We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mirjam a

Think twice before you book this hotel! It is almost impossible to reach. Service is below standard.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Jan 2023via mobile
Think twice before you book this hotel! You can only reach it by a very bad road in the 4WD of the hotel, and you pay for it. The service (restaurant, breakfast, cleaning etc) is below standard. It sure is a wonderful location but only for them who don’t want to leave…
Extra info:
Everything is slow, we waited 2 hours for a simple meal, rooms were not cleaned (we stayed 3 days), very weak wifi, untrained staff, no info about eg Tayronapark, breakfast 3 days in a row only eggs and toast.
But if you just want to stay there for 3 days without leaving you can have a relaxing time
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 280
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 280
24.0 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 544
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Booking.com
24.6 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 808
R 1 558
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 558
28.4 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 1 936
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 578
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
28.6 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 670
  • Official Site
28.3 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 969
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 093
26.4 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 061
  • Algotels
26.6 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 170
  • Algotels
24.2 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Marriott Hotels
    R 3 771
  • Priceline
29.8 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 780
  • Hilton
28.7 km from Hotel Madre Sierra
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Santa Marta
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
5
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
0
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2022 via mobile

Be very careful before booking this hotel. To say it is remote is an understatement. To say all rooms come with access to a jacuzzi is a lie.
The road to the hotel is incredible treacherous and is barely suitable for a 4x4. Fortunately, we arranged a transfer with the hotel from the airport. We never would have made it would it otherwise. After turning off the main road it’s a 20 minute journey down a dirt path to the hotel.
The rooms themselves are fine. Comfy bed and reasonable toilet and showering facilities, although no hot water. On arrival we were told the jacuuzi would be cleaned and prepared for us the following evening. This never happened. Breakfast is served 6am-8am. If you’re outside of these times you have to pay.
We wanted to arrange a day trip to Tayrona National Park so discussed it with Gregorio at the reception desk. He stated there was no vehicles available to leave the premises, but could arrange motorbikes to pick us up for 17,000 COP each. We obliged. Motorbikes picked us up and we just about managed to negotiate the dirt track. No helmets were available, and once on the main road the guys were doing 85km/h. I understand that’s what people do here, but it’s incredibly reckless of the hotel to arrange such transport.
After being picked up by the same motorbikes and driven back to the hotel, we were charged 100,000 COP. Gregorio seemed to be making up the figure as he spoke to us.
For dinner we were pressured into making a food order and then ignored throughout dinner. No offer of drinks.
The following day was check out and we asked for transport to be arranged to take us to Santa Marta. Gregorio charged us 178,000 COP and took our money. Hours later he told us the car couldn’t pick us up due to the weather conditions and state of the road. We would have to walk for 10 minutes to pick up the car. This was the only way to leave the hotel!!! Madness. How can a hotel be in a location that literally cannot be reached??? How can you accept guests that have no means of leaving? Honestly, bizarre.
Of course it wasn’t a 10 minute walk. 30 mins later we were still walking towards the village with all our luggage. Fortunately, one man helped us… but it felt ridiculous. As we reached the village and the end of the track we saw a vehicle. The driver had no idea that a transfer had been arranged and paid for and had no idea where we were going. He tried to negotiate driving us somewhere else and clearly had not been briefed.
All in all, this had the appearance of paradise but was more like a prison. Think twice before booking this hotel. It is new and to be honest, is not in a position to accept guests yet. Particularly in rainy season.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Y3683DGcharliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2022

MadreSierra is located in a very unique corner of Sierra Nevada: cabañas are wonderful, with an open-air jacuzzi, high-class restaurant, natural pool just on the side of the hotel. Access is made easier by the incredible staff. Thanks a lot!

Date of stay: August 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F8252WBmarcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2022

We had an amazing 2 night stay. The rooms are beautiful and private. Each one has stunning views, a hot tub, and deck. The service at the resort is incredible. They went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time. They even helped us plan our trip to Tayrona National Park - helping us plan our route, drive us to/from the park, and rent horses at the Calabazo entrance so we could ride them to Cabo San Juan beach. Special thanks to Samuel for helping us organize the trip and to Yermain and Gloria for the wonderful service. If you're visiting Tayrona I highly recommend staying at Hotel Boutique Madre Sierra.
A few things to note - the hotel is very secluded and far from the main road. The road to the hotel is not accessible by taxi, car (unless you have a 4 wheel drive truck or motorbike), or walking. Make sure you arrange for the hotel to drive you to/from the hotel. For a fee they picked us up in Santa Marta and brought us back there after our stay. We also hired them to drive us to the Tayrona park entrance (the hotel is very close to the Calabazo entrance and a 10 min drive from the main entrance). Once you arrive at the hotel be prepared to walk down a long set of stairs and cross a rope bridge to get to the hotel entrance. It's very magical there, but also a bit hard to access. They do not accept credit cards at the hotel so bring plenty of pesos for food and drinks. Wifi is only available in the common area but it worked well.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank alison2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2024
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile
Google Translation

Room tip: ✅ Asegurarse de llevar suficiente efectivo o cuenta en Nequi/Bancolombia para los pagos en el hotel. ✅ Tener 4*4 para llegar.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews