We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brunton Boatyard
Nearby Hotels
Kochi Marriott Hotel(Ernakulam)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Meridien Kochi(Maradu)
US$119
US$99
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Kochi(Maradu)
US$87
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Malabar House(Kochi (Cochin))
US$168
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tissa's Inn(Kochi (Cochin))
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$84
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Flora Airport Hotel(Nedumbassery)
US$73
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PJ Princess Regency(Vypin Island)
US$45
US$33
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveller rating
528
218
45
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
218
45
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistory restaurantsunset cruiserailway mutton currythe chinese fishing netscgh earthcolonial stylecontainer shipscooking demonstrationoverlooking the waterfishing boatscgh groupfort cochinfish restaurantmain restaurantfour posterarabian seabeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 810 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Highly recommended boutique hotel with real atmosphere and charm. Rooms are spotless and a good size. Particularly nice aspects are the sound environmental practices, ayurvedic toiletries and fressh coffee and range of teas provided in rooms. Free cookery demonstrations are given every evening and are well worth attending.

The ayurvedic spa is the real deal and reasonably priced. I had a treatment each morning before breakfast.

Most of the staff are friendly and will smile and greet you as they pass, although service in Armoury Restaurant can be rather slow. Water facing rooms suffer noise from the passing car ferries, but ear plugs are provided.

Expensive during the winter peak season, but worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very positive feedback on this forum. I am glad to know that you enjoyed all the services we offer, especially our ayurvedic treatments. I am sorry that the service at Armoury was slow. we prepare everything fresh to order and hence it usually ttakes slightly longer than usual.
We look forward to your return....
Manoj Nair
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

My son an i visited for a week in July. The pricing for a non sea facing room in the off season was unbelievably low. The service was fantastic and breakfasts delicious. My son was slightly disappointed on days there were less than 10 guests as the buffet that included chocolate brownies was not on offer. We had the room next to the ferry, yes, you could hear the hustle and bustle of India but if you want a quiet holiday there are many other places in the world to go. We were on a relatively tight budget so did not eat our evening meals in the restaurant there is a great choice of restaurants nearby or by short walk or tuk tuk ride. The internet was pretty erratic but once I had got used to that (i emailed work and told them to sort it out for themselves) the holiday got even better

Room Tip: hire a guide like Shine Aroor and really get to know and enjoy the area
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for the awesome review of Brunton Boatyard. We are sorry that your son could not enjoy the chocolate brownie on his second morning. we will ensure he has plenty of the same in the next visit. I also hope you would try our historic restaurants too in the next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

A boatyard converted into an heritage hotel and the fastest way to get there from the airport is by ferry (from Vypin- it takes your car as well). Wow what a way to start your holiday.

In addition we got some fantastic food and brilliant service. The rooms are all heritage and the four poster bed - we loved it.

Highly recommended to relax the soul ! Did i already mention that the sea food we had was simply to die for (dinner)

Room Tip: Look for a room which faces the backwaters (there is an occasional sound of the ferry horn at night though)
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VinodMathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thanks for the valuable feed back about your stay at Brunton. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel the way we intended our guests to enjoy. even though the hotel is new, the ambiance and decor has been creted to match the collonial era. most of the artifacts and displays in the rooms are antiques and collectibles. we look forward to having you back with us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Staying at the Brunton Boatyard is a unique experience, truly worth remembering. With a rich history, colonial style buildings and rooms, one is transported back in time. Great views of the harbour and big ships passing by makes for some wonderful relaxation. The food is great and has some local delicacies. I also liked their attention to detail in the room and all over the property. Dont miss the hotel's boat ride in the evening....its a very pleasant way to spend an hour!

Room Tip: We chose the rooms on the top floor with balconies facing the water. But I suppose any room facing the water should be good.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the very positive review on Brunton Boatyard. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that Brunton Boatyard has to offer. We look forward to having you with us soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

This place is probably the best hotel in Cochin

Situated inside a beautiful refurbished building that used to serve as a boatyard for the British navy, it's built right on the sea-front. You can watch the waves and the boats from your four- poster bed and tour private balcony.
The rooms are spaceous, with a huge , high4 -poster bed in the centre that makes you feel like royalty. It opens to a private terrace overlooking the sea in most rooms.
The bathroom is large amd well- equipped with delightful terracotta floors.

The grounds are beautiful. The white,U- shaped buildig with its many arcades embraces a verdant garden. The place is surrounded by a wall and there are security guards on patrol day and night.

I particularly loved the fact that the rooms are very bright and that you can totally enjoy just staying on your verandah, relax and watch the palm- fronded shore.
This also means that you get fresh air and not the re- cycled AC ventilation through faulty filters in hotels where the windows won't open.

The breakfast is excellent and you can have your choice of local specialties or Western fare. The restaurants, especially the grill- terrace, are excellent. I had the best fresh fish and veggies there in a long time. Their coconut custard is to swoon for.

NB the gracious and competent Mâitre d' named Vinaya. He was extremely helpful, friendly and knew exactly how to serve just the right thing with modesty,caring, and in a professional manner.

Amongst the perks are complimentary tea and snacks at tea-time, a private sunset yacht cruise and cooking lessons
And there's also a swimming pool
All and all, a relaxing and lovely stay.

Oh, and yes, you can hear the ferries go by- but that sounds more like a lullaby and did in no way did in no way impair my sleep- and I'm a light sleeper.

I hope to be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Tigresseontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the most wonderful feed back on Brunton Boatyard. Our entire team works to ensure 100 % guest satisfaction. I am glad to know you made amazing memories of your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews