We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kcsteeler

Comfortable hotel in the heart of Santa Marta

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Dec 2023
My sons & I spent 3 days in Santa Marta in between our times in Cartagena & Minca. We spent 1 day in Playa Concha, one of the only beaches in Tayrona National Park easily accessible from Santa Marta. We happened to be in town for Christmas. There were lots of festivities in & around the town square & Bay area. We found a nice variety of restaurants. Try The Mexican for tasty & inexpensive tacos, etc or Radio Burger for hamburgers.
Date of stay: December 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 236
R 1 914
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 148
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 922
  • Priceline
    R 2 236
0.8 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 070
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 823
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 698
  • Priceline
    R 2 070
8.1 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 491
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 236
  • Algotels
    R 978
  • Priceline
    R 1 491
4.1 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 084
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 2 312
  • Hilton Garden Inn
    R 2 056
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 093
0.4 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 505
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 505
  • Vio.com
    R 1 088
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 313
4.2 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Exterior
R 2 776
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 760
  • Priceline
    R 2 776
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 769
9.9 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 320
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 320
  • Vio.com
    R 316
  • Agoda.com
    R 316
4.6 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 4 126
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 4 126
  • Vio.com
    R 4 112
  • Trip.com
    R 4 104
11.7 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 1 807
  • Booking.com
    R 1 426
  • Algotels
    R 1 337
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 581
10.0 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 913
  • Booking.com
    R 964
8.0 km from Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Santa Marta
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
263
103
33
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
263
103
33
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance great hotel rooftop pool convenient location tayrona national park marlon receptionist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2023

Due to an error made by the front desk. My fiancée and myself were treated disrespectfully and humiliated at every single interaction with this staff. From sending me to dangerous areas for currency exchange without first calling to make sure they were open as I requested they do. To discriminating against me and my Colombian national fiancée by stopping her from entering the hotel every day after her work. No management ever being visibly present except when sitting in the dining area during the breakfast buffet eating. To hiring and employing young irresponsible and petty security. The front desk and security employees, which by the way are and were my very first impression of the hotel were grossly incompetent and disrespectful. As one of the higher priced hotels in the area I would definitely suggest anyone thinking to stay here to reconsider and look at other similarly priced stays. I will say there was 1 front desk staff member that did go above and beyond my expectations (Marlon), but because he wasn’t working 24/7 the week long hotel stay was horrible to say the least. Too many nice hotels with front desk employees that actually want you and treat you like you’re welcomed!

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mobile38948213723
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2023 via mobile

It is a decent hotel, not brand new, not super cosy, which does it job for an unpretentious business travel. However, if you are picky and expect top notch experience especially when it comes to customer orientation, details, breakfast and swimming pool, you probably will not be too happy. Rooms are okay but equipped to bare minimum (you get only one towel, no bathrobe or slippers, no shower gel, only soap, no typical hygienic kits or shoe sponge). Breakfast is edible but always the same, and there are few choices: only one type of bread and it is a typical disastrously tasting sponge (although I must say that good bread is really hard to come by in Colombia), no proper desserts or choice of sweet spreads. Then, the swimming pool opens ridiculously late, only at 9 am (three hours after the sunrise). Such a pity because thus business travelers miss a good opportunity to start their day afresh, sunbathing and unwinding by the water.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Brnensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2022 via mobile

A very nice hotel in a perfect location in the heart of the city. The suite was super spacious and so clean. The rooftop pool is very cool. The breakfast buffet included all Colombian breakfast specialties. Will absolutely go back next time in Santa Marta.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NewYorker1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2022 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed with a friendly smile and sparkling clean room. We loved the rooftop bar and pool with a fantasticview of the bay and harbor! Our breakfast staff were fantastic! Great location, safe and close to Santa Marta Restaurants and Tour offices.

Room tip: Good business center on 5th floor. Made to order eggs upon request.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2022

Professional service with a smile. Staff was ready to help in any way. The hotel is conveniently located so you easily walk to the historic center, the beach, or take a taxi to nearby El Rodadero, where you can take trips to Tayrona National Park.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Julio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerencia General, Owner at Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2022

Dear Julio.

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Aimer Falla.
General Manager
Best Western Plus Santa Marta Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews