We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious, well equipped bungalow in a quiet...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Spacious, well equipped bungalow in a quiet location next to the Darwin National Park”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The location is excellent - walking distance to the National Parks, beaches and town centre. The accommodation is spacious, very clean and comfortable, the perfect place to unwind after a busy day exploring the island. The owners Mathias and Maria were super helpful, nothing was too much trouble, thank you to you both. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you!, was a pleasure for us to have a guests like you!
You are a wonderful persons!.

Have a great year!!

Maria and Mathias
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great scuba/ apartment stay in puerto ayora”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fabulous place close to scuba iguana diving, perfect kitchen to make meals, bikes provides on the house

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Dear Kim, we are very happy that you have been able to enjoy our accommodation.
Thank you and hope to see you again!
Mathias and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin...
1 review
“Couldn´t have asked for more!”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We absolutely loved our time at Casa Mathias - The pictures don´t do it justice. The property is stunning, the apartment and suite are both spectacular. Bread, eggs, juice, butter, and marmelade were all waiting for us in the fridge for making breakfast each morning.

When we first signed, we were worried about declaring up front that we were coming with our infant daughter. Would they charge more or have a policy against small children? The exact opposite was true. They had a brand new crib waiting for us upon our arrival!!! Wonderful people and wonderful property. 5 stars +

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mathias and Maria
Liked least: WIFI is slow throughout the Islands. You´re in the Galapagos. UNPLUG!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thank you for your comments! We try to do our best for our guests.
Having the news that you were coming with a baby was totally a nice and sweet surprise for us. We are parents, so we know our kids needs to be happy, comfortable and safe!.

Was a pleasure to meet you!

Mathias and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doclee15
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My 16 year old son and I stayed in the suite at Casa de Mathias. We were here to become rescue certified from Scuba Iguana. The suite is in a locked and secure compound that included another casita for rent and Mathias and family house. The suite is PERFECT. Two single beds, a full kitchen and plenty of hot water! The kitchen was stocked with eggs, milk, bread and juice when we arrived along with plenty of drinking water. The suite has air conditioning and is extremely private and quiet. There are bikes here that you can take out and enjoy the town. We used them everyday as restaurants and shops are a a 3 minute bike ride. Mathias and Maria, the owners are wonderful people and very helpful with anything you may need while visiting the Galapagos Islands. I would definitely come back and stay here and would highly recommend this rental to anyone who is visiting the Islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: not enough time!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you! We appreciate you so much. I hope you can come back soon! You are always welcome to Casa de Mathias!.

Warm Regards,

Maria and Mathias
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CdnBarito...
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value and so quiet we slept like babies”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very stressful week before we arrived, so were so happy to find this oasis of calm, with hosts that were so generous, helpful and knowledgeable. Our suite had a huge and very comfortable bed, lovely kitchen and bath all spotless and well-provisioned. We especially appreciated the gas stove -- we have propane at home and find electric ranges such a pain when we travel.
We also dove with Scuba Iguana which was also a fantastic time.
Had a chance to chat with Mathias on our trip back up the island where he regaled us with fascinating stories.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Gas stove
Liked least: We had some initial problems with Scuba Iguana getting a response back.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing