We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christian R
Basel, Switzerland

Nice hotel next to the beach

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Aug 2019via mobile
It was a nice stay in the hotel and the stuff is very friendly. It’s 30 min with the taxi to the center of Santa Marta. One way +\- 7.00 USD. The only thing which i was missing are deckchairs on the beach. Only normal chairs available for deckchairs u have to pay separately.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
virgilio q, Director General at Mercure Santa Marta Emile, responded to this review
Responded 02 Sept 2019
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 773
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    R 3 173
  • Trip.com
    R 3 586
  • Priceline
    R 3 588
1.8 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free parking
Pool
R 2 782
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 781
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 779
  • Priceline
    R 2 782
0.1 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 448
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 393
  • Vio.com
    R 997
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 393
5.9 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 1 269
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 229
  • Algotels
    R 935
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 226
6.1 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 637
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 280
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 280
  • Priceline
    R 2 637
10.8 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 780
R 1 497
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 494
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 494
  • StayForLong
    R 1 553
10.0 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 235
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 306
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 169
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 309
10.0 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 271
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 271
  • Vio.com
    R 271
  • Agoda.com
    R 271
10.5 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free Wifi
Pool
R 969
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 969
  • Agoda.com
    R 967
10.8 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free Wifi
Pool
ZONA HUMEDA - PISCINA, JACUZZI
R 446
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 307
  • Vio.com
    R 425
  • Expedia.com
    R 436
9.8 km from Mercure Santa Marta Emile
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Santa Marta
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
273
126
52
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
273
126
52
19
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2019

Went for a short family trip and could not have been happier. Everything about this hotel was outstanding especially the service. Food was excellent and the breakfast was delicious. We had the deluxe room which I would recommend.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsok1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
virgilio q, Gerente at Mercure Santa Marta Emile, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Alejandro Spinelli -Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2019 via mobile

Nice good looking hotel however the management seems to look the other way.
No service at the lobby bar....no one helping with bags.....restaurant Manager looks uninterested in servicing guests..and his staff looked way to fed up with the whole thing.....heard lots of comments from the staff about how they struggle to get work done while management believes no extra hands are need it. Well.....guests feel the impact of those wrong decisions. The hotel is not new so is hard to understand why the head of management still keep doing the same mistakes. Lots of staff turnover....that says a lot about management. The new good looking hilton will for sure put this hotel as a last option for tourists....

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Costanza401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
virgilio q, Gerente at Mercure Santa Marta Emile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Santa Marta Emile. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Sincerely,
Alejandro Spinelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2019 via mobile

Good clean hotel, accor gold so received all the benefits that entails. Staff really helpful throughout, nice pool & good breakfast. Taxi to Santa Marta town was 23,000COP arranged by the hotel. I was unwell during the stay (ate something bad in tayrona national park) and the staff called a doctor who was at my room within 2 hours (7000 COP (£1.75!)).
Thank you very much!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jamesk01i
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mercuresm, General Manager at Mercure Santa Marta Emile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience with us, your opinion and your satisfaction are very important.
Thank you very much and Best Regards,
Alejandro Spinelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2019

The location is remote, you can't walk to anywhere and it's a good half hour from Santa Marta.

The staff could not have been nicer, even if only one of them spoke English.

The breakfast was complete and delicious.

The hallways to the rooms make it look like a hospital, lots of tile.

The room was large but a bit grungy. The AC worked beautifully. The TV only would click to one channel.

If I ever returned to Santa Marta, I would choose another place.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alejandr20, General Manager at Mercure Santa Marta Emile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience with us, your opinion and your satisfaction are very important to keep improving.

Thank you very much and Best Regards,

Alejandro Spinelli - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019

We stayed one night on this hotel but it was excellent. The reception staff gave us a good welcome and advice on saving VAT tax as non Colombian residents. We had the opportunity to go for a stroll on the beach and buy some stuff in a nearby shopping mall. There is a 24 hour pharmacy close by as well that was very handy in the morning. The breakfast is superb. I loved the empanadas and there is a good variety of fresh fruits and continental breakfast. I like that the bathroom is separated in different sections which is very practical. Everything looks new and shiny.

Room tip: Do not pick a room facing south.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wenshelado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alejandr20, General Manager at Mercure Santa Marta Emile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Alejandro Spinelli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews