We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Cristian K
New York City, New York

Relaxed Family Fun

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Nov 2020
Ideal location for family vacation in Santa Marta. We enjoyed access to the pool and beachfront. The staff was personal and professional and helped us enjoy the vacation while being mindful of Covid restrictions and protocols. The breakfast was wonderful.
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 960
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 600
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.3 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 509
  • Hilton Garden Inn
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
7.9 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 313
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.8 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free Wifi
Pool
ZONA HUMEDA - PISCINA, JACUZZI
R 1 323
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
8.1 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 090
  • Official Site
0.3 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 790
  • Priceline
2.3 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 117
  • Priceline
3.8 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 010
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Marriott Hotels
    R 3 788
  • Priceline
4.0 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 112
  • Algotels
8.0 km from GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santa Marta
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
144
107
54
28
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
144
107
54
28
23
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2020

I was dissapointed with the restaurant service. I booked this hotel to celebrate my parents 50 year anniversary. The special dinner was not on time, and the menu was changed with out permise, The space for the celebration was not clean.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elianaromerocapera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcela P, Public Relations Manager at GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020


Dear Eliana, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

It is important to comment that you did not have a reservation with the restaurant, the area is a common area for all guests, in order to have access to exclusivity of the space you must be booked 1 month before and hire the referred services, you. He had dinner included in his reservation which is an established menu.

We regret that it was not your agrdo.

Cordially

Cesar Rodriguez.
Gte. Hotel Gio Santa Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019

I think they had bed bugs... I swear I got devoured by bugs in my sleep. They scarred terribly and started going away a few months later. We did not find our stay here pleasant at all besides receiving massages on the rooftop and having breakfast overlooking the water. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. I do not like leaving bad reviews and had to think about this for months. Unfortunately, I just don't think you should stay here. We had no choice as this was the only hotel available that could accommodate our group and had enough rooms.

Date of stay: January 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wanderwithsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcela P, Public Relations Manager at GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019


Dear Wanderwithsav

Thanks for sharing your experience.
When reading your comment I observe that your stay here was months ago, we would like to know what the exact date was.
Our hotel had a change of administration in which improvements have been made in all aspects including sterilization of all our mattresses, pillows and lingerie, however we apologize for the inconvenience caused.
and we would really like to be able to count on your visit and show the improvements made.

Cordially.
Cesar Rodriguez.
Manager Hotel Gio Santa Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Tequendama Santa Marta; Very helpfull personel. Great service. Hotel right on the beach reasonably priced. Clean rooms. Air conditioners worked well. Great fresh seafood. The road to the hotel needs repairs. The area is growing some construction adjacent to hotel.

Room tip: Get room on a higher floor.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Javier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
katherin s, . at GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your opinion and evaluating Our service. We hope to see you in a near future.We love that you have enjoyed our services, clean rooms, gastronomy...Thank you for your suggestions too.

Best regards,

Katherin Serrano
Coordinadora Contact Center y Reservas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My family just came back from Santa Marta and they spent 4 days at the Tequendama Inn. The hotel is a traveler type, it is far from most of the attractive places but it is quite during night, which they appreciate so much! breakfast was enough but lunches and dinners pretty expensive. Service is 24/7 which they didn't have any complain about it.
Unfortunately, one day after they arrived home, my sister was experiencing cold symptoms and she got red rare marks in her skin...she though it was ok because of the weather change between our home town and the heat from Santa Marta...guest what! she went to the doctor and he said it is an skin infection due to the poor cleaning of the bed sheets or towels. Now she is taking medicine for it but other 2 members of our family are having the same symptoms.

Room tip: quieter floors, far from major atractions
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angilu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
katherin s, . at GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018


We thank you your comments obout our servicies. We apologize for any discomfort that may have arisen. We allow ourselves to inform you that based on your opinion, the traceability was performed, because it is the first time that this circumstance occurs and we could verify that the microbiological quality of the lingerie is within parameters, in compliance with the quality policy of the company.

We will be attentive to any information required.

Best regads.

Sugeidis Villa
Administrador
Hotel Tequendama Inn Santa Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is basic. At a nice location with nice views to the beach from a tiny yet beautiful rustic balcony.

If you are looking for a sumptuous resort with opulent excess this is not your place.

The hotel is basic but offers all you need at great value. In the morning you can sit at the tiny balcony and admire the sea and beautiful beach. Enjoy flocks of pelicans passing by, see small falcons nest on the nearby palms or just take in the views of people walking on the beach. Breakfast is simple but offer all you need from tasty tropical fruits, better tasting than in NA or Europe, cereals and a main course of eggs served to your liking with local fare (arepa) instead of bread but the latter is also available. Remember basic without excess but offers all you need, kind, polite basic service that moves at the local pace (slow), you can park the car in front without worry or pay at the nearby lot and pay a nominal fee. Internet and ac work fine and the palm laced roof bar/restaurant on the second floor facing the beach is rustic basic and wonderful but hot is the sea breeze is not there to assist.

Best value around and great beach to wonder about almost carefree it does not have the hassles of Santa Marta or Rodadero

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank OtreblaSolrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
katherin s, CONTACT CENTER Y RESERVAS at GIO Hotel Santa Marta Tama, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Guest_

Thank you for sharing your experience and taking time to write a review. I hope you felt at home. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed Our location,The balcony , the beach, Our gastronomy...We hope to welcome you back soon.


Warmest regards,
Katherin Serrano
Commynity Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews