We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get.”

Javana Volcano Tour
Ranked #21 of 75 Tours in Malang
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 29 December 2016

He picked us up at the trainstation and we ended up at his own house. We had to order pizza for our own, cause nothing else around. At 1:00 am we stood up and went to Bromo, which was truly amazing. After that we ended up at some bad hotel next to a highway. So much noise you couldn't sleep. But there wasn't time for that, cause 1 am we were picked up by random driver who brought us to Ijen. We lost our guide there and ended up doing the tour on our own.

Thank teun939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavanaTour, Owner at Javana Volcano Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Btw thank you for your review but regarding for your review we always try give the best offer to our client (check in other tour agency) we have lowest price in town! And for the hotel in Banyuwangi its normal if any hotel around banyuwangi city just next from road because its not big city!
For food in my house in malang, you never ask to get some food, if you ask my staff to get food, they will get for you (Free)
Thanks a lot.. Kind Regard.
Yohanes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"visit bromo"
in 2 reviews
"hostel"
in 2 reviews
"sleep"
in 2 reviews
"bali"
in 3 reviews
"adventure"
in 2 reviews
"ijen"
in 6 reviews
"volcano"
in 5 reviews
"jeep"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Amazing! From the pick-up on malang AirPort to bromo and ijen!
Great people they are!
The trips are heavy but absolutely worth it!

Thank Frenkie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavanaTour, Owner at Javana Volcano Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Thank you very much for your Kind Enjoy you next trip....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We found Yohanes on tripadvisor just hours before we wanted to do a tour to the Bromo and Kawa Ijen. We phoned him and he instantly assured us that we could start the trip the same night.

The Bromo was unbelievable, beware if you're going in the rain season though, the views could be cloudy, we got lucky though! The Bromo requires alot of hiking and if it is to heavy for you (10+ kms up and down) you can rent a jeep on the spot which the guide will remind you off more then once.

After the Bromo we went to a very simple hotel/hostel where you can shower and rest a little. The hotel is noisy and the shower provides cold water. If you can, ask for the Guide called Tom at the hostel

After that we went to Kawa Ijen to see the blue fire in the night. Beware if you are asthmatic because the sulfur clouds are no joke, even with the simple gasmask that is provided.

If you want a quick stop at a waterfall and coffee plantation after Kawa Ijen that is possible, we chose to only do the coffee plantation because we were exhausted. I asked the driver for a coffee plantation with Kopi Luwak (world famous and expensive coffee). The visit was short but the coffee was very good (and expensive ofcours - arround €6,-)

Only downside besides what I already mentioned is that free water is not included. But the kindness of the driver/guides/Yohanes and all people MORE than make up for that. Besides, water is very cheap and can be bought almost everywhere.

5 stars!

Ps. Yohanes arranged the tour VERY well but did not accompany us.

Thank Edwin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JavanaTour, Owner at Javana Volcano Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Hi, Edwin..
Thanks for your review :)
Kind Regard.
Yohanes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We booked this tour 7 hours in advance and everything was taken care of. Pick ups where on time, local guides where helpfull and friendly and we didnt have to think about a thing.

At bromo we had time to go at our own pace and take our time when we wanted to.

Side note: even though the trip is from 3:30 - +/-9 in the morning, bring sunscreen!!! We where both very burned!!

At kawa ijen we where guided by Tom, who was absolutely great!! Helpfull, friendly and nice company.

I would defintaly reccomend booking the tour at Javano Volcano Tours to everyone!

Possible improvements:

We didn't get the water that was mentioned in the program and the hotel was more a cheap youth hostel but it was ok.

Thank Nina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Yohanz did a great job with offering such a good tour. Everything is arranged very well from beginning untill the end. The price is not super cheap but totally worth it. The Bromo and Ijen night tour are amazing but pretty tough aswell. Homestays are perfect with very sweet people. Even lunch, scooterrent and a boat ticket to Bali are included. So nothing to arrange yourself. Good job Yohanz, hope to see you again in the future!

Thank Joris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Javana Volcano Tour also viewed

Malang, East Java
Malang, East Java
 

Been to Javana Volcano Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing