We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical, pure, restorative”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Ensuite with a jungle valley view
Cocktail by the pool
Long lunch by the pool
Welcome fresh tropical flowers
The villa at dusk
Ensuite bathroom with flower bath
Welcome juice
Personal and friendly service
Complimentary daily afternoon tea by the pool
Main bathroom with flower bath
Tastefully furnished cozy lounge with views
Balinese feast cooked by villa chef
Upstairs bedroom and living with a view
Luxurious comfort
Sunrise across the valley
Hindu temple at the villa
Warm hospitality
Lounge area for relaxing and entertainments
Daily turn-down service
Secluded tropical home for a couple
Welcome to Shamballa Residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shelagh G
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Magical, pure, restorative”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Shamballa, originates from both Hindu and Buddhist sources. It is understood to be a place of peace, tranquility and happiness, a Pure Land where the inhabitants are enlightened.

How to describe such loveliness?

Shamballa Residence is indeed a very special place - a little secret hidden just seven minutes drive from the center of Ubud. Nestled high above a steep ravine amongst the lush foliage, this private paradise is indeed a credit to the owners, Wendy and Atsu for their vision and with whom I was fortunate to cross paths. Thank you x

Upon our arrival at Shamballa Residence, we were delighted to be greeted by Kadek and Minnie who welcomed us bearing fragrant frangipani garlands and a tray of freshly squeezed iced juices.

We feel blessed to have been able to experience such kind, gracious and attentive staff - Kadek, thank you to you, little Minnie and Wyan for preparing our delicious, healthy meals and replenishing drinks, fresh from the market and overseeing all our needs.

The views are breathtaking and each part of the day at the villa brings its own unique gifts, the dawn sky - a fusion of mescal pink and yellow - the birdsong, cicadas and frog calls, the fat dark gorgeous bumble bees buzzing about as they take the pollen from the purple flowering vines.
As I write, two tan little lizards watch from the wall and a frog leaps above the entrance to our staircase, an iridescent fleck on closer inspection develops wings and I am treated to a firefly dance...

The villa is cool, airy, light and gorgeously furnished villa adorned with vases of fresh flowers, fine crisp white linen and a stunning infinity pool and surrounded by an amazing variety of tropical plants.

Retreating to the expansive treetop bedroom each night where, surrounded by candles and fragrant incense and comfortably ensconced in the four poster luxurious bed, with the softness of replenishing rain, my dreams were vivid and meaningful slept the softness of replenishing rain.

Shamballa is the perfect place in which to write, read, meditate and absorb the natural beauty of the rainforest and nurture the soul. Wyan, our driver provided a prompt and friendly air conditioned service, enabling us to venture into the bustling town of Ubud each day to explore the magnificent temples, unique galleries and surrounding countryside but it was wonderful to return to the calm of Shamballa Residence.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a truly wonderful, memorable stay, I hope that we take home with us, a little bit of Shamballa harmony and energy and that we will return again to this magical place of peace.

With our love and gratitude

Shelagh, Amelia and Mimi

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The setting, location, the lovely staff, the food
Liked least: Leaving Shamballa Residence
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jkoltun
New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would never stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Villa Shamballa three and a half years ago and cried when we left. We fell so in love with the Spirit of Bali, the generosity of the people we encountered and especially with Illuh, Kedek and Edy (staff at the villa). We couldn't wait to come back. When we were notified of Shamballa Residence being available, we took it as a sign to return to Bali. Our stay this time was just as wonderful with Kedek and Minnie and Wayan and Wayan and Wayan taking such good care of us. The food was amazing, the grandeur of the villa inspiring, the decorative style so soothing and the interactions with the staff made us laugh and opened our hearts. We can't wait to come back to you Bali and Shamballa! Just a side note, we stayed at Shamballa for 8 days and stayed at another villa for 8 days because we wanted to experience being on the rice fields, I'm not going to bash anyone here but when I come back to Bali, I will never stay anywhere else other than the Shamballa family because when you stay there, it feels like home.
You will not find a more gracious host than Atsu & Wendy, they are the real deal. Much love to all of you and we will see you again real soon. Love Jen & Vic!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Staff, the Villa and Sienna the Cat
Liked least: That I couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon L
Wangaratta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I recently spent our 25th Wedding Anniversary at Residence Shamballa. I told my husband to surprise me . This was beyond anything I could have imagined. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Kadek, with flower lays. The villa is very spacious and beautifully decorated. The pool area is gorgeous, we spent many hours lazing on deck, swimming and looking out over the greenery of the trees, if I were to make 1 suggestion, it would be nice to have something to float on in the pool. The service was amazing, we always had cold drinks and not to mention the food. Kadek makes the best meals. We had 2 massages in the evenings after dinner, under the stars and when we finished, Kadek had run a bath and filled it with flowers. The massages were a little dearer than in town but the experience was well worth it. One of the highlights for me was to wake each morning, to the sunrise over the jungle and being able to see it from bed. The outdoor showers and bathrooms are so lovely and everything is very clean. We always had a motorbike on request or a driver available if needed. The villa is close to 10 minutes from Ubud but you cant beat the location. We just hired a bike for the day at $7.00 and pottered in when we desired. We also did the Campuham Ridge Walk which I recommend. It takes you to the outskirts of Ubud. This is within walking distance to begin, in fact my husband and I jogged there one morning to burn off all the good cooking. Wayan will also drop you at the start. We found a great little spa and cafe up there also, which I highly recommend,Karsa Spa and Cafe. It saves you traveling into Ubud and is away from the hustle and bustle. I read in other reviews about the traffic noise and yes there is a bit around peak times but that never bothered us, we just turned up the music a little. There is nothing I could fault with this villa or its staff, we loved our time here and wished we had booked longer. Oh well next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik L
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience. We will be back.”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The property is architecturally a delight, with fine details, and is comfortably furnished. The staff (Mini, Kadek, Wayan, et al.) make you feel right at home. The property is quite secluded yet quite close to the major shops and restaurants in Ubud.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Infinity pool
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing