We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Sangria ”
Review of The Sayan House

The Sayan House
Reserve with Chope
The Sayan House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 954 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$17
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Sayan House RESTAURANT offers a Japanese-Latin Fusion cuisine. The Chef has used his world-wide experiences of tastes and cooking to unify them in his plates, giving traditional dishes a new look and flavour. In the open-air environment of our home, you may enjoy an elegant yet cozy dining experience in various settings: - Two main dining areas hosting up to 70 seats namely the Dining Room and Veranda. The latter unveils an exceptionally stunning view of Sayan from the edge of its Cliff, overlooking the Ayung river and gorge. - We furthermore provide a private dining space, The Guest Room, which seats up to 10 people. - Lastly, a Teppanyaki grill table with a specially selected menu is available for 7 seats, where our Chef prepares each dish to perfection in front of you. The Sayan House BAR also specializes in beverages - offering a wide selection of drinks from the house's own signature cocktails, wine, to premium whiskey brands. We ensure the quality of our homemade beverages by using only the freshest ingredients. Our bar encompasses three main areas: 1. The main House Pub 2. The first-floor Garden Room where you can enjoy the garden view and gentle breeze, and 3. The Living Room at the second-floor mezzanine, a place to sit back and relax while having a good glass of cocktail or whiskey.
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

This place is nestled on the Sayan Ridge with breathtaking views across to the rainforest and terraced rice fields. The staff are welcoming and attentive. We enjoyed the sangria in the cocktail bar area. Once seated in the restaurant we were provided with tasty little amuse bouche to get the tastebuds warmed up for the Japanese tex mex inspired menu. I had wondered about this but was pleasantly surprised by how it all came together. All four of the party really enjoyed the food. The ribs are superb. Highly recommended

Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Peter B

Greeting from The Sayan House

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to writing a great reviews and sharing you experienced to your lovely family and friends regarding your dinning at The Sayan House recently. We are really fortunate to have you here.We are more than thrilled to know that you was enjoyed your dine at our restaurant, especially our food ( Yuki Ribs ), and our cocktail ( Sangria ) has fulfill your expectation. Your comment has been forward to our entire staff to know how much you enjoyed your dine at The Sayan House as their motivation better in the future. Once again thank you for this opportunity of being our service of your destination in Bali, and hope it would be your good memory for having dinner in Bali.

Once gain thank you for visiting us.
Look forward to serves you again soon at The Sayan House.

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 152 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

amazing atmosphere and delicious food! very kind staff, and reasonable price. the tacos are the best!! definitely a must visit in Ubud :)

Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Maria L

Greeting from The Sayan House.

Thank you for your great feedback comment. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our food, ambiance, and atmosphere during you having your meals in The Sayan House. We are really appreciate that you was satisfy with our service and our staff, and our Tacos has fulfill your expectation.
Thank you for your good feedback recognition about The Sayan House. Hope we could serves you again soon in The Sayan House.

Have a wonderful day :)

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

I visited this place on the back of a recommendation from my work colleague and I look forward to thanking her a lot! Satan has an enjoyable Japanese and Latin fusion cuisine that simply works very well. Oh, did I mention the amazing views?

Thank PianoSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear PianoSingh

Warmest Greeting from The Sayan House.
Thank you for your great feedback and sharing your experience to your lovely family and friends. Very glad to read and hear your comment that you have enjoyable memory of your dinner at The Sayan House. Thank you for being this opportunity of being our service during your destination in Bali. All of our staff missing you, and hopefully we could serve you again soon at The Sayan House.

Have a wonderful day :)

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

If you can imagine anything stranger, two Texans ended up at a Latin-Japanese fusion restaurant in Indonesia (as if we don't get enough Latin-inspired food at home!). But we were ready for a change in cuisine, and wanted to check out the INCREDIBLE VIEW. The Sayan House did not disappoint, and we thought both the atmosphere and the food were top-notch (even though we're Tex-Mex snobs). Try to get there early enough to see the views during daylight or sunset - and stay late enough to enjoy the cozy ambiance after dark!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MSEHOUTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear MSHOUTX

Greeting from The Sayan House

Thank you for taking your valuable time for writing such an excellent reviews and sharing your experience to your lovely family and friends regarding your dinning at The Sayan House recently.
We are fortunate to have you here. We are rally appreciate that you feel satisfaction regarding your dinning at our restaurant. Delighted to read and hear your comment that our food, service, ambiance, atmosphere exceed your expectation. We hope it is going to be your good memory for having dinner during your destination in Bali. Your comment has been forward to our entire team to know how much you enjoyed your dinning as their motivation better in the future.
Once again thank you for your great feedback recognition about our restaurant.
Look forward to serve you again soon at The Sayan House.

Have great weekend :)

Best Regards

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Once we found Sayan House and entered the property through what appears to be a lane way we were enthralled when the driveway open up to an extremely well kept courtyard with beautiful gardens. We were met by the staff who were expecting us. We were seated overlooking a terraced valley that was beautiful - so green. This restaurant serves a Japanese/Mexican fusion cuisine, which might sound strange but was truly exceptional. The service was excellent. We were pushed for time and they were able to provide our meal promptly and not make it feel rushed. Definitely somewhere special tp return to. Thank you Sayan House for a wonderful lunch and a memorable experience.

Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Kathy M

Warmest greeting from The Sayan House.

Thank you for taking the time for writing a great review and sharing your experience to your family and friends regarding your dinning at The Sayan House. Very delighted to read and hear your comment that you have a memorable experienced for having your lunch at our restaurant. We are really appreciate that our service, food, and ambience has fulfill your expectation.
We hope you would be come back in dinner time while enjoying the sunset at our restaurant.
Thank you so much for your great recognition feedback. We are looking forward to serve you again soon in our restaurant.

Have a great day :)

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Sayan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing