We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Akhil Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aryavilla Heritage(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$13
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashiyana Cliff & Beach Resort(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$11
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Arabian Soul(Varkala)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$43
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
307
92
17
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
92
17
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsincense sticksmr bhaskerbeach towels and matsbeach leveltraditional stylethe cliffsea viewdark woodevery eveninglarge verandapapanasam beachdirect access to the beachfresh flowersperfect locationplace to stayfirst floorshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2017

From the first moment, when we arrived in the evening, I felt in love with this comfortible, snug and cosy hotel Marine Palace. So calmful, so clean, so heartly served by men and women, who worke there around and by the very gentle managers. There were no spider, no moskito, no rat! Only lovely dogs even two dackels. And every evening, we found a burning candle, fresh flowers in a bowl with fragrant incenses...What a wonderful place! I would like to come every year again.
Heartly greetings to all,
Eva Maria u. Robert

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evamariakroiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Eva Maria u. Robert!

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words. We are very excited to read your experience and it inspires us to serve you better ever again.

Thank you very much
Regards
Varkala Marine Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We booked our room, Superior traditional wooden cottage way in advance and the communication was excellent from Bhasker, everything was as described, mattress extremely comfy, room very clean and traditional, everything we expected and was looking for.
The team at the Marine Palace were excellent, nothing to much trouble.
There is a good restaurant connected to the Palace, great for Breakfast on your door step with a spiritual view and managed by a great team of hard workers.
In walking distance to bars, restaurants, shops on the cliff which is very busy of a night so it was nice to walk away from the hustle and bustle if you wanted an early night. Highlight was the Ayurveda treatment centre, which is set in the gardens of Marine Palace. Excellent stay overall and was sad to say goodbye to the whole team that made our stay so comfortable. Many Thanks to Bhasker and his team and of course the "Dr" , Paul & Syama at the Ayurveda centre.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBrown2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Sue Brown,

Thank you very much for your wonderful Review. It is indeed great pleasure to receive repeat guests and we promise to serve you better in the future as well. Thank you

Regards
Varkala Marine Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I spent three nights here to relax at the end of a busy time in India, for which it was perfect! Down at beach level (most Varkala hotels are up on the cliff), with a restaurant looking out over the ocean and serving tasty food. My room had a view to the sea, was clean, comfortable and a good size. Just a short walk to other parts of Varkala and the beach right on the doorstep. Varkala was quiet at the end of March but everything was still open.
I hope I'll have a chance to return here, and would choose this place to stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richard_j_ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear Richard,

Thank you for your very positive review. We are very thrilled to read your experience with us. Look forward for your future visits. THANK YOU once again.

Regards, Bhasker, Varkala Marine Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We had a fabulous stay Jan/Feb 2017. Its our 2nd stay at this hotel and we love the traditional cabins, cleaning services, restaurant, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. All food was excellent. It is so relaxing, peacful and right next to the lovely beach. Liz and Milton Ross from Keighley, Yorkshire

Room Tip: we love the traditional wooden cabins, more modern types of cabins are available but can't comment - havn't been in one.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossfhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Liz & Milton Ross,

Thank you very much your review. It is a great pleasure to be able to host you again and we promise to keep up the standards as best as possible for your 3rd visit.

Kind regards, Owner, Varkala Marine Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Forget Phuket, Bali, etc etc. Varkala is the place to be.

I've never been much of a beach & sun type, but Varkala may have changed my mind. Bhaskar is a friend of a friend of a friend... (etc), so we ended up coming here on a whim and luckily, he was able to get us in for a few nights (over Christmas/New Year holidays too!)

His little resort (piece of heaven) is on the quieter (South) side of the beach, and I loved it for that. A bit more peace and tranquility, and fewer tourists. I think I enjoyed Varkala much more than I would've Goa.

Being from North America, I've never experienced (and hence not particularly enjoyed) hours and hours (days and days) on a beach. But here, I can see why people enjoy that. The water was warm, the sand smooth. We spent a good 3 days JUST on the beach. Then we got bored and went up the cliff for more curiosities.

Marine Palace in general was an awesome place to just hang out, chill for a few days. Staff were courteous and knowledgeable when seeking advice for activities/transport options/etc. And most of all, we trusted their advice and didn't feel like we were getting ripped off because we were tourists.

*bonus: super cute doggie on site :)

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Mtlng,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very humbled by your privileged feed back. We promise to preserve the ambiance as best as we could in the future.

Thank you and see you again.

Bhaskar, Varkala Marine Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews