We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Budi House Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
US$376
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$317
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$390
US$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamandalu Ubud(Ubud)
US$348
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1 071
US$895
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$330
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
17
18
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
18
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fansmall poolbanana pancakesgreat locationquiet placemonkey forest roadhanomanwifihostelbugsfridgeamenitiespeacetv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Budi house for a week. It is centrally located and easy access to all of central Ubud. You will not require a motorbike or taxi for local attractions. We could walk everywhere we need except for a couple of out of town restaurants. Budi house is very basic accommodation, yet friendly staff, a pool , clean rooms and breakfast provided every day. Our room wasn’t air conditioned however we found the ceiling fan to be sufficient.
We didn’t have a fridge in our room however they were happy to refrigerate drinks etc on request.
Wifi is great. Never had a problem.
Hot water in shower.
The staff , Widi and Nona were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Very basic hostel. Friendly staff, quiet place. Walking distance to Ubud Market and restos. The only downside was, I stayed for 4D 3N but my room was not cleaned after I checked in. Toiletries which consisted of only a small soap and a roll of tissue were not replenished as well.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Basic Room with very basic bathroom. Good breakfast. Nice and friendly staff. Very Central, on the main road next to are many good restaurants. Offers own tours. You get what you pay for. Unfortunately, at the time we stayed there was construction at our building and in the near neigbourhood which caused a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

This was our second stay and we enjoyed it this time as much as we did last time. The pool is quiet and relaxing. The breakfasts are great and the family does everything they can to make you feel at home. One block from the street market and close to great restaurant options. Do t miss the massage place in the alley. Amazing massages for $5!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank rlander89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Budi House is centrally located (close to major thoroughfares like Jl. Raya Ubud, Jl. Monkey Forest Road, Jl. Hanoman), but still off the beaten path. As a result, it enjoys more peace and quiet while still being accessible to sites like Ubud Palace, Ubud Market, Campuhan Ridge Walk, loads of restaurants, bars, spas, shops.

Beyond location, the low price for this homestay ($24/night via Airbnb) is a steal. The amenities (A/C, bathroom, furniture) are more modern than most homestays, and it also has a small pool and deck chairs in front. (Note that just a few rooms have A/C; 2nd floor rooms have only fans). A simple but good breakfast (options include scrambled eggs, omelettes, banana pancakes—which are actually crepes) is served from 7-11 AM on the patio adjoining your room.

Unfortunately, accessing/communicating with the management here is a real challenge. No one is in charge, so you must track down anyone you see on site for anything. Check-in, emails and breakfast are handled by different people. My emails between the Airbnb host were riddled with miscommunication, even though I used the most basic English possible to confirm airport pickups, etc. (Do NOT use their airport pick up from DPS; they offer IDR 350K while the airport itself offers rides for IDR 280K. In addition, my arranged ride arrived over an hour after my request time.

If you book here, please spend a few minutes chatting and practicing English with the wonderful Widi. This young man is the only helpful person on staff, and he minds breakfast (both cooking and serving), housekeeping, and the grounds. Find him in the morning as he makes rounds to order breakfast; he can also help with any housekeeping and miscellaneous requests.

A few small nits: in my bungalow, the walls were peeling and could use a fresh coat of paint; bedsheets and pillowcases did not seem freshly cleaned; bugs made occasional appearances (lizard in my clothes; earthworm in the shower). Also, when there is a blackout—as happened when I stayed there you will be affected, as Budi House does not have a generator. So keep your phone fully charged in case you unexpectedly need a flashlight at night!

My room (104) was next to the on-site hostel, which means background noise is constant. The outdoor waiting room/reception outside the hostel is where staff spend their time, so the TV is on all the time. Inevitably, there is also the late night, guitar-playing hostel guest who will decide to put on a show at 10 PM on a Sunday. Just saying.

If you consider these to be minor issues, then the great price and location would make the Budi House well worth it!

Room Tip: Rm. 104's window faces a well-trafficked path to the on-site Sri Hostel, so you won't have privacy unless your curtains are drawn.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews