We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
109
125
43
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
125
43
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice fields free shuttle min drive central ubud tucked away private pool driver bali nature villa peace ricefields pickup retreat
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Bhanuswari Resort & Spa is an exotic rural oasis in the stunning settlement of Ubud.

Pros:

- Staff incredibly friendly and smiley at all times.
- Stuning location surrounded by paddi fields and palm trees.
- 10-25mins free shuttle bus into central ubud, usually private but remember the roads are usually very congested.
-Welcome drink on arrival.
-Rooms large and fairly satisfactorily equiped.
-Resort is usually very quite during the day allowing for peaceful relaxation.

Cons:

- Due to rural location large amount of bugs and insects.
-Swimming pools are dated and in need of replacing.
-Bathroom was not spotless in terms of cleaning.
-Air conditioning basic.
-Staff very unorganised, especially with shuttle pickup. For this reason try and be as specific as possible.
-Often felt like staff were trying to take advantage for example one driver was very pushy in trying to sell a day tour. Secondly a driver tried to make me pay for the toll road even though I had paid a large amount for airport drop off.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhanuswari R, Manager at Bhanuswari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear valued costumer,

Thank you very much for your feedback to Bhanuswari resort & Spa.
However we are absolutely nothing without you.
We always make effort to make the better for future.

Bhanuswari Big family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights.
First impressions were amazing, we were upgraded for some reason into a villa with a private pool which we had no complaints over.
The hotel is empty and has been the whole time we have been here, even so the service here is not brilliant. We have been the only ones in the restaurant with people just standing around and I have had to get up and make orders and get drinks etc...restaurant staff should really up their game as no excuse with only 2 customers. Food arrives at different times so you may finish before your partner gets theirs - get room service as its the same price but arrives together ! They also only have 3 songs that stay on repeat, don't know how the staff live with themselves! Breakfast is a la carte unless there's a certain amount of guests which is fair enough.
Our accommodation was and looked lovely but a few niggles - mosquito net had holes in it so I got bitten a couple nights quite badly, the sliding doors don't seal very well so leaves room for small insects (mosquitos to get in), they weren't very good at replacing towels, the floor mat(s)/towels got very dirty and just stayed there all week!

They were good at organising us a private tour of the surrounding area at a competitive price with the hotels own minibus. Excellent driver called Madi ? And the hotel agreed to us hiring him to drive us to Amed which is 2-3hrs away. There was a young driver that wasn't very good and seemed to have his own agenda (his friend in the front chatting away and he was driving like an idiot). Shuttle service is good until the hotel fills up and then it's a bit hit and miss when you can get a lift to Ubud.

Overall impression, hotel is dated and needs improvement in some areas especially restaurant staff but for £30 / night with free lifts into/out of ubud can't complain too much especially as we were upgraded. I wouldn't stay here more than a few nights though.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank crazeyaker_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

In a beautiful garden. We had an superior room in a villa with outdoor bathroom, it is very nice and pleasant but not if you are afraid of gekos. The hotel is a few km far from Ubud center but there are free shuttles you just have to book a few minutes before. The hotel is surrounded by rice fields you have a look on from breakfast restaurant and from one of the two swimming pool. The staff is really nice and helpful. I recommend

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank petitcoincoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhanuswari R, Manager at Bhanuswari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear valued costumer,

Thank you very much for your feedback to Bhanuswari resort & Spa.
However we are absolutely nothing without you.
We always make effort to make the better for future.

Bhanuswari Big family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Great rooms, very clean and serviced daily (water replenished daily).

We stayed in one of the private villas with a plunge pool which was almost the size of a small pool, bigger than a plunge pool.

Staff were very helpful and arranged our transport and ferry to our next accommodation.

It was great staying out of the main city of Ubud, and they were more than helpful to arrange free shuttles to the city and pick us up when we needed to come home. The drivers were always courteous and happy.

Breakfast was supplied each morning and fresh fruit was always available.

Wifi being slow was the only thing we could fault.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielma34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhanuswari R, Manager at Bhanuswari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear valued costumer,

Thank you very much for your feedback to Bhanuswari resort & Spa.
However we are absolutely nothing without you.
We always make effort to make the better for future.

Bhanuswari Big family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We wanted to stay near Ubud and access artistic activities, but find the town too busy. Bhanuswari is about 15 minutes drive from the centre and abuts rice fields owned by the place - so peaceful and pretty views. The distance from Ubud may seem an issue but they own a fleet of a dozen cars and happily drive you anywhere you want to go at any time, including to nearby restaurants. We stayed in a villa room, recently built, that was spacious and had its own little infinity pool attached. For the price (about a third of a three star hotel back home and included breakfast) it was excellent. The bathroom was large with a separate shower and bath and the plumbing worked well, which isn't always the case elsewhere. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and we slept very well.

The staff go out of their way to be helpful and we were well looked after. Nothing is too much trouble. The massage facility is fantastic and incredibly cheap for an hour's wonderful relaxation. There is a range of treatments available.

The restaurant has an amazing menu, including Indonesian, Asian and international. It is, by our standards very cheap so we used room service a lot too. We enjoyed every meal and were impressed with the level of flavour and presentation. Some favourites were wonton soup and green pancakes!

There are several supermarkets in Ubud and most things are available. Make sure you try the local crispy duck, and we loved the seafood meal at Bale Udang nearby.

A few small drawbacks to be aware of. Our villa was a long way from reception, down a steep hill and I found it challenging to walk up to the restaurant. They do have a couple of golf buggies and were happy for us to call for a ride. Breakfast is a bit of a lottery and if you arrive when it is busy there can be very little available, and they are not very methodical about replacing food. The toaster was hopeless! The view makes up for that and you learn the best times to go. We also had a store of bread, cheese and fruit to add to it.

The website claims to have wifi in all rooms, but it didn't work well at all in ours. As we count on that for a number of functions, it was disappointing. It was a little better up the hill but very slow. So be prepared for an unplugged holiday!

We would go there again, but ask to be closer to the top of the hill and hopefully have better internet.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ptilotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhanuswari R, Manager at Bhanuswari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear valued costumer,

Thank you very much for your feedback to Bhanuswari resort & Spa.
However we are absolutely nothing without you.
We always make effort to make the better for future.

Bhanuswari Big family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews