We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
112
120
40
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
120
40
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages free shuttle service mas thor carver statues villa chickens
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Taman Harum Cottages, the gardens are beautifully maintained and we loved the swimming pool which although wasn't huge, it was good for the size of the hotel. Because there are not many rooms here it doesn't feel too crowded.

Our room was very large but we were disappointed with the bathroom. The shower drain didn't drain properly and the bathroom got flooded a number of times. The plug in the bath didn't work properly which meant I couldn't have a bath and there was also no plug for the sink. We did report these and there was some improvement in the drain although it was clearly still blocked somewhere and the plugs were not fixed or replaced. You also only got two towels - no bath mat and no hand towel. The air conditioning also struggled to cool the room.

A really plus point for this hotel is their free shuttle service which will take you too and from Ubud whenever you like to go. The staff here are very friendly and will also help recommend and book tours for you. There is an onsite restaurant that is reasonably priced and is fine for a basic meal. Although this hotel is about 10 mins from Ubud there is a cash point just down the road and a couple of small supermarkets very close by too.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank graciejames2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hariyana, Manager at Taman Harum Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Graciejames2016,

Greetings from Taman Harum ,Ubud - Bali.

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to know that you are pleased with your stay.

We are very sorry for the drainage problem, we are fixing it at the moment.

Your comments and suggestion are very much appreciated in order to improve our service in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future for a longer stay with a better version of us!

Thank you again and have a nice day.

Warm Regards,
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

After spending hours researching places to stay in Ubud, my partner and I settled on Taman Harum Cottages after reading all the positive reviews on various sites and seeing how clean and well-managed the property appeared in photos. We stayed 20 days.

Here's a short version for those who don't want to read the long version below:

- Excellent and friendly staff who work tirelessly to ensure cleanliness and happiness for clients.
- Meticulously clean property and modern-design rooms (we toured several rooms). You are surrounded by carefully landscaped greenery and flowers and your room is outfitted with just the right amount of comforts, most importantly a stylish and comfortable bed.
- Great location 15 minutes from Ubud Palace, with a FREE! shuttle operating on call to and from central Ubud.
- A daily and very welcome free breakfast with yummy fresh fruit juice. Other great food options both Indonesian and International cuisine...check out THOR restaurant for great pizzas.
- A refreshing swimming pool, cleaned daily and we often had it to ourselves.
- Convenient stores nearby, along with plenty of woodcarving galleries in the area for those who are inclined.

I would definitely come back! After seeing other 4 and 5 star resorts in the area while visiting friends, we were feeling very lucky to be staying in a place just as nice, but with much better value.

Their representative Indra Foresty was very professional in responding quickly to our questions via email and accommodated a last minute change in the length of our stay with no issues. She was also very helpful in arranging a free transfer! from an airport hotel we stayed in all the way to Taman Harum.

We chose to stay in the Superior Garden View room, which was the perfect size...a spacious open plan bedroom and dressing area with a comfortable bed facing a view of green garden seating area--during our stay, we were the only people who ever sat there, so we felt comfortable leaving our blinds open to enjoy the view from bed. The bathroom is also spacious and has a tub and a stand-alone shower area. We could walk from our patio directly across to the swimming pool. Something to note is that the room is in a split villa and at times we could hear clients in the adjoining suite, although it was never a major issue.

We stayed throughout September and often felt as if we had the place to ourselves, only seeing one or two tables enjoying free breakfast with a view of green fields in the mornings.

The property is located only around 15 minutes drive from central Ubud and the free shuttle offered to guests from 9am-10pm daily was an amazing service. We used it daily for drop-off and pickup at various parts of town, it's basically like having a private driver.

Be sure to try an oven-fired pizza from the adjoining THOR restaurant.

I could go on with praise but will just say that I can't recommend Taman Harum enough!

Room Tip: Garden View Superior Room is a great location. For added privacy, the Private Bungalow looks like good value.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hariyana, Manager at Taman Harum Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Kay B,

Greetings from Taman Harum ,Ubud - Bali.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you so much for appreciating our humble little place, it really means a lot to us.

Your comments and suggestion are very much appreciated in order to improve our service in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future for a longer stay with a better version of us!

Thank you again and have a nice day.

Warm Regards,
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Great value stay. Low season but most enjoyable. Good rooms, nice pool and friendly staff. A bit out of the way but free shuttle to Ubud anytime. A most enjoyable week of relaxation. Breakfast was good and small cafe does a good variety of basic foods. Had a problem with an aircon unit but immediately moved to a better room. Wifi works ok, tea making facilities but have to buy ingredients ( minimart across the road sells everything.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hariyana, Manager at Taman Harum Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Barry A,

Greetings from Taman Harum ,Ubud - Bali.

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to know that you are pleased with your stay.

Your comments and suggestion are very much appreciated in order to improve our service in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future for a longer stay with a better version of us!

Thank you again and have a nice day.

Warm Regards,
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

About a 20 minute drive from the centre of ubud, very quite and secluded but the hotel offers free shuttle bus services into the centre and are very friendly. The staff are very attentive and upon checkout gave us all handmade purses each which was a lovely touch. The decor is beautiful and the small pool area is peaceful and clean. Bugs are what to be expected abroad nothing major, maybe an excess of ants. Good place to stay if you want to get away from all the madness of Asia. Ubud centre is full of live band bars and reggae music, not a wild night out. Would stay again

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hariyana, Manager at Taman Harum Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Rachel W,

Greetings from Taman Harum ,Ubud - Bali.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so relieved to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay despite the many of our lacking.

Thank you so much for appreciating our humble little place, it really means a lot to us.

Your comments and suggestion are very much appreciated in order to improve our service in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future for a longer stay with a better version of us!

Thank you again and have a nice day.

Warm Regards,
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Nice quiet place away from the heart of Ubud. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, making my stay enjoyable. I purposely stayed in this area to be close to the carving and furniture shops to sus out pricing etc. All tho there aren't an abundance of shops in your face, they are there, you just need to look. There is how ever a market where all the locals provide there wares to the major shops. Unfortunately I was told this by my driver enroute to kuta , so next time...... The hotel was nice, rooms were clean, breakfast was .... Breakfast, sold as American , but not as large as you would expect , i.e. Single Rasher of bacon 50 mm long, crunchy tho!!. I was in a ground floor suite and was kept awake by the guests upstairs moving furniture over the tiled floors. Didn't complain as was not their fault nor the hotels, but maybe some felt pads glued to the chairs might help.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hariyana, Guest Relations Manager at Taman Harum Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Pete R

Greetings from Taman Harum ,Ubud - Bali.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are so relieved to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay despite the many of our lacking.

Thank you so much for appreciating our humble little place, it really means a lot to us.

Your comments and suggestion are very much appreciated in order to improve our service in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future for a longer stay with a better version of us!

Thank you again and have a nice day.

Warm Regards,
Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews