We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
209
20
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
20
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boxing ring rice fields spa suite fully equipped gym private pool hotel gym vanilla french toast complimentary drop smith machine complimentary airport shuttle health retreat great place for relaxation hectic life sunrise walk hour spa personal trainer bluetooth speaker
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Like previous reviewers we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is relaxing, pampering and the staff are super focused on ensuring you have a good time

Two points to bear in mind
- it is a relatively isolated spot from a tourism perspective. You need a shuttle to Sanur.
- it is a contemporary styling mixed with Balinese

So if you are happy with those points then do book. We also did a Pilates class which was great. Have been on the road for three weeks and the gym at the Samata is head and shoulders above any gym in previous hotels in Singapore and Indonesia - so bring your kit !

(Please leave helpful vote if this was helpful !)

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
Thank RichardPiercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaH8140, General Manager at The Samata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Dear RichardPiercy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a suggestion review.

I am glad you found our hotel to be the peaceful, relaxing and calm respite you were looking for. I am pleased that your stay was enjoyable throughout and that you liked our philosophy and concept offering leisure while maintaining fitness and physical activities with our extensive facilities. I am particularly pleased that you found our staff ‘polite, friendly and welcoming’.

Although we are not in the center of happening area, our convenient location was easily accessible from center of Sanur (the closest town) which takes 15 minutes by car from The Samata, we had also shuttle to drop off the town this should be organized in advance according to availability.

We hope we will have the pleasure of your return visit soon!


With PassionForLife,

Lisa Hariandja & The Samata Family
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We were 3 couples that stayed for 6 nights in 3 bedroom villa with our own private pool. The rooms are not the same, which we knew before coming so that was not a problem. Each one had its pros and cons. We were coming straight from staying a couple of days on the Gili Islands and after a very stressing car ride from Patang Bay it was like coming to paradise when the gates opened. It is even more beautiful than the pictures show. Check in was fast and professional. We had dinner at the Samata most nights and it was always very good. The only thing missing was the option to buy wine by the glass. Breakfast, oh what a delight. Such a relaxed athmosphere to start the day, overlooking this beautiful garden. Lots and lots of items to choose from and everything so good. And usually we did not feel hungry untill in the afternoon and then you could have Martinis and Tapas. And because being long staying guests we were invited to afternoon tea which was a wonderful gesture. We had the hotel drop us of in Sanur beach for a day out and the just took a taxi back. The location of Samata is about 15-20 min from Sanur beach so the area does not have any other restaurants but you could find some small markets that sell ice cream and sodas. And when we left for the airport they drove us there free of charge because we had arrived on our own. If ever back in Bali the Samata will be my first choice. This place is trully a hidden gem.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 152sigridurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaH8140, General Manager at The Samata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Sigridur S,

Your comments are gratefully received, and I look forward to sharing them with our team. It's a pleasure to hear from you and know that you experienced excellent service and a wonderful escape with us. You referred to your stay as the "One of the best hotels of my travels". And you highlight descriptions on our location adjacent to beautiful rice fields and shimmering Indian Ocean as well as not too far from happening part of Sanur City.

We appreciate your compliments and are especially pleased that you enjoyed our relaxing ambiance with your friends. We look forward to your return again very soon and we are so happy becoming your home away home in Bali.

With PassionForLife,

Lisa Hariandja & The Samata Family
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

After turning off the main road onto a small side road you reach the gates of the hotel as they open what a surprise the gardens and pools are a
delight
you can enjoy breakfast watching the farmers plant the rice fields and lay by the pool listening to the birds sing the whole atmosphere is so relaxing and laidback the staff are so happy to help with any requests and it’s definitely service with a smile.
I have stayed in many places all over the world but none are tranquil as the Samata
We had nine nights in the spa suite which included a wonderful massage each everyday for one hour with lots to choose from to suit your needs all of the girls have magic hand and make you feel like you are floating on a cloud
We ate at the restaurant every night and the food was excellent with lots of choice and for us the portions were just right I had been a chef for 20 years so really appreciate good quality food nearly everything is made fresh in the hotel kitchen the bread yogurt and jams are Devine and friendly service is great
The breakfast are wonderful with lots of different ideas on the menu a real refreshing change
Our room was a good size with a huge bed and a large bathroom were we had our spa treatment everything is spotlessly clean and the bedding and towels are excellent quality with lots of little extras that mean so much we will definitely return

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Doreen8877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaH8140, General Manager at The Samata, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Doreen8877,

I am overjoyed to read your review that you have an amazing stay in our little slice of Balinese paradise with stunning rice field back ground, and your best experience on our culinary options from healthy menu furthermore comfort food for who wants to have a taste on less healthy.

For travelers who love massages Spa Suite category is completed with massage bed in the bathroom, so you do not need to go to The Spa for massage, which is unique point.

I will ensure that your glowing praises of our colleagues, so your encouragement can motivate us to do our utmost for service excellence. We appreciate your positive reviews shared with other travelers at Trip Advisor

We look forward to welcoming you back to your beautiful Island of Gods soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Lisa Hariandja & The Samata Family
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This oasis is set nestled near the beach just north of downtown Sanur. It's so peaceful you can pass days without care. You feel like the whole place is yours.

The staff is wonderful (thank you Lisa!) and be sure to find Bagus in the Wellness Center for a wonderful workout or palm/numerology reading.

There are cooking classes, yoga classes, multiple pools and relaxation areas looking over beautiful rice fields with cranes helping the rice farmers till their fields. There are just so many available activities to fill your days that you can stay for a long time.

The restaurant served delicious meals every time.

Don't forget to treat yourself to a massage or any of the other options at the spa!

The Samata isn't walking distance to the main area of Sanur but you won't want to leave once you arrive anyway. And if you do, they will get a driver to take you around Bali. It's just a perfect place to relax and rejuvenate your mind and body.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite is spacious with a lovely view!
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NebielS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaH8140, General Manager at The Samata, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear NebielS,

For a well-deserved vacation, we are elated that your entire experience at The Samata was a lovely one. We greatly appreciate your enthusiasm for our extensive fitness and wellness facilities and are thrilled to hear you felt touched by the attention of our team. When you travel to our exquisite and relaxing surroundings, it is our personal, heartfelt joy to provide you with the service you need to relax in nature.

You have truly captured the essence of what it is like to stay at our resort which is conveniently located in a relaxing side of East Sanur where you were able to enjoy every moment of your experience, from the peaceful surroundings, healthy cuisine experience, relaxing spa, get fit with our fitness program.And strategic location whereas only 10 minutes to Sanur downtown, 45 minutes to Ubud and 45 minutes to Kuta and Seminyak.

When you are once again ready to experience paradise, we will be here, ready to welcome you back to The Samata.

With PassionForLife,

Lisa Hariandja & The Samata Family
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

The team focus on people, took every effort to ensure that your comments are heard. I enjoyed every bits of my stay to begin with and I definitely look forward to my next stay in November.

If you are looking to escape the city and really have a quality time, this is the accommodation that you should seek. Check in, enjoy every aspect of the villa from the room to the view, I guarantee you will check out as satisfied as I am.

The Samata needs no boast, view the photos from their website and that is 100% what you will get.

I am a happy customer! Thank you both back and front end staff for the great hospitality that you guys have extended to make my stay in Bali a different one.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Missy_Tini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaH8140, General Manager at The Samata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Missy_Tini,

What a pleasure it was to read your review of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your compliments to our wonderful staff and will be sure to share your comments with them.

I'm thrilled that you felt so well taken care of during your visit, you love to stay at The Samata and will be back in November . We are delighted to be your go to place when visiting Bali and we look forward to your return again soon here your home in Bali.

With PassionForLife,

Lisa Hariandja & The Samata Family
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews