We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
154
137
42
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
137
42
16
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this little gem in the rough for six nights and started with the romance package - normally I would've steered away from this because many times the things that are included are really not first rate, but in this case it really was very nicely done and many details were not overlooked. The manager Alejandro, is there every day from morning tonight making sure the place is running smoothly.

The food is very well prepared - tasty and of a high-quality not to mention the prices are very reasonable, so we chose to eat many meals at the hotel because it was so relaxing and we got to know the staff and received personalized service not possible at a go-to one time only restaurant.

I would recommend this place highly but please keep in mind this is not a five-star hotel, pretentious or corporate feeling, for me it was more like a home away from home which is the experience I prefer on vacation plus the atmosphere and decor, were authentic Colombia, actually I think we were the only Americans there. That may be a plus or a negative depending :-)

As to location the place is literally across from the beach and it's incredibly convenient to go to the beach come back shower by the pool and then hang out at the pool, have lunch and go out to the beach again for the late afternoon.

I should mention Playa Club is in the middle of many hotels so there are times when you hear loud music and other levels of activity ( but not too late ) so if you are looking for a super quiet place that is always tranquil you may want to select somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MLondon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anyelithb, ejecutiva de cuentas at Playa Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear London
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to assist you and for choosing us to share your stay in Cartagena de Indias
Our goal is to exceed your expectations; we find it valuable to have known your experience.
Regarding your nonconformity we are taking the measures required in this case so that this type of situation does not happen again.
We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again in order to offer you a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Nice Place, Nice People, Nice to spend a day on the beach or pool with your family ...Cartagena of its best. Have a great meal with seafood fresh from the sea , fresh homemade deserts and fruit juices and nice and cold Colombian beer included. Don't miss this experience when you visit Cartagena

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank EgAlRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos A, Jefe de Calidad at Playa Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

We feel glad that you had enjoyed the time you spent at our hotel.
Best regards for you, We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again in your home in Cartagena de indias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

First this is a good value hotel AND the staff friendly and helpful!! The breakfast is outstanding and the location good! During the week much calmer than the weekends. Rooms are clean. Even the laundry service is good, quick and reasonably priced for a tourist hotel. Lots of action around this area. I first had a room with a serious mold issue in the air conditioning unit. BUT was moved to a much better situation and for that I was grateful!!

Room Tip: Check room first before you settle in, especially A/C for the smell of mold,some noise in rooms toward front,better noise than mold.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 41Wahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos A, Jefe de Calidad at Playa Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We feel glad that you had enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our services had satisfaced your expectation.
Best regards four you, while we have the plesure to welcome you back again in your home in Cartagena de indias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

This is a terrific hotel with a great staff. But I had room 515 and the music?/noise/racket in the evening from the hotel next door was simply astounding. How it could allowed/tolerated is beyond belief. In 50 years traveling and staying in hotels worldwide, I have never heard anything like it. Absurd is the only possible description. Except for that problem, I would recommend this nice hotel without hesitation. They must do something about their completely inconsiderate neighbor.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos A, Jefe de Calidad at Playa Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to assist you and for choosing us to share your stay in Cartagena de Indias
Our goal is to exceed your expectations; we find it valuable to have known your experience.
Regarding your nonconformity we are taking the measures required in this case so that this type of situation does not happen again.
We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again in order to offer you a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Had to stay here for two nights while working.
Upside
Hotel staff were wonderful and very helpful. As for the room, the bed and pillows were among the most comfortable providing a good nights sleep, cleanliness very good.
Down Side,
Fridge in room had rust on the top of it and did not seal well. TV had only one English channel which always seemed to be showing WWE wrestling.
Very noisy out the front.

There is a lot of renovation work ongoing which could make all the diference.

Room Tip: Mid Corridor as either end can be noisy at times
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GogsGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos A, Guest Relations Manager at Playa Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017
Google Translation

Queremos agradecer el tiempo dedicado para compartir su experiencia y expresar sus comentarios acerca de su estadía en nuestro Hotel.
Todas sus apreciaciones y sugerencias son tenidas en cuenta, por nuestra organización. Es valioso que nos haya dado a conocer sus recomendaciones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews