We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 274)
Filter reviews
1 274 results
Traveller rating
824
308
73
42
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
824
308
73
42
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hill top taj property infinity pool latitude restaurant wah taj hill overlooking premium indulgence room taj standards taj group jade dragon huge bathroom main building tulip garden in room dining duty manager beautiful property excellent view
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1 274 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night at Vivanta Dal View, Srinagar. Location is jusst super, on a hill, overlooking the Dal lake. With rain and fresh snowfall, it was a beautiful sight to watch from the room. Rooms and bathrooms very spacious. Food also very good. I recommend tourists to visit Kashmir. It is totally safe, nothing to worry. We even moved in by lanes of Srinagar, for bakerys etc., and found people very helpful, loving, no need to worry about anything.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank apoorvas427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBT T, Director of Sales at Vivanta Dal View, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review , we are glad that you enjoyed the visit to Kashmir and stay at Vivanta Dalview. .We look forward to your visit in future. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A par excellence stay at Vivanta Dal view. The property food and service was in tandem with Taj hospitality.

Location : The property is on a hill top and offer excellent views from all rooms.

Room : Stayed in a premium room. the room is excellent. The batch room was amazing. I personally did not experience such an huge bathroom ever.

Service - Beyond imagination. I wonder how the room service reached my room within the blink of an eye even tough the cottages were some distance from the reception.
The restaurant staff was very friendly. Special vote of thanks to Md. Alamgeer Hussain who attended us in all our meals.

Cons: A bit expensive for sure (but its a Taj after all)
Since the property is at a hill top, there are no shops / eateries nearby.

Room tip: All rooms overlook the Dal lake. Book Delux room and request an upgrade at check in. You shall get it if available
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abhishek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBT T, Director of Sales at Vivanta Dal View, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review , we are glad that you enjoyed the visit to Vivanta Dalview. We will communicate the messages to respective team members mentioned in your feedback We look forward to your visit in future. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

We decided to visit Srinagar against advice from the FO. Then snow fell on the day we were due to fly from Delhi so it took us nearly two stressful days to get up there (that's having flown from Europe in the first place). This left us with just two days instead of three and a half. The hotel upgraded us to a spacious comfortable room with views of Indian kites hunting in front of our window. The location is peaceful. Food good and we particularly loved the chef who spoke perfect English and took time to chat to us and make us feel very welcome. We'd requested a driver who spoke good English, no shopping etc. This didn't prove the case. The day we went to Gulmarg this driver insisted we hire a 'local guide' at extra cost. This 'guide' told us not one single thing of interest. On our last morning we got a great driver (wished we'd had him first time round) but the travel manager had neglected to check what was open so we wasted what little time we had on fighting our way through the traffics jams to visit a museum that was always going to be closed. One phone call could have elicited the correct information. In short if you venture up here I'd book your sightseeing though a travel agent or tour operator.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheBeckhams421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBT T, Director of Sales at Vivanta Dal View, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review , we are glad that you enjoyed the visit to Vivanta Dalview. We will communicate the messages to respective team members mentioned in your feedback We look forward to your visit in future. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Indian food was terrible , local specialty dum alu Kashmiri was the worst dum alu we have ever tasted & management is indifferent to complaints . They don’t even stock basic kingfisher premium beer, they had only ultra , imagine a Taj hotel having only one kind of beer . A big let down for a Taj group property, only saving grace is the excellent location and the lack of other 5 star hotels in the area save for Lalit which is worst than Vivanta

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Thank niravtalsania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Your check in will be done sitting comfortably in the T lounge sipping the welcome Kahwa.
All rooms have good views of the Dal lake and Srinagar city.
If you stay in a balcony room, then a morning cuppa will make your day, amidst chirping birds.
The staff is friendly and warm.
The Gym is spartan with basic equipment, but with most guests in a holiday mood, it is ok to prepare you for the day and the rich Kashmiri cuisine.
Talking of food, don’t miss having the Kashmiri Harisha in Breakfast. It comes in both Veg and Non veg varieties.
Abhishek, the chef comes up with great dishes and you can tell him your tastes and he can whip up something great, going with the local cuisine.
The restaurant is well managed by Devender. Our table was served by Fauzia who adds efficiency and care to her graceful presence.
Star gazing can be done in the plaza outside the restaurant, on a clear night.
During winters the walk from your room to the main block may need proper clothing as it gets pretty cold.
All in all a great stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GuruMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBT T, Director of Sales at Vivanta Dal View, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review , we are glad that you enjoyed the visit to Vivanta Dalview. We will communicate the messages to respective team members mentioned in your feedback We look forward to your visit in future. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews