We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
752
55
24
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
752
55
24
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brew pub golden inn front desk get away beach bar an umbrella wedding weekend beautiful hotel diamond beach east wing cocktail hour wedding reception every staff member cup of coffee the entire staff off season the wait staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

What a gem in Avalon! Everything is clean and bright. The pool with the wet sauna was amazing! My wife and I sat poolside with adult beverages and were quite happy. The rooms were clean and ready each day upon our return and the staff at the restaurant, although tested by volume, worked hard to serve us as quickly as possible! Great stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank christ0herc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2019 via mobile

We had another fantastic 5 night visit this month. Our room was clean and the beds are very comfortable. Housekeeping had the room serviced between 11:00am and 2:00pm every day. All the staff was friendly . Towels were plentiful at the pool. Only downside was the pool bar didn't open after 2:00pm during weekdays despite the weather being great.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank habs1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

We hosted a breakfast the morning after our son's wedding on the patio at Icona Avalon. We found it a pleasure to work with Theresa the event manager on staff. It was a simple continental breakfast with baked goods, bagels, fruit salad, and hot mini quiches plus a coffee bar. We had no idea how many guests would come to breakfast so we guessed at 100. About 80 people did come for a quick breakfast before heading to the airport or home.

Our private area on the terrace next to the pool was set up beautifully and sectioned off with walls of greenery that worked very well. The staff was attentive and helped unload table centerpieces from the car. They kept dishes cleared as guests came and went and the buffet table was kept replenished. The food was fine, but it was the same basic hotel fare that you get at any hotel at any conference I've ever attended. As I anticipated, after the late night celebrating at the wedding the night before, most people only wanted coffee and a small bite anyway. Theresa came down toward the end of the event to ensure all went well.

There were only two minor things that I offer in the way of feedback to the Icona. Some sort of signage in the lobby directing our guests to the terrace would have been helpful, as well as some indication on the door to the terrace that they had found the right place. There was a long line to get into the public hotel breakfast buffet nearby and several guests thought that entrance was for them as well.

The second suggestion is the coffee cups used at the coffee bar. The tables were beautifully set with glass, linen tablecloths and napkins, silverware, floral centerpieces and there were china plates at the buffet. At the coffee station however, only paper "to go" cups were available. I asked the staff to please provide real coffee cups which they readily did, but the china cups were not replenished when they ran out before the end of the event. The paper cups were very useful as people were leaving with a cup to go, but were very out of place during the breakfast.

We rented a house in the area so I cannot offer a review of the hotel or the amenities.

Date of stay: September 2019
2  Thank AVA357CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2019

Was recommended by a work colleague so decided to check it out for a week long getaway. Wasn't disappointed.

The resort itself is beautiful. Especially for the NJ Shore which typically consists of somewhat old motel type hotels. The rooms are pretty luxurious and comfortable.

The place is totally spotless. Very clean, up to date and laid out comfortably for the guests with multiple bars (including a really nice "beach" bar in front of the dunes).

The staff are really wonderful and you genuinely feel like they care that you are happy and do everything they can to make sure you are. We ended up extending the stay even though they were full and Helen at the front desk worked wonders to make it happen. At first, we were told we might have to change rooms for the last (extended) night which wasn't a biggie, but they arranged it so we didn't get inconvenienced.

We went "off season" and they were clearly in transition which led to some minor issues at the brew pub but our server, Sue made sure we enjoyed dinner and during subsequent visits went out of her way to take care of us. There were others who also took the time to make sure everything was perfect, who greeted us every night when we came back (though sadly I didn't catch their names).

Though it is rather pricey for the shore, you do get what you pay for.

As I mentioned, we liked it so much, we ended up staying longer. Something we rarely do. Will definitely stay there again.

Room tip: Stay in the East wing which is closer to the beach and has views of the beach or the beach and pool. I would not stay on the first floor.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouRM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2019

The Icona was first class.
Our room was like no other. The beds and pillows were very comfy. Amenities in the room were awesome. Staff were very helpful, curteous, and friendly.
We are thinking of making this our yearly vacation destination.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews