We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BEST PLACE IN GALAPAGOS”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Opuntia

View of front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of front of house
Entrance and dining room Living room and door to patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
View of front of house
Entrance and dining room
Living room and door to patio
Living room
Living room
Dining room and office area
Dining room and kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Office area
Seating area near kitchen
Patio and garden
Patio and garden
Patio
Side deck and garden
Patio and garden
Downstairs room one: twin beds
Downstairs room one: twin beds
Downstairs room two: queen bed
Stairs leading to second floor
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Balcony
Balcony
Rooftop patio
Rooftop patio
Rooftop patio
Garden
View of house
Tortuga Bay (30 min walk from the house along a path within national park)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Andrew B
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE IN GALAPAGOS”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Everything about this house was amazing. The amenities were great, the communication with the owner was fantastic, and the location was blocks from the center of town and on the path to Tortuga Bay.

I can't recommend this place enough to anyone traveling to Puerto Ayora!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner
Liked least: Wifi could have been better, but that's to be expected given the location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thanks for the review! Glad you had a nice time in the islands and at the the house :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesthesi...
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home in perfect location!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our group of 4 (my husband and I as well as 2 friends) stayed at Casa Opuntia a week ago and loved every minute of it!!! The house is in a quiet location near the path to Tortuga Bay and is close to all of the main attractions in Puerto Ayora. We could walk to anything within 15 min. It was really helpful to have Wi-Fi as well as a washer/dryer (which we used several times during our stay)!

On the day of our arrival, Mr. Marco, the owner's trusted taxi driver, picked us up from the airport right on time. He was so kind, and even took us on a driving tour of Puerto Ayora to help us get our bearings. Maria, the housekeeper, was there to greet us and gave us an introduction to the house. They day we left, Mr. Marco was not available so he sent another member of his taxi driver collective to take us to the airport. He even arrived early to make sure we wouldn't be late for our flight.

Tatjana, the owner, was extremely responsive and accommodating. Her guide to Puerto Ayora was spot-on an came in handy many times during our trip. She also went out of her way to help us book day trips.

Thank you Tatjana, Maria, and Mr. Marco. We really could not have asked for a better experience!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. A trip to the Galapagos is usually a once in a lifetime thing, and it is always great to hear when Casa Opuntia guests have a nice time! We do what we can to provide a good service and I am glad all worked out with the taxi driver - Marco is a great driver which is why I keep using him :)

Thanks again, and safe travels!

Tatjana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairala
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great value, good location, clean secure place, met our family needs.”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If you are looking to visit Galapagos and stay in Santa Cruz look no further. This place is a hidden gem. We stayed here from June 6 - June11. Outstanding value compare to what some of these hotels in Santa Cruz are charging. My wife and I along with our 16, 14 and 13 year old had plenty of space. Home is very clean and the bedrooms had AC. This home has plenty of space for a big family but best of all was the location. Close enough to everywhere you would like to go. Walk two blocks and you are in the middle of everything. Great place Tatjana! You were on point with all you said. Thank you for all your suggestions and for always staying on top of all my questions. --- Gabriel Jairala & Family

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Thank you very much for your review and for taking the time to send feedback, I really appreciate it! Come back again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoneFerre...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful home on gated, secluded property in town”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The house and property are beautiful and well maintained. We had so much fun during our stay! Having a private home was perfect for us, to do our own cooking, etc. There is a huge selection of books and movies, and the upper two levels were awesome with the outside deck areas. We loved having the washer and dryer as well!

The owner, Tatjana, is very attentive and responds to any needs or questions promptly. Also, her housekeeper, Maria, is very sweet, friendly and helpful.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and send your feedback, I appreciate it! I am glad you enjoyed the house and the Galapagos. All the best to you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiggiZA
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“More than expected, perfect for a family.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed with our two children at Casa Opuntia for 3 nights. The casa is more than spacious with 3 bedrooms, each with an ensuite bathroom. Nice work area and a huge kitchen. To our surprise, it was only a few minutes walk from the main centre of Porto Ayora.

We were well received and introduced into the house. Very clean and fully kitted with everything you would need. Unfortunately the WiFi was down, but it is readily available virtually in any restaurant.

A very good guide in english was provided which helped us tremendously.

The garden and surroundings where very neat and it was always relaxing "returning home" every evening.

We could not have asked for anything more. Perfect stay.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2015
Thank you very much! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize for the internet, but unfortunately it was out of our hands (internet company took 3 weeks to finally come fix!!). Thanks again for the review and feedback, come back again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing