We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Diane D
Pima, Arizona

Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jan 2019
We were on a 17-day trip to Colombia and, unfortunately, only one night was at the Costa Azul. Like many of the other resort hotels in Rodadero, south of Santa Marta, Costa Azul had a great beach location. It was amazing to me how few people were actually on the beach and in the water; most were using the pools. I could see why, though, as the pools were targeted toward families with small children and had many fun activities such as an elephant water slide.

The hotel was basically next door to one of the landing strips for the airport so there were frequent planes coming over the water at very low altitude. The rooms were insulated enough that noise was not an issue.

We had lunch and dinner at the large thatch-roofed outdoor dining area. Service was great and food was excellent.

Massages were available onsite but I didn't have time to indulge; wish I could have. Wish we had a second day at this hotel.
Date of stay: January 2019
Room Tip: Rooms facing the Caribbean give you a better view and sunsets. Lowest rooms' view might be...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelCostaAzul, General Manager at GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul, responded to this review
Responded 01 Feb 2019
Dear guest:

Receive a special greeting from the team of the Costa Azul Hotel, who appreciate the time it took to evaluate our service.

We are pleased to know that your stay was to your liking and that it had to do with your vacation memorable moments, it fills us with pride has had the opportunity to be part of your experience.

We hope to have you in this house in a next visit to the city of Santa Marta.

Sincerely,

Claudua Lievano
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 960
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 600
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.7 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 763
R 1 350
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 350
7.0 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 2 313
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
15.4 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 509
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Booking.com
14.7 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 090
  • Official Site
6.7 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Marriott Hotels
    R 3 788
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 117
  • Priceline
10.7 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free Wifi
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 010
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 234
10.8 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 787
  • Priceline
4.8 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 112
  • Algotels
14.6 km from GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santa Marta
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
141
163
77
33
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
141
163
77
33
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adult pool a great vacation the hotel staff pools 15km
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

The accommodation and facilites are good value for money. The staff was friendly and accommodating however most didn't speak a word of English so the check in and check out were a bit complicated. Location is perfect if you need to catch an early flight as I did. Was very disappointed by the restaurant which is why I only give the hotel a 3 star rating. I ordered a prawn cocktail which came in pretty warm and a cazuela de mariscos which consisted mostly of crab sticks. For 70.000 COP it simply not good enough. Don't put bloody crab stick in a seafood dish when you are litterally meters from the sea. My advice if you want to order food order something really simple like arepas or pollo, don't order any seafood as they don't know how to cook it.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank remy_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelCostaAzul, General Manager at GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018


Dear guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the team of the Hotel Costa Azul.

I regret that your stay has not met your expectations for all the situations described by you.
We are taking the necessary corrective measures with the areas involved to prevent situations like these from recurring and affecting our guests.
Thank you in advance for giving us your comments, which are an important part of our improvement process.

Sincerely,

Claudia Liévano M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Confortables rooms
Nice forniture
far
bad service when many people comes
Nice for family trip
Dinner Is good
Beach apacible
So Much sellers on the beach
Awesome pools for kids and adults
romantic place

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CLAUDIA PATRICI... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelCostaAzul, General Manager at GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear guest,

Receive a warm greeting from the team of the Hotel Costa Azul.
We appreciate the time it has taken to evaluate our service and give us a comment.

We invite you to return to our hotel on your next visit to the city of Santa Marta.

attentively

Claudia Liévano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We arrived at the hotel only minutes from the airport. The accommodations were outstanding in the new building. The pools were great for our young son spent all day in the kids pool having fun and making new friends. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hemipoweredcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelCostaAzul, General Manager at GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018


371/5000
Dear guest,

Receive a special greeting on behalf of the GHL Relax Costa Azul Hotel.
We appreciate your kind comment about your experience in your last stay at our hotel, and we are pleased to know that the hotel met your expectations.

We hope to see you again in a next visit to Santa Marta.

Yours sincerely,


Claudia Liévano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Was a day visitor here over the course of a week while some friends stayed in the apartments. The place is great it has a fantastic pool for kids and adults alike (separate pools), a beautiful pool bar with views to the sea and is reasonably priced. Great place.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrewsU9192DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HotelCostaAzul, General Manager at GHL Hotel Relax Costa Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Good morning Dear Guest:

Pls receive our greetings and hope you have had a safe trip back home.

Thank you very much for evaluating our service. We hope your stay has met your expectations.

Expect to meet you here again.

Sincerely yours,

Claudia Lievano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile


We weren't disappointed with this hotel, the pool was amazing, stayed in the pool for hours and hours. They have a hot tub and a pool bar.
Access to the beach, which is somewhat private.

The rooms are big and have comfortable beds, also has a great looking bathroom. And a great view of the ocean.

Staff is super friendly, one staff member even let me use her cell phone to call a late tour agency.

The only negatives I can think of is there aren't many night events, the hotel is not near anything so nightly events by the pool would have been welcoming.

And although breakfast was amazing, the word breakfast "BUFFET" didn't materialize. When I asked for seconds on eggs or anything else I always received dirty looks and got a quarter of a spoon on my plate.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ricardocP7497BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews