We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
178
51
16
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
51
16
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate infinity poolthe riveribu mangkuour honeymoonvilla numberroom viewprivate placecomplimentary afternoon teajungle settingfollowing morninghoney moonan unforgettable experiencebalinese foodnice villafantastic stayrice fieldstown centre
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is perfect, from the room to the restaurant.
The room is big, bed is confortable and the pool is amazing.
They also offer free breakfast in the room and free shuttle to go to Ubud.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Laura,

Warmest greeting from Black Penny Villas Ubud.....

Thanks for your comments and your stay at Black Penny Villas Ubud. We do hope you will be back to stay at Black Penny Villas for your next holiday.

Looking forward to welcome you at Black Penny Villas Ubud, Bali.

Regards,
I Nyoman Setiawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We had a great time at Black Penny Villas, Ubud during our 4 nights stay here from 28th April to 2nd May 2018. The staff was attentive and always ready to help. Breakfast was good and they served it directly at your room if needed. The room was very clean and the view was beautiful with a private infinity pool right in front of the villa. We were staying in villa no. 4. If you take a short walk down the valley from the villas, you will come to the river which was beautiful. The property is a short distance from the Ubud town center and takes 15 mins in car. We never had any issue in finding a cab to go to town center. Overall this property is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitDamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Amit Damor,

Warmest greeting from Black Penny Villas Ubud - Bali......

Thanks for your stay with us and your comments. When you would be back to our hotel for your next holiday please inform me thru email mgr@blackpennyvillasubudbali.com so we can prepare our best service for you with some surprises.

I am looking forward to have any booking from you

Yours sincerely
I Nyoman Setiawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this place for 2 nights and it was amazing, super romantic. The pool villa is beautiful and the bed is amazing. There is a path down to see the river and there is a temple in front. They do ceremonies and you can go and see and give a donation. Staff is nice. The only down for this place is that the kitchen is super bad, worst Balinese food I had in my stay on ubud. Rice was hard, veggies not boiled properly, lack of taste, and breakfast was basic but the good touch was they you could serve in your room which was amazing.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Valeria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Valeria,

Warmest greeting from Black Penny Villas Ubud - Bali....

Thank you for staying with us for 2 nights and your comments.

We quite understand your annoyance for worst Balinese Food ( rice was hard, veggies not boiled properly ), Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have been caused. When you had a plan to come to Bali, please stay at Black Penny Villas.....our chef is going to assist you directly, we also give our cooking class on complimentary.

Looking forward to receiving your booking for next holiday.

Sincerely Yours,
I Nyoman Setiawan .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon.

This place was not 4 star.
We paid a higher price to include breakfast in our stay. Breakfast orders are taken over the phone starting at 8am and arrive to our room at 9am, if your starving good luck waiting until that late. Breakfast consisted of 1 egg, 1 small piece of bacon, half a tomato, a miniature sausage. 2 piece of fruit, 1 drink only. Some cut up
Fruit and few teaspoons of museli. There were ants amongst the food and we found bugs in our drinks. This was no where near enough quality or food to cover what we paid to include breakfast. If we wanted 2 eggs we had to pay??? If you want a proper latte they also charge you??? One day the bread was fresh, the next it was stale, very inconsistent.

A 4 star villa should offer soy milk for dietary requirements which they didn’t have. On numerous occasions they ran out of food when we tried to order certain items on the menu. Something as simple as ordering a can of Fanta. Or spring rolls.

We were located in a villa which was situated right next to a foot path. People where walking by at 6am talking and making ridiculous amounts of noise which is completely disrespectful. They would start sweeping the outdoor ground at 7am, again so disrespectful, this place is meant to be peaceful and relaxing. There was a constant vacuuming sound all day long which was really annoying. The wifi they provide barely works at all. Pages wouldn’t load.

The room isn’t completely shut off so if you want to stay here be prepared for bugs and all sorts of other insects to enter your room.

On our last night, they had some sort of loud party on in serving their gods and keeping evil away which is fine, but it was so loud to the point that it kept us up until 4am in the morning. You could hear it throughout the whole valley. It was ridiculous. We called management at 1 asking what’s going on, thinking it would soon be finished but no, we ended up getting no sleep what so ever that night. We had no warning of this and it ruined our whole stay.

If I am paying $300 a night I expect peace and serenity, 5 star service and none of the above to happen. It was not worth the money we paid at all.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jacintazigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Mr Nathan Richard & Ms Jacinta Elle,

Warmest greeting from Black Penny Villas Ubud - Bali......

Thank you for staying with us starting 19 - 24 March 2018 for 5 nights, we are very sorry for your inconvenience stay caused by next our village ceremony up to 4 am that rose loud sound and we cannot stopping the ceremony ( Calon Arang Performance ).

Since our villa is close to the river and valley we suggest our guest to close the door at all time otherwise some insects enter the room especially at night but we provide some insect killer spray or repellent in our room.

Once again we are very sorry for your disappointed and could not meet you during your stay since I had some meeting in Nusa Dua and Kuta, please inform me directly to mgr@blackpennyvillasubudbali.com when you come to bali and we will give complimentary stay.

I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

I Nyoman Setiawan
Resort Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

We spent 5 wonderful days at Black Penny Villas in Ubud. The entire experience from arrival and check-in, to the beautiful villas and then the sad moment, checkout was a lovely experience. The staff are friendly and happy to assist, the facilities are very clean and tidy, well maintained. Our Villa, No 5 was private and close to the restaurant, with a very private infinity pool outside our front doors. Sitting in bed in the morning looking out across the pool and the valley below to the green of the forest was so good for the body and mind. The spa which is privately owned and is nearby gave amazing massages and the prices were very good. We will be back, this was a holiday that we never ever wanted to end. Did I mention the food, soooooo gooood

Room Tip: Villas have views across valley, the are on the side of a steep valley so each level looks out and Villas below obscure the private pools.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank budchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-BlackPennyUbud, Manager at Black Penny Villas Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Budchap,

Warmest greeting from Black Penny Villas Ubud - Bali.....

Thanks for your staying with us and your comments. I am happy to hear that you will be back to stay at Black Penny Villas Ubud, please send by email to mgr@blackpennyvillasubudbali.com to get special benefit.

Looking forward to receive your booking for next holiday in Bali

Warm Regards
I Nyoman Setiawan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews