We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is terrible.”
Review of Montmartre

Montmartre
Ranked #29 of 882 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: French, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Best Bistro in Cartagena. No frills, good atmosphere, good food!!! Our traditional dishes inspired from the international and French cuisine with a Caribbean touch, are 100% homemade, with fresh products and most of all, with lots of love!
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We had the shrimp and the dish consisted of 6 shrimp covered with cheese on a bed of boiled vegetables with no taste at all. The waiter is very nice.

Thank La V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantMontmartre, Propriétaire at Montmartre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hola La V.
Thanks for sharing your opinion that will help us improve this dish, even if we've never had that kind of comment about it... on the contrary...
I was a bit busy that night and didn't have the opportunity to come at your table and talk with you...I just could have my waiter not charge you for the main as your words towards it were so harsh... Our goal is obviously to have our customers happy with their experience here as we put our heart in what we do.
Even though you and your friend seem to be shrimp lovers, maybe we will get the chance to have you back at Montmartre to try other and more Frenchy dishes (or by then, maybe an improved version of the shrimps)...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Walked in at 7:03 p.m. to ensure I could go w/o need of reservation. Server was very helpful and knowledgeable. I opted for besitos caprichosos for appetizer m, duck for main course and Cabernet. Food was delicious.
The server was helpful with food selections. He could actually describe what to expect with each dish. Attentive service is good to see.

Thank Mónica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantMontmartre, Propriétaire at Montmartre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you Monica. It was a pleasure to have you at the restaurant!
Welcome back anytime!
The team of Montmartre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Very found of French cuisine we had a great dinner in the most beautiful city of the world!
French food in Cartagena a dream you pay a bit high but unforgettable!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daviguili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantMontmartre, Propriétaire at Montmartre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you Daviguili. It was a pleasure attending you
Welcome back anytime
Montmartre's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

The service was awesome from the first minute. We arrived 15 minutes before opening and were welcomed. Never happens in Cartagena! And it only got better if that is possible.
I got out my calculator to check the prices as I am Canadian. Exceptionally reasonable!
Food was amazing except might brown top of onion soup. Oh and my husband I are very picky eaters.
Two things to consider - very hot. A/C costs a fortune in Cartagena.
There was a clarinet player... so loud and with electronic equipment made room hotter. Both other couples were trying to talk. His response was to turn up volume. We also mentioned we were talking... He had his eyes closed and volume way up oblivious to his role. He was playing Carnegie Hall when he should have been providing a little background music..,
Save the cost of this guy and increase A/C. Possibly use iPod and speakers for very quiet music to increase ambiance
I would still say go if you love amazing food and service! Definitely five stars

Thank lamandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantMontmartre, Propriétaire at Montmartre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks you Lamandel, It was a pleasure to welcome you. and thanks for your advice.
Hope to see you again soon
Montmartre's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Wonderful value. 2 courses $21,000 or 3 courses for $23,000 including a refreshing fruit drink and bread. Excellent quality food. Copious portions. Stairs to climb to first floor. Excellent San Diego location. A la carte menu in the evening. Lunch 12-3.00 then closed until 6.00. Free wifi. Valerie, the charming owner, is Franco Colombian from Paris. My interview with her is on You Tube. Highly recommended. Go, go, go!

Thank Jilliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantMontmartre, Propriétaire at Montmartre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks Jilliana!! and thanks for the interview!
It was such a pleasure to meet you
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montmartre also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing