We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bursting with Character”
other travellers have booked this property
Looking at the villa from the luscious garden. Splendid.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking at the villa from the luscious garden. Splendid.
The Pool Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Looking at the villa from the luscious garden. Splendid.
The Pool
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
rest on one of the day beds
Dining Room
Just a few steps to the pool
The Pool
step into the garden
'Rain man' in his pond
The 4th Bedroom
Main bedroom — luxuriate...
Main bedroom's bathroom
The second bedroom
2nd Bathroom
The 3rd Bedroom
Bathroom with exquisite mosaic work
Living Room
Veranda and bar fridge
The splendid garden in evening light
the beautiful Buddha...greets you each day and farewells you as you leave, hopefully, to come again.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sanur, Denpasar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Julie C
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bursting with Character”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was the second time I stayed at Villa Sakala with a group of friends. I just love the character and all the art throughout the complex. The rooms and living area are very spacious and coupled with the generously sized yard, there is always somewhere to get some quiet 'me time' from the group.
Komang once again took care of all our needs. She is so intuitive, taking our breakfast orders at just the perfect time. The breakfast she cooks each morning: just amazing- omelettes, eggs anyway, freshly prepared fruit, pancakes and toast. It is no wonder I put on a couple of kilos.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
Hi Julie
First, thanks so much for coming back to us. I know how much Komang and family love looking after you.. .and the catering — what can I say, other than restraint is not part of the package (sorry!)... but joy is.. and the kilos will disappear (?) but those beautiful memories last and last and last.
See you again! Warm best, Shelley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen R
, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis, perfect place to escape to after a day of exploring. We loved it here.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Well, this was my first time in Bali with my young family(6 and 3)
We decided to stay four days in the Sanur area. When we arrived we were blown away by the size of the villa. It's huge! It's beautiful and we straight away relaxed. There was only four of us, so we only used two rooms. This villa can easily accommodate small or bigger numbers.
Shelley, the owner, was always very helpful via emails before we arrived. The family who caretakers the villa are an absolute delight.
I would suggest to arrange scooters or bikes as it is a little out of the way of shops and restaurants if you walk but only 3 mins on a scooter!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
I really am thrilled you had such a good stay. And hope that it will be the start of a long-lasting love affair with Bali. So many more places to see... but I'm hoping you'll come back and revisit Villa Sekala again. Warm best wishes, Shelley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMR1267
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect escape”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Friendly staff, tranquil gardens, luxurious appointments, the Villa Sekala has it all. At home in a soaking wet Sydney my family were coping torrential rains and driving winds were creating chaos, but it was easy to ignore the drama while relaxing in the pool or on the verandah of this gorgeous villa.

The location is far enough out of the main part of town to feel like a real retreat, while close enough to enjoy restaurants, bars and shopping within walking distance.

I hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
I'm so thrilled you had a lovely stay. I was in Sydney in those (god-awful) storms wishing... wishing I was in Bali. And.. the great thing is, Bali's not only good by comparison! I agree (of course); Viila Sekala's a piece of heaven in that part of paradise.. How lucky... I do hope you can return. I know you'd be more than welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“An oasis”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is my third stay at Villa Sekala and each time I leave, I know I'll be back. The garden's tranquillity and beauty, and the charming Komang desi are just two reasons why Villa Sekala is an oasis. The calm, gentle neighbourhood, stylishly understated Sanur and the villa's warm, curvaceous decor are the others. Oh, then there is breakfast ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden, the food, the management, the architecture
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Hello Helen and thanks so much. Not only for your glowing review but for visiting with us again. You are testament to the fact that places like Villa Sekala get even better with repeated visits (!). I know Komang Desi and her family would be thrilled to see you again. Warm best wishes, Shelley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsJHatch
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury, privacy and great service”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Going through the gate on arrival was like entering paradise. The beautiful garden, the wonderful welcome of the staff and the luxury of the accommodation all make this villa a delightful holiday haven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy, warmth and efficiency of the staff.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thanks, Jan. I know the staff were so happy to welcome you and ...as with all our guests... make you feel at home. Bali is well known for the kindness and ...well, sweetness of the Villa staff and Villa Sekala is extremely lucky (OK, I'm extremely lucky) to have Komang Desi as our manager. She's charming, warm and so helpful, efficient and smart. Please... do come and stay again. Warm best, Shelley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing