We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

I couldn't stay there more than one night and I took my car and went to find another hotel food was very bad, the swimming pool water looks very bad, the room was not a room for a 4 stars hotel in my opinion it is barely 3 stars hotel

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Good afternoon, Mr. Mina!
Thank you for visited our hotel Harmony Makadi bay.

First let us express our deep apologies to your good self and thank you for taking part of
your valuable time to explain the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us, as
it will be of a great support to us defining and enhancing all potential weaknesses we
might be encountering.

We sincerely regret that you were in our hotel only 1 day. It is impossible to make an objective opinion about the hotel only for 1 day stay here. It was necessary to contact the hotel Management and explain why you are not satisfied with the hotel. I'm sure we would have solved the problem and you would not have left our hotel.

Although, this last visit to our Resort did not completely satisfy your
expectations,we sincerely hope that such experience will not deter you from returning
back to our resort; in the meantime we look forward to welcoming you back on many
more occasions in the future. Furthermore, if you would be so kind as to contact us the next time you book our hotel, we will do my best to ensure that your stay is as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

Thank You & Best Regards,
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed at the Harmony Makadi Bay for 8 nights in August 2017 and have no hesitation in recommending it as a great place for families. We were impressed by the friendly, helpful attitude of the staff throughout the hotel, and how hard they all worked constantly to keep the place running well and looking good. The gardens were so green, with gardeners working round the clock to water the plants, and keep the trees well attended. The water in two of the pools was slightly murky at the start of our stay, but there were alternative pools for us to use and the pool staff were working hard to get the water quality improved - which they had within a couple of days. The saltwater pool was lovely, and the main pools had attentive lifeguards working and felt safe and clean.

We travelled from the UK, but met up with a large group of my husband's Egyptian family members at the hotel. We felt the hotel catered for both us and our Egyptian relatives well. We dined in the Layalina buffet restaurant for our meals, and particularly loved the pancakes and omelettes for breakfast and the freshly cooked pasta for lunch and dinner. Our relatives ate in the main restaurant, which was bigger and busier - and although we ate there once too, our children preferred the quieter atmosphere in the Layalina.

We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room, but were very impressed at how quickly the engineering and housekeeping teams arrived to resolve it, and when it couldn't be fixed, we changed rooms without any trouble at all. Our room in the first villa in row 1, nearest to the beach and the pool with the slides, was a perfect location for us, and the views were amazing. We snorkelled off the jetty which was great fun, although most of the time the waves there were rather rough for smaller children to be able to swim easily in.

Although elements of the hotel do look like they are not at their peak anymore, that is only to be expected because of the drop in overseas tourism to the region and we felt that the service we received was outstanding, so would not hesitate in returning again - and are already looking at flights for next summer.

Room Tip: The rooms in the villas in Row 1 have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Our valued Guest Charlotte,

We would like to thank you for your visit to Harmony Makadi Bay , it was truly a pleasure to serve you.

Thank you for your positive review and for recommending our hotel.
For the Management of our hotel it is very important that you were satisfied with the room,garden,service,restaurant Layalina, food.

We are sorry that you had problems with the air conditioning, of course, we try to solve technical problems very quickly. I hope this issue doesn't upset your stay.

We would also like to mention that we were very pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us, once we read your review we were all filled with content to know that you were pleased during your stay with us.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest to our property.


Thank you,
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel not bad but the #animation_team is very beautiful and they're helpful and interesting they make the guests very happy and #Alex is an important person in the animation team he's very funny,helpful really he's interesting person .
Actually I liked this team ....

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nadeen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Our valued Guest Nadeen,
We would like to thank you for your visit to Harmony Makadi Bay in August 2017 , it was truly a pleasure to serve you.
It is very important for us that you were satisfied with the work of our animation team and wrote a lot of kind words about them on the website Tripadvisor .

We would like to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest to our property.

We would also like to mention that we were very pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us, once we read your review we were all filled with content to know that you were pleased during your stay with us.

Thank you,
Guest Relation





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

it is interesting that the manager is replying to every bad review here but in reality whenever you are at the hotel he never comes or resolves any issue / if you intend to pay using visa don't go there as they force you to pay in cash or leave you behind and they are false advertising that you can pay in visa !!!
terrible food / shallow sea to as far as you can see - or you should go to swim in a diving spot / rude attendants at the reception / no fresh juice/ no coke - fake awful drinks - no snacks / I understood the all inclusive means that hotel should offer fresh juice and beverages or snacks but this hotel does not , it is funny that you have to pay for juice since you booked an all inclusive reservation . Thank you for such a terrible experience / if you re going there make sure that you will starve there as there is nothing good to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roka r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Although there were many comments negatively describe the hotel on the web sites but we enjoyed our stay very much every thing is excellent starting from the service, cleanliness, food and beverage and the friendly staff and for sure we will come back

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank weather20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makadi Bay hotels
1,4 km away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Makadi Bay
2,7 km away
Steigenberger Makadi
Steigenberger Makadi
#2 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1 030 reviews
0,9 km away
Stella Di Mare Beach Resort & Spa Makadi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,3 km away
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
#23 of 30 in Makadi Bay
1 877 reviews
1,4 km away
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
Al Nabila Grand Bay Makadi
#22 of 30 in Makadi Bay
960 reviews
1,1 km away
LABRANDA  Garden Makadi
LABRANDA Garden Makadi
#25 of 30 in Makadi Bay
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Hurghada 642, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range: R 338 - R 921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort is located in the prominent Makadi Bay area, only 25KM southern of the very popular Egyptian holiday destination "Hurghada", on Egypt's beautiful Red Sea Riviera. Makadi is a peaceful bay with many opportunities for snorkeling and scuba diving. The semi-tropical climate makes this both a summer and winter resort. The Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort is situated directly on over 600 meters private and white sandy beach, and has a spectacular house reef very close by, which guests may use for snorkeling. Among the 552 outsized (52sq m), comfortable & luxurious rooms, year-round sunshine, panoramic views of sea (subject to hotel availability against charge 10$ per room per night) and blue skies, Spa, tennis fields, all makes the Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort the place for unique moments to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel Makadi Bay
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel And Resort
Domina Makadi Bay Resort
Domina Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing