We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
214
170
75
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
170
75
19
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

The service at this hotel was excellent, and they provided three nutritious and generous meals a day. The room and bathroom were also comfortable and clean. It was also nice and close to some great attractions, such as the Botero sculptures and the museum featuring his art--though it is not located in the best place for tourists. (El Poblado seemed to be the best place for tourists, but I was in Medellin for work.) The main problem is the noise: of traffic, of roadwork, of music in the restaurant when parties take place there, of the person being sick in the next door bathroom! My goodness--I was ultimately so impressed by all the noise that I felt moved to do a recording of it on my phone from my bed one sleepless night! Ear plugs and a pillow over my head were essential to a night's rest.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank MariaKaaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Servicio al cliente at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Maria

Thank you for giving us your opinion about the Gran Hotel Medellin experience.

We are pleased to know that our service has been to your liking, just as the rooms have fulfilled your expectations in terms of comfort and cleanliness, we regret the inconvenience caused by the noise outside the hotel, in the next occasion we can offer you a room on the inner side of the hotel to minimize noise and ensure a comfortable and pleasurable rest.

We hope to visit again, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Muy atentos, siempre amable i listo para ayudar. They where always ready to help. the breakfast was good en the rooms where clean. The hotel was clean and all the personal that we meet where nice with a smile always ready to help.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chandrika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Guest service at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Hi Chandrika.

We are thankful for your comments about your experience with us, we're happy for give to you A quality stay and many times worth repeating.

We hope you will always be welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

I don't know why the rating is so high on TripAdvisor. The entire hotel from rooms to restaurant to lobby is old and looks like the backdrop of a movie in Baghdad. That said, if you need to be downtown and hotels are booked you can survive here.

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank Sven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Guests Service at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Sven P.

We deeply respect the different perceptions of each person.
The answer to your question as why our raiting is so high on the site, you can precisely find it in the numerous comments that our visitors contribute day by day about their experiences with us.
We clarify that our style, although classic, agrees first with our philosophy of preservation in perfect appearance and functioning of furniture and structures; as well as current trends such as environmental conservation; as proof of this we do not use air conditioner systems that increase energy costs and instead as mentioned we use other environmentally friendly options.
We do not know your personal opinion about other cities around the world but what we can assure is that if your interest is to be only a few steps from the most emblematic historical sites of Medellín, comfortable and punctual means of transport, theaters, museaums, mingle with its rich culture, tasty food, warmth of it´s people and enjoy a very good rest, you will definitely survive staying with us.

Always feel welcome at Gran Hotel Medellín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

I spent one week at this hotel. It is in the heart of El Centro so noise is a major factor. However, for light sleepers there are some noise free rooms. I spent the first night in room 707 and being a light sleeper it was totally unsuitable for me. I was relocated to room 910 which was much less noisy. The room was kept fairly clean.
The wifi in this hotel is very poor.
It was very difficult to get warm water in the shower. It fluctuated between hot and cold so that you constantly had to be turning the faucets.
There were a number of groups staying here during my stay including dozens of children who were, as is to be expected, quite active but fortunately the walls between rooms reduce the noise levels considerably.
However, I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are available, ask the front desk.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cutty1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Guest service at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear Cutty1954

We thank you for giving us your opinion, it is of great value for us to know how your stay at Gran Hotel Medellin was.
Regarding the hot water situation our maintenance department has reviewed all general system and corrections have been made to ensure a constant flow throughout the hotel, We also want to clarify that we offer to our guests a wifi network that supplies the basic connectivity needs for each and every one of them but it is not a high speed network to carry out activities that require a greater amount of band, for this we have our Internet room or with prior notice we can offer a special and private internet service For this type of tasks.
We are glad to know that our staff attended and resolved your requirements about the room.
we respect your express decision of not returning to visit us, however Gran Hotel Medellin will always have the doors open to provide our best service to you.
Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We knew that we were staying in an area of the city that wasn't really recommended - but wanted to be closer to some of the old city attractions. The hotel itself offered basic accommodation but I would like to say that the doorman and other reception area staff went out of their way to be helpful and provide useful information. It was a bit uncomfortable walking around the area after dark - but we made sure we were back in the hotel by 7 or 8 pm. Not sure that I'd want to repeat that experience.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Servicio al Cli... G, Guest service at Gran Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

We are glad that you have left us your opinion about your stay in Medellin, also know that our staff was helpful to you.
Our beautiful city is one of the most visited tourist destinations of Latin America, are many attractions that we have, security is one of the guarantees offered Medellin to its visitors.
We located in the center of Medellin, we have a police presence constantly and in this Christmas season is even more frequent, additional to this we are only three blocks from a police station so repeating your experience in Medellin would not only be a pleasure for us, if No, it would be an opportunity for you to enjoy one of the safest and most attractive tourist destinations in the world.
We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews