawn crowded on a weekend. Many tourists from Singapore and Malaysia with a weekend in the city.
Golden Prawn located on the street Bengkong Sea, the island of Batam. Golden Prawn consists of two restaurants, namely Golden Prawn 933 and Golden Prawn 555. Moreover, in addition to Golden Prawn also include Golden View which is a part of the Golden Prawn.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edidriver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Total of 3 families came in Nov 2016.About 13 to 14 of us including children.
Food was not bad and considering the no of people and dishes ordered. Bill came up to about $120 which is reasonable.The asam pedas was superb.

Service was slow however and staff were not friendly. We saw the crab was a bit pricey so we stayed off it.

Returned back on Jan 7 2016. This time just 1 family. Staff attitude was worst. We packed as we just stayed at the opposite water chalet.

Requested for smaller fish but got a 1kg fish for asam pedas..we were disappointed it tasted different from what we tasted the other time and it cost us $30 for that dish.
This time the food was $50 but the portion was ok for 3 adults for 2 meals. The rice was real hard.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank FerraIceberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Golden Prawn 933 also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Golden Prawn 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.