We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Colombian Dream”

True Colombia Travel
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39,00*
and up
True Brew - Infuse Life And knowledge Into Your...
Ranked #53 of 165 Tours in Medellin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: True Colombia Travel specializes in fully customized and unique experiences throughout the country of Colombia. We are Colombia-based, bilingual, and focused on making sure you have a trip to Colombia you’ll be talking about for the rest of your life. We pride ourselves on showing the ‘true’ Colombia: history, culture, cuisine, and natural beauty that make this such an incredible place to visit. In addition to fully customized trips we offer: TRUE AROMA - The worlds best coffee experience TRUE MEDELLIN- The best and most comprehensive Medellin day-experience TRUE GRAFFITI - An exclusive look at art and change in north Medellin TRUE ORIENTE - An exclusive coffee experience and trip to Guatape
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Our family ( 2 adults, 2 seniors, 3 kids ages 3 to 9) traveled to Colombia this month. We used True Colombia to arrange our entire trip. We went to Medellin, San Cayetano- a coffee farm 2 hours outside of Medellin, Cartagena, and Punta Faro- an island 2 hours from Cartagena. Every part of the trip was perfectly planned and was absolutely amazing! Our favorite was the coffee farm. The entire family enjoyed the trip and it far exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend Brian and his team without any reservation.

Thank purvi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at True Colombia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you, it was such a pleasure to have you and your family here with us. Please come back any time for more adventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"coffee country"
in 3 reviews
"tct"
in 2 reviews
"ana"
in 4 reviews
"cayetano"
in 3 reviews
"forest"
in 2 reviews
"sites"
in 2 reviews
"cars"
in 2 reviews
"tourists"
in 2 reviews
"company"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Our family (2 adults, 4 kids from 9 to 17) spent five days in Medellin and in the coffee country around it with True Colombia Travel. It was an extraordinary, authentic, beautiful, fascinating trip. The two coffee plantations we visited deep in the highlands were among the most interesting and beautiful places we've ever seen. Our Colombian hosts on each farm were welcoming, wise, generous, and shared their lives and work with us. We spent time with coffee workers and learned the coffee culture, but also had time for beautiful walks and delicious fruit and juices. In Medellin itself, we saw sides of the city it's hard for tourists to see: a visit to the fruit stalls at Minorista market, and then a gondola ride up to Communa 1, where we spent the day with a welcoming, fascinating graffiti and hiphop collective. All throughout, our Colombian guide Ana was passionate and interesting and incredibly competent. Plus, we stayed at great hotels.

Thank DavidPlotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at True Colombia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi David, it was such a pleasure having your family in Colombia, thank you so much for visiting and traveling with us! We hope you come back again to see more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We had an excellent experience wit True Colombia Travel. Brian, Santi and Ana made the rip memorable. We visited Medellin, Guatape, Jerico, Santa Fe de Atioquia and Cartagena. They were with us all the time, had local guides come with us to enhance the experience.Talking with people from the comunas, very talented artists helped us understand where they were coming from, all the obstacles they have had to overcome and the future outlook of the country. True Colombia travel provides an authentical Colombian experience with excellent service. They plan and cater the trip to your interests. From the moment I contacted them, Brian called us to see what our interests were, what we wanted to get and do with our trip.
Thank you again Brian, Ana and Santi. Good luck on your Eco hotel

Thank cwj1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at True Colombia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Clara, thank you so much for traveling with us! It was really fun and an honor to have you here in Colombia; we are thrilled that you got to see so much. We hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

My experience in Medellin was unforgettable thanks to Brian at True Colombia Travel! Brian was super friendly, knowledgable, and accommodative. I would feel confident recommending True Colombia Travel to everyone I know - they tailor an itinerary to your budget and preferences and deliver an incredible experience filled with top-notch recommendations for food, lodging, sights, and activities.

I was only in Medellin for one weekend, but I wish I had planned a longer stay so that I could have taken advantage of all of the activities Brian proposed!

Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at True Colombia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Julian, thank you for the kind words, very glad you enjoyed, it was great having you guys here. Please come back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We had an absolutely perfect experience with True Columbia Travel. Some background--both my partner and I are experienced travelers -- in general and in Central/South America in specific. My partner speaks fluent Spanish. We even know how to drive stick shift! For this reason, we rarely use touring companies when we travel. BOY am I glad we did this time. Despite all this, there is no world in which we could have organized for ourselves anything like the incredible trip that Brian and Ana of True Columbia Travel arranged for us.

They took us through beautiful and fascinating small towns, gorgeous countryside, and to two incredible (and very different) coffee plantations. Every step of the experience exceeded our (high) expectations. The incredibly complex logistics were perfectly handled. They managed to switch us between different type of vehicles appropriate for different conditions, to have delicious food at the ready at just the right moments, to calculate the right time to arrive at different locations without a hitch. AND they dealt with our constant demands to stop for ever more photos with aplomb (everywhere they took us was so beautiful!) They even had rain gear at the ready for us when it started to drizzle!

They were able to answer every one of the approximately 10 billion questions we asked them about Columbian history and current events, about coffee making, and anything else. The experience they organized was perfectly designed to match our interests and fit with the time we had available in Columbia. We worked with them in both Cartagena (where we went snorkling, took a boat tour, had lunch, and visited a village) and Medellin (where they took us on a an absolutely gorgeous multi-day tour of several coffee plantations and surrounding countryside.)

In addition to the sheer majesty of the things I saw--the wildlife, the gorgeous fincas, the views of the mountains, the waterfalls, the fields of coffee--and tasted--the delicious juices, the coffees and cascara tea, the tasty breakfasts and dinners--the trip gave me a sense of what life is really like in Columbia. I HATE feeling like I'm stuck in a tourist trap. That was the exact opposite--personalized, intimate, and authentic to Columbia.

I cannot recommend True Columbia Travel enough. The work they did was worth every penny.

Thank Brookes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Owner at True Colombia Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Brookes! Thank you so much for the kind words, it was really an honor to have you all here, it was so much fun for us to show you are this beautiful country! Very glad you had a great time, thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed True Colombia Travel also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to True Colombia Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing