We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
512
125
27
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
125
27
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews morning walk infinity pool rice fields garden villa beautiful temple cooking class nearby temple foot massage water temple morning yoga away from the hustle and bustle complimentary tea ubud centre romantic dinner free shuttle american breakfast pool side
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Some people may not like the location some distance from the hustle and bustle of Ubud but this is what added to the charm. The rooms have been decorated very well and are very clean. The restaurant makes amazing food and the service is second to none. The staff here go out of their way to make sure your every comfort is looked after, I could not praise them any higher. If you're looking to be in a quiet relaxing area away from the hustle and bustle make sure you stay here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri G, General Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Scott B

Om Swastyastu,
Warmest greeting from the entire team of Puri Gangga resort - A home in A living culture
Thank you very much for the time taking to write down an excellent review of your recent accommodation at the property. Your comment would be extremely our top guideline on improving staff services to serve our valued customer even better by the following return visit.

Best regards

W. Mudatra / GM


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Hands down one of the best places I have stayed at. The property itself is just amazing and the staff are very friendly and informative. You are greeted with fresh juice and a complimentary foot massage while they check you in.

We had the pool villa with phenomenal hillside views and great sunlight tucked away on the side of the property.The rooms are spacious and airy while the bathrooms offer open canopy showers.

This place is great to unwind and relax offering free yoga in the mornings by their very friendly staff who also teaches the coconut leaf basket weaving class. We also made use of the Spa and had some treatments done.

There is shuttle bus to ubud for day trips by the resort and a corner store up the hill outside the property. The restaurant is quite good though a little on the steep side but you get excellent service.

Pros:
Quite and tranquil
Rooms are amazing
Complimentary activities
Staff
Infinity pool
Spa treatments

Cons:
30 min from Ubud

Room Tip: Pool villa has amazing views of mountains and rice fields
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charmian_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri G, General Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Charmian_travels

Om Swastyastu,
Warmest greeting from the entire team of Puri Gangga resort - A home in A living culture
Thank you very much for the time taking to write down an excellent review of your recent accommodation at the property. Your comment would be extremely encouraging our staff to maintain high quality of services to serve our valued customer even better by the following visit.

Best regards

W. Mudatra / GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Stayed at Puri Gangga for three nights in September as a couple. The hotel is beautiful - it is extremely clean, well decorated and the staff are amazing. We particularly enjoyed the cooking class with Andika and the trek to the holy water spring with Nanis. Overall a brilliant experience and very good value for money. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The suites have great views, but are the same as the deluxe rooms in all other ways.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri G, General Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Sam H

Om Swastyastu ,

Warmest greeting from the entire team of Puri Gangga resort - A home in A living culture
Thank you very much for the time taking to write down an excellent review of your recent accommodation at the property. Your comment would be truly encouraging and inspiring us to keep maintaining high standard of our service to exceed our valued customers expectation.

Best regards

W. Mudatra / GM.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We can only comment on the restaurant.

* Compared to a standard touristic restaurant in Bali, you pay about double for your meal.

* Our lunch meals were far below average quality and taste. A huge disappointment.

We asked to see the chef. He seems like a young and less experienced guy. Not the kind of chef you expect in a place like this. They offered a discount on the bill to compensate for this below average experience, though we sincerely hope they will improve in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peeterstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri G, General Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Peeterstom

Om Swastyastu ,
Warmest greeting from the entire team of Puri Gangga resort - A home in A living culture.
I would like to express my gratitude for the time taking to write down a very candid and constructive review of your recently visiting our restaurant for having your lunch. Regards to the taste, and quality which were far beyond of the International standard, had been our concern and top priority to conduct the training and consoling to the method of cooking and food recipe to the entire team of kitchen product. Hopefully through to the effort and some action that been taken could be able to change your mind to have a return visit to the restaurant, upon your holiday in Bali. Please reach out to me directly through to this email gm@puriganggaresort.com, if there is another opportunity to regain our trustworthiness of services and facilities by following future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to welcome you at the restaurant with the updated products and services.

Best regards

W. Mudatra / GM


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Two friends and I had a lovely 3 night stay here and it was beautiful and peaceful. The resort is small and intimate with only 20 rooms which works well as it is a serene location outside of ubud and perfect as a getaway from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are really great for what you pay, beautifully decorated with stunning bathrooms and a lovely big bath (which fit all three of us when we all jumped in!)
The staff are just so accommodating and friendly, you are greeted with a welcome drink which was delicious. We were also given complimentary massage coupons to use at the spa and a complimentary afternoon tea which was very yummy.
The breakfasts had a lot of choice but the best option was the Indonesian option by far, if I go back i'll get this option every morning.
As for restaurants, the food offered at the resort is good, and is a main option as the resort is a 40min shuttle ride from ubud centre. We took the shuttle one day and returned on the latest shuttle after eating in ubud which was nice and fantastic to have the shuttle service.
I highly recommend going to dinner at waroeng sebatu, about a 15 min walk from the resort with excellent food at local prices and absolutely incredible views.
A friend and I took part in a purification ceremony at the temple next door which was a really beautiful spiritual experience which I highly recommend for all who stay at the resort. We also tried the morning yoga which was great and geared towards beginners which worked well for us.
Another tip is to grab pool beds as soon as you have had breakfast as there arnt many and the infinity pool is just stunning.
I will definitely be coming back to Puri Gangga and will try the other activities like the walks, but for now I will conclude saying how fantastic this experience was and I cant recommend it enough. I would like to especially mention Erma who accompanied us for the purification as having such friendly service and being so helpful to us. Thank you Erma!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank india649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri G, General Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear India649

Om Swastyastu,
Warmest greeting from the entire team of Puri Gangga resort - A home in A living culture
First of all , I would like to express my gratitude for the time taking to write down an excellent review of your recent accommodation at the property. Your comment would be extremely using for our first and top guideline to improve staff services to serve you event much better by the following visit.

Best regards

W. Mudatra / GM


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews