We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4 072)
Filter reviews
4 072 results
Traveller rating
2 568
1 000
304
127
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 568
1 000
304
127
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool jenya boy animation team thai restaurant mega fun main restaurant health club kids club special thanks sea view shuttle bus downtown area water polo tuk tuk amazing holiday half board main pool
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 4 072 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Rooms - Good and clean
Service - Great
Food Range - Great.
Food quality - Good.
Food quality at the 'expensive' sayadia seafood buffett' - not good at all.
Beach for kids - great.
Pools - Great.
Kids club - very Average (Room looks old and not clean)

overall 4/5

Property is nice, but somewhat dated and is in need of a facelift.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robie_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest Robie_Syd,

Thank you for choosing Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna and for posting on this forum.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you found our location, rooms and food excellent, and the the service provided by our team members was creating an exceptional experience.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back very soon in El Gouna.
With best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Great jolted especially the family rooms which provided two, good size, beds for teenagers. If you are not on full board restaurants and drinks can be exoensive but the tuk tuk into downtown or the marina a very cheep. The restaurant downtown and st the marina are very good and better value than the hotel. Great place to stay with great pools and lagoons. The hirel is also well spread out so you don’t feel cramped by other guests. Will go again

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TheWindsorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Valued Guest, TheWindsorian

Thank you for choosing Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna and for posting on tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you found our location, rooms and food excellent, and the the service provided by our team members was creating an exceptional experience.
Hoping to be able to welcome you back very soon in El Gouna.

With best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Nice hoilday
sarvis very good and very frindly the
All the stffe in all the par very good
The food so good and the pool very nice and sand beach
Nice show and singr evry tiem
The entrtamint mega fun
(islam hakona matata )
very good team and the aer so frindly fell

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eduardt726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Eduard T

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to know, that you had a nice stay with us and that our facilities and services were up to your expectations. The management appreciates, that you have taken the time to share your experiences and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the Animation Team Megafun, who are indeed a great asset to our hotel. Hoping to be able to welcome you back very soon at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna.

With best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Marketing Communications Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Mid October 2018 we spent 10 days at the Moevenpick Resort and were overall disappointed with our experience there and will surely not return.

Welcome: Our greeting and welcome at arrival was modest at best, without any explanation of the facilities or meal times, etc. We were then led to our Suite located right at the beach where we need to ask for the bed of our 4 year old as it hadn’t been taken care of in advance.

Room and facilities: The room has a nice size and shape with a large bedroom, dress room and bathroom. Unfortunately, the room (and actually any other facility as it turned out) had seen better days as it was very tired already, and would require a series of upgrades and renovations.
The resort is large and very wide and beautifully spread which means you never feel the amount of people staying there or that it gets overly crowded, the beach set up is beautiful, the pools nice and sizeable, – surely it once was a great hotel.

Food/restaurant:
The food was ok, nothing too memorable - especially for those of us looking for nice, fresh food at breakfast rather than e.g. half frozen strawberries. Unfortunately, the kids corner was not very inviting compared to what we have seen at other hotels and our boy ended up not taking food from there. Unfortunately, both my husband and my son (i.e. 2/3 of the family) ended up suffering from hefty diarrhoea after day 4 on site which overshadowed our overall experience. In the evenings, it was nice that the chefs would come out, walk around and talk to guests, they were all very friendly, helping and inviting. It was a bit odd though to see hotel personnel get food from the buffet at peak times of guests, we have never seen this before! The service staff was mostly grumpy, often arguing with each other in Arabic over disagreements next to serving the guests. We thought Mohammed who always ran around with cans of tea and coffee trying to anticipate guests' needed was the only really friendly and nice one we encountered.

Kids: They had two playgrounds onsite: one at the beach seemingly for toddlers, which was nice enough but right next to a surfer station or alike that used the side wall touching the playground as storage space for all sorts of broken or other odd stuff which meant the little kids had direct access to dangerous things lying around there randomly. The other playground was newer and targeting bigger kids, it was behind the tennis courts and for our taste a bit too far off the trail but very nice. We didn’t find the kids team very professional and warm, one example was the sad kids disco which is done inside in an old side room, cast away, rather than on the nice stage out in the open where also the evening program is being done. Our son is a hug kids disco fan, yet this one he checked out once and refused to return...

Gym/Spa/beauty salon: The gym was nicely equipped and set up with very modern machines (from LifeFitness) and a good size, we enjoyed our work outs there. Also, the spa is worth a visit as well as set up with nice treatments. Note though if you book a 60 min massage what you really get is 50 min massage time. A minus there was the smoking in the spa: it seems the spa team uses a room in the spa facilities to smoke which then can be smelled in the entire spa massage area. The beauty salon was nothing but a joke - more like one you could expect in a shabby side walk in El Gouna town: while you get treated in the saloon you are exposed to a super loud TV show in Arabic matched up by a guy screaming into his phone at the reception desk. The lady that treated us probably did a 1 hour evening course on how to do facials as it was absolutely appalling, the side room they use for customers to lie and relax looked like a storage closet where you lie on beach towels. Really a total waste of money and time as actually quite expense (e.g. it costed more than the nice massages we took every day!).


All in all, a modest experience for us in El Gouna at the Moevenpick hotel and as said at the start: we will surely not return.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManuelaRonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Valued Guest, ManuelaRonald

We thank you for your visit, however regret to know, that some aspects of your stay were not meeting up to your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you may have encountered.

Nevertheless, we thank you for sharing these constructive comments and we will take them as a learning experience to improve our services.

It is clear from your feedback, that we failed to deliver an outstanding holiday experience. A clear message of ensuring quality and proper service standards is delivered to the team and well-received by everyone. We will definitely be more focused to ensure the consistence and level of service our hotel as well as our international brand is known for.

Please be sure, that all we want is to make our guests happy and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a better service as you deserve.

with best regards

Brigitte Gobran
Marketing Communications Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Was nice hoilday in movenpick resort spa elgouna Good food Nice drink and all thé thé pepol work in hôtel very frindly and we will com bake agin thé entrtmen mega fun very Nice team (islam-tanya) very good water gym and islam very funy hakona matat

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Carovd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoevenpickElGouna, Public Relations Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Valued Guest, Carovd
It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel, thank you for your trust. We are delighted to know, that you’ve enjoyed your vacation and that the activities of our Animation Team made it even more special. We will certainly pass your kind words to them.

Thank you for your compliments and for recommending our hotel to other travellers. We are surely looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With best regards
Brigitte Gobran
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews