We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MartaSwitzerland
Switzerland

Charming boutique hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Feb 2020
Charming hotel in the middle of the colonial town, close to restaurants and bars but quiet and relaxing. We had a nice huge room with high ceilings. The bed is quite hard and the a/c somehow noisy but we had a good sleep. The tiny pool is enjoyable, though the wooden floor and other features could be refreshed. Some small inconvenience like water pressure (we actally lacked of water for a couple of hours) and a lot of mosquitos in the room were annoying, but we were lucky to be assisted by Sandra at the reception who was a treasure for us, full of ideas and suggestions, always ready to help in finding information, and providing a very effective insect repellent for the room. Least but not last, a beautiful smile that made us feel welcome from the moment when we arrived to the moment when we left! Thank you Sandra !
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 152
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 732
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 739
  • Priceline
    R 2 152
0.3 km from La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 074
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 846
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 713
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 853
8.6 km from La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 494
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 346
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 880
  • StayForLong
    R 1 203
4.5 km from La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Pool
R 952
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    R 1 102
  • Vio.com
    R 900
  • Expedia.com
    R 955
8.4 km from La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 2 248
R 1 880
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 882
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 889
  • StayForLong
    R 1 885
0.7 km from La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 239
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 116
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 808
  • StayForLong
    R 916
4.7 km from La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 3 934
R 3 446
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    R 3 934
  • Priceline
    R 3 446
  • Trip.com
    R 3 440
12.2 km from La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Free parking
Pool
R 321
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 321
  • Agoda.com
    R 322
  • Vio.com
    R 322
4.6 km from La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 802
  • Booking.com
    R 1 145
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 274
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 279
10.4 km from La Casa del Farol Hotel Boutique
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santa Marta
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
329
104
34
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
104
34
12
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2020

The place lives in old glory and , although , the structure has a majestic beauty but the level of maintenance is very very poor and from the beginning this air of decay clings to you! All aspect of the structure are involved as for large rooms and confortable bathrooms!
Also the breakfast has to be revised considering the price of hotel!

Room tip: Upper level
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lucianoferro61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay. Big room, good airco and very friendly people. High quality service. But not for the breakfast. We’ve waited more than 40 minutes (!!) to get something, while we mentioned we had a important pick-up. This was at 7:00 - 7:45 in the morning.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 634paulienv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2020

The location is good, central. The room is very spacious and tall cailing which is nice. I suppose, this was a very nice accommodation when opened but it looks that the owner and the management have been ignoring any guests’ comments and the real situation for years. The place is just not maintained on a certain spots and this ruins the impression and the stay.

Disliked · The place is just not maintained on a certain spots and this ruins the impression and the stay. We suppose, this was a very nice accommodation when opened but it looks that the owner/the management have been ignoring any guests’ comments and the real situation for years. The place is just not maintained on many spots and this ruins the impression and the stay. Even the reception desk is in a bad shape (?!), the rooftop terrace is far from the condition that can be seen on the images. In a fact, it looks like it is abandoned and out of use, probably it is. Needs to be refurbished and well repainted and refreshed. A shower in a room was all covered with a calk, damaged, obsolete, bad looking and not working properly. Unfortunately, would not come again here.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank borisi977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

La Casa del Farol undoubtedly had its past charms. Today much of the amenities listed in travel guides no longer exit like a restaurant or laundry service. In any case, the establishment is about to close soon to be converted into a RB&B.
The daytime and nighttime receptionists are friendly and helpful. One speaks German the other English. Breakfast are ok.
Our room “Paris” is spacious but certainly far from comfortable. It has air conditioning but this morning the electricity went off together with the water supply.
The city of Santa Marta also has seen better times. Many people are poor and given to begging. Population explosion seems part of the problem.
Colombian Caribbean culture differs considerably from Bogota, San Agustin and Popayan places we visited previously. And of course so do temperatures.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Koblenz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2019

The location is great, in the historic center just a couple of blocks from the Parque de los Novios area with all the nice restaurants and good nightlife. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially Sandra at reception. The pool area is nice for sunbathing and relaxing, although the pool is quite small (basically a jacuzzi). Breakfast is tasty although I would add at least a few pieces of fruit to all the dishes, to be comparable to other breakfasts. The hotel is in an old house and that's part of its charm, but I agree with one of the reviewers below that it could use some refurbishment and painting.
Initially, they put me in a room that was not the one in the photos I had seen when making the reservation but then they put me in the room in the photos (Simón Bolivar room) and it was nice with a large comfortable bed and a small terrace outside. There was some tolerable noise (and this was during the Samaria fiestas) from the bars and restaurants nearby, but I'm not a light sleeper so I was OK. Had I stayed in the first room I visited, the Antonio Nariño room, I would have been miserable as it only has one window and is thus a bit claustrophobic.
I would stay here again but be careful about ensuring I picked the right room.

Room tip: Avoid the Antonio Nariño room, as it only has a small window behind the bed. The Simón Bolivar room was quite nice and classy and private.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mauricio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews