We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Great stop”

Heart of the Desert
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Heart of the Desert is a working pistachio ranch and vineyard with four retail establishments in New Mexico. We are best known for our farm fresh pistachios and Award-Winning New Mexico wines. Each store offers wine and pistachio tastings. We offer worldwide shipping and produce attractive gourmet baskets that make great corporate and family gifts. Visit the Largest Heart in the World! Heart of the Desert’s trademark heart welcomes you to the ranch, standing 26’ tall and 20’ wide at the main store in Alamogordo. Free farm tours are offered that showcase how pistachios are grown and processed as well as a stunning Tuscany themed patio that overlooks the groves and is available for private parties or enjoying a relaxing glass of wine. Free Tours Daily June - August: Monday through Friday, twice a day at 10:00 AM and 1:30 PM. September - May: Monday through Friday at 1:30 PM. Groups: We are happy to accommodate groups of 10 or more by appointment. Buses Welcome!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I took the husband and kids for a tour while we were in town. My 8 year old daughter loves pistachios so she was excited to see the farm. My 14 year even liked it. Our tour guide Sam was ADORABLE. We loved her! The tour was great and really showcased what an awesome family owned company this is. We left with lots of wine and pistachios. I’m so glad we went.

Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HODAlamogordo, Public Relations Manager at Heart of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review! So glad you enjoyed the tour and that even the kiddos had a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 29 reviews
"eagle ranch"
in 18 reviews
"pistachio ice cream"
in 15 reviews
"pistachio farm"
in 20 reviews
"gift shop"
in 25 reviews
"beautiful patio"
in 5 reviews
"green chili"
in 11 reviews
"flavors including"
in 3 reviews
"mail order"
in 3 reviews
"free tour"
in 6 reviews
"new mexico"
in 21 reviews
"white chocolate"
in 3 reviews
"informative tour"
in 5 reviews
"free samples"
in 5 reviews
"great stop"
in 6 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 6 reviews
"off the highway"
in 3 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

The tour was super interesting! Loved hearing the facts about growing pistachios and how the company not only got started but how they’ve expanded. Tour was about 45minutes but sure didn’t seem that long. Great sampling of their wines and pistachio products.

The tour guide and staff were all very warm and fun.

Kids would like this tour too!

Thank Charla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HODAlamogordo, Public Relations Manager at Heart of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review! Thank you for sharing your experience with the tour. Glad to hear that it was a good experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Wine tasting, pistachios in all kinds of flavors, dark chocolate dipped pecans plus Ice cream and an incredible place for a wedding or party. We had a lot of fun on the tour and learned a lot too!! Enjoy it in the heat to cause there's lots of trees!! We will be back!!

Thank Bert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HODAlamogordo, Public Relations Manager at Heart of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review! Glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

THE ONE place to go for pistachio perfection!! Free sampling of pistachios of all kinds of flavors, milk and dark chocolate and brittle. Just wonderful!! We also had white chocolate pistachio ice that is amazing ( with pistachio crumbs)!! Sampled all and bought 6 bags, $8.99, each. Including biscotti with pistachio!! Aw....so good.

Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HODAlamogordo, Public Relations Manager at Heart of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your review. Glad you were able to sample our products and were able to find a selection to take home to enjoy later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We love to go out on the patio and have a glass of wine. The staff are friendly and we always have a great time.

Thank Chrissy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HODAlamogordo, Public Relations Manager at Heart of the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thanks for your review! So glad you enjoy The Patio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Heart of the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing