We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
29
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice gardenthe ownertomashummingbirdstaxiecuador
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

About 5 mins walk into Cotacachi centre, the Yellow Guest House is a wonderful home away from home! The house was clean and very comfortable. The caretakers José and Narcissa are friendly and welcoming and super helpful! The host, Tomás was fantastic, he arranged everything I needed, including a personal pickup and guide from Quito airport! Tomás also provided some great tips on sights and activities. Thanks Tomás - I'll be sure to return, maybe with my husband next time for the motorbike trip!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Yellow Guest House is on outskirts of town but within a 10 minute downhill to downtown. Very quiet location except for the occasional rooster. For those not inclined to walk, Evelyn (the hostess) will call a taxi that charges $1.25 to town (price as of April 2016). YGH has a beautiful yard and very many hummingbirds. Two Lab dogs were friendly and calm. Tomas, the owner was a great help before our arrival and arranged someone to pick us up at the airport in Quito and take us back when we left. Great breakfasts and plenty of hot water. Thanks to Evelyn, Marcos, Mateo and Tomas for making us feel at home. We will be back as Cotacachi is wonderful and now we have a home at the YGH.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil_From_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We loved our short time here as it is beautiful, quiet (with the exception of neighborhood roosters), clean and had firm beds. I was most blown away by the unexpected hair dryer in the bathroom which is a first for me in Ecuadorian hostels. The property is lush, the 2 resident lab dogs are friendly & sweet. The staff, Evelyn was gracious and helpful. The shower had super hot water and everything was simply perfect. Their is a book exchange in the dining room and a very comfortable living room to hang out in. The wifi was strong. The price included breakfast and it was delicious, healthy & filling. Coffee and hot water are available 24/7. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015

just spent three days at The Yellow Garden House in Cotachaci. Great spot. Best wifi and breakfast we had in Ecuador. Most importantly, the caretaker Evelyn and the owner Tomas were great and very helpful during our stay. We found the location good within a short walk into town and very relaxing place to stay while in Cotachachi.

Room Tip: If no one else is there a shared bath is just like your own private bath.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

During our visit in Ecuador we went to Otavalo and we slept at Yellow guest house, this was a great and warm place to spend a couple of nights in with beautiful gardens and plenty of activities to do around the area.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews