We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kerala beckons”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #11 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Brunton Boatyard was our last place of stay on this trip and we were happy to be back to the city although the greenery and peaceful beauty of Kumarkom and Allepey were memorable.
The drive to Fort Cochin is very long as it is through the city with narrow roads. The property has been given a quaint historic feel . Rooms are simple with high four poster beds which require step ups to climb. View is nice with a little sit out to enjoy your tea / drink while watching the river activities as the ferry stop is next to it. Mattresses are too soft and I was not comfortable in it. Frankly the bed would be a challenge for a senior citizen or somebody who has physical limitations.
We had a bit of initial hiccups with the front desk but they were sorted out by the F&B Manager Harikrishna and he went out of his way to make it up. Food is good but will highly recommend the Bakery section of the Hotel and their in house Ice Creams. The Guava Ice cream is to die for.

Room Tip: Choose a Sea View Room as that is the beauty of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sangeeta64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the inspirational feedback. I am glad Harikrishnan helped resolve the initial hiccup you had and ensure your stay and overall experience with us was memorable.
we look forward to having you with us soon again!

Manoj Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Highly recommended boutique hotel with real atmosphere and charm. Rooms are spotless and a good size. Particularly nice aspects are the sound environmental practices, ayurvedic toiletries and fressh coffee and range of teas provided in rooms. Free cookery demonstrations are given every evening and are well worth attending.

The ayurvedic spa is the real deal and reasonably priced. I had a treatment each morning before breakfast.

Most of the staff are friendly and will smile and greet you as they pass, although service in Armoury Restaurant can be rather slow. Water facing rooms suffer noise from the passing car ferries, but ear plugs are provided.

Expensive during the winter peak season, but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very positive feedback on this forum. I am glad to know that you enjoyed all the services we offer, especially our ayurvedic treatments. I am sorry that the service at Armoury was slow. we prepare everything fresh to order and hence it usually ttakes slightly longer than usual.
We look forward to your return....
Manoj Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

My son an i visited for a week in July. The pricing for a non sea facing room in the off season was unbelievably low. The service was fantastic and breakfasts delicious. My son was slightly disappointed on days there were less than 10 guests as the buffet that included chocolate brownies was not on offer. We had the room next to the ferry, yes, you could hear the hustle and bustle of India but if you want a quiet holiday there are many other places in the world to go. We were on a relatively tight budget so did not eat our evening meals in the restaurant there is a great choice of restaurants nearby or by short walk or tuk tuk ride. The internet was pretty erratic but once I had got used to that (i emailed work and told them to sort it out for themselves) the holiday got even better

Room Tip: hire a guide like Shine Aroor and really get to know and enjoy the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for the awesome review of Brunton Boatyard. We are sorry that your son could not enjoy the chocolate brownie on his second morning. we will ensure he has plenty of the same in the next visit. I also hope you would try our historic restaurants too in the next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

A boatyard converted into an heritage hotel and the fastest way to get there from the airport is by ferry (from Vypin- it takes your car as well). Wow what a way to start your holiday.

In addition we got some fantastic food and brilliant service. The rooms are all heritage and the four poster bed - we loved it.

Highly recommended to relax the soul ! Did i already mention that the sea food we had was simply to die for (dinner)

Room Tip: Look for a room which faces the backwaters (there is an occasional sound of the ferry horn at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VinodMathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for the valuable feed back about your stay at Brunton. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel the way we intended our guests to enjoy. even though the hotel is new, the ambiance and decor has been creted to match the collonial era. most of the artifacts and displays in the rooms are antiques and collectibles. we look forward to having you back with us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Staying at the Brunton Boatyard is a unique experience, truly worth remembering. With a rich history, colonial style buildings and rooms, one is transported back in time. Great views of the harbour and big ships passing by makes for some wonderful relaxation. The food is great and has some local delicacies. I also liked their attention to detail in the room and all over the property. Dont miss the hotel's boat ride in the evening....its a very pleasant way to spend an hour!

Room Tip: We chose the rooms on the top floor with balconies facing the water. But I suppose any room facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very positive review on Brunton Boatyard. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that Brunton Boatyard has to offer. We look forward to having you with us soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1,3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2 095 reviews
0,4 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
1 428 reviews
0,8 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#3 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,8 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
660 reviews
3,6 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
9,6 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 33 in Ernakulam
1 007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: R4 205 - R7 399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing