We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drool worthy 'happy hour' snack platter”
Review of ARANG Sate Bar

ARANG Sate Bar
Ranked #62 of 913 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Arang Sate Bar offers a gastronomic twist on traditional Indonsian sate. Chef Agung Nugroho has deconstructed Classic Indonesian Sates while createing his own 'Signature Sates' in addition to wonderful appetizers and entrees from his vast knowledge and experience with the Indonesian flavor profile. Arang Sate Bar's original cocktail and drinks menu is an hommage to local ingredients while still offering the classics. Arang Sate Bar's standard of service is top rate and our kind staff's professionalism and knowledge are sure to ensure you have the best dining experience possible. Arang Sate Bar is located in the Center of Ubud and certainly not a dining experience to be missed.
Restaurant details
Description: Arang Sate Bar offers a gastronomic twist on traditional Indonsian sate. Chef Agung Nugroho has deconstructed Classic Indonesian Sates while createing his own 'Signature Sates' in addition to wonderful appetizers and entrees from his vast knowledge and experience with the Indonesian flavor profile. Arang Sate Bar's original cocktail and drinks menu is an hommage to local ingredients while still offering the classics. Arang Sate Bar's standard of service is top rate and our kind staff's professionalism and knowledge are sure to ensure you have the best dining experience possible. Arang Sate Bar is located in the Center of Ubud and certainly not a dining experience to be missed.
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We were craving some FUSION type food while in Ubud and this place really hit the spot!

The Happy Hour Platter:
Midday into early evening they have an appie platter for $65k that includes: edamame, dumplings, chicken wings, and ahi tuna nachos. UNREAL! The food is so mouth watering! (You can also add a beer to the platter for a good price as well)
We went 2x's for this platter!

We also ended up ordering more dumplings off the menu and the soy chicken which was so juicy and the meat fell off the bone. Really high quality food.
The menu is so fantastic you will have a hard time choosing what to eat!

The service was a little hit and miss. Our first time was great, but our second time we were treated more like a nuisance, which was unfortunate.
HOWEVER.. the food was so good and priced well that I'm still going with 5 stars.

Will definitely return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KashleeAndTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arang S, Manager at ARANG Sate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank yu so much for the review.

Arang Sate Bar does offer some of the best food you can hope to receive whether in Ubud or in your home country. Arang Sate Bar's menu has been developed to offer traditional sates and our own signature sates. Our menu has something for all comers whether you wish to share appetizers or desire to create your own sate platter. Our Entrees are not to be overlooked nor are our Classic Sates.

Our staff executes and presents all of our dishes with utmost care and technical proficiency. We are very pleased to see you concur.

Apologies that your second visit's service might have been a little short. It is never our intention to have a guest leave our restaurant with that feeling. We will address your less than perfect service on that second visit as our staff is held to extremely high standards but sometimes must be kept on track.

We look forward to your future visits and certainly will continue to offer the finest food and dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Classic saté was not half bad, but the Ribeye saté is out of this world. Will def be back for seconds!

Thank Wprast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arang S, Manager at ARANG Sate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thanks for the review.

Arang Sate Bar's Ribeye skewers are out of this world. Healthy portions of tender beef perfectly and glazed and our special addition of a quail egg.

Don't give up an arm and a leg, we will make sure we have you covered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

First visited Arang a couple of years ago, and gave it five stars then. Pleased to report that it is still living up to that early high standard. Really good food, attentive service and nice ambience.

The happy hour sampler is a grand deal, but you’ll need to visit before 6pm to take advantage of it.

Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arang S, Manager at ARANG Sate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for the kind review and repeat visit.

Couldn't agree with you more our Happy Hour Platter flies under the radar as a supreme value and opportunity to sample 3 small portions of our delicious appetizers while downing a cold one or 2.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff's attentiveness, knowledge and professionalism. We look forward to sharing our ambiance, food and lovely staff again on your next swing through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

I stopped in just for a drink and snack. The Arang Sour and calamari was so nice I stayed for sate. The pork belly and shrimp sates were so full of flavour. I washed it down with a second Arang Sour as it was so good. Good service and nice atmosphere.

Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arang S, Manager at ARANG Sate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you for visiting Arang Sate Bar and for reviewing our establishment.

We are very pleased that we got you hooked. Our cocktails are quite the attraction and a great precursor for the main event. Arang is happy we sated your hunger with our starters and our sates.

Hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I was here once few years ago when this place just being open. It was great experience, so I decided to come here again. They bring satay to another level. The plating are beautiful. My favorite is their chicken satay ball. It served with rice & also some vegie (urap). I love spicy but seems they don't provide those sambal. Since they only gave me chop chilli. I hope they will add different kind of sambals on their menu. Staff are nice & they make sure u are enjoying ur food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monica Arum Suk... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arang S, Manager at ARANG Sate Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you for coming back to Arang Sate Bar.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Arang. Sorry we did not meet your spiciness quotient but pleased to see we offered you the cut hot chilies. Maybe we should make a 'nuclear' sauce for the 'chili-heads', myself included in that group.

Thank you for giving props to our waitstaff who always ensure a nice dining experience at Arang Sate Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to ARANG Sate Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing