We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
264
186
28
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
186
28
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water old city arrange tours hotel lobby cab ride simple hotel minutes from the airport three nights the hotel is clean mini bar boca grande location is great star hotel walking distance bocagrande wifi minibar
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2018

We stayed four nights at Hotel San Martin , very nice place to stay it is clean, close to drugstores, restaurants, Emerald Museum , close to everything you might need! If you need to arrange tours or a taxi or anything Lourdes at the reception will make it happen! Very secure and cozy place Eric and Carlos will make you feel at home!

They serve cool beers and if you bring something else to drink no worries they will give ice, lemon or sodas, you can sit comfortably at the terrace and enjoy the night after the tours of the day at Baru beach or the Oceanario.

Very clean and the staff will give you great room service during your stay.

If I get a chance to visit Cartagena I will book at Hotel San Martin!

Room Tip: Quiet floors first floor.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Itzel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We stayed three nights at this hotel in Bocagrande, which is not the most interesting part of Cartagena but is close to several public beaches. The hotel is very conveniently located and is easily reached by taxis and local buses. The hotel is right at the intersection of two busy streets and room 121 on the lower level can get quite noisy as vehicles pass by on the adjoining streets. The rooms are spacious, bright, with minibar and a very good hot shower. Beds are large and comfortable. The staff at both the front desk and at the restaurant for breakfast are helpful and polite. The breakfast is okay but the prepared food is not kept warm. There is a decent choice of items including eggs, sausages, a variety of breads, cheeses, ham, butter, jam and several juices. The coffee is very good. If you are interested in staying in Bocagrande, then this is a good choice as you can walk one block to a public beach. You can also take an inexpensive taxi and/or public bus to the historic old center of Cartagena. There are literally dozens of restaurants within a three block radius of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 121 as it is on a noisy street
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_TA, Gerente at Hotel San Martin Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear skink, we appreciate your valuation to our service, your opinion is very important for us. We hope that your visit to Cartagena has been a memorable experience and hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

We had a feeling when we booked Hotel San Martin months ago that it would be an adorable modern yet classy quiet boutique hotel in main stream newer Cartegena. The Hyatt and Hilton are around the corner, probably for a lot more money and at least at Hotel San Martin there was just enough staff to remember you all day everyday.

Evelyn and Lourdes were very efficient to answer all our emails months before our arrival date. Both these beautiful young ladies helped us understand once we arrived where everything we need to know, from the Sightseeing Bus (an amazing deal!!!), to restaurants, and where to get laundry done before we continued our journey to another city.

The rest of the staff were brilliant, kind, and respectful which includes Nelson, the older front desk gentlemen, the room attendants, and the restaurant staff - always say hello, always have a smile on their face happy to see you, and they try to speak what little English they know. We really enjoyed the loving small team at Hotel San Martin.

The hotel lobby was cool and fresh always. The rooms were fresh and new! Towels and toiletries were available. Be mindful to purchase your own beverages including water at the various stores by the hotel. Also, the small square face clothes don’t seem to be common in Colombia. We recommend bringing your own loofa or face cloth if that’s your thing.

The hotel arranged our shuttle from the airport to the hotel. Also, the hotel arranged our bus trip from the hotel to Santa Marta. Such great service qualities of this hotel. This is not a 5 star hotel, but a 3 star hotel with qualities that many 5 star hotels lack! We stayed the week before at a 3 star in San Andres, and at Hotel San Martin we were spoiled with quality and kindness!!! We would love to stay here again if we came back to Cartagena. The only thing missing was a swimming pool. For the 3 days we had in Cartegena, we had enough to keep us busy and not need a pool!

So much was central to this hotel in walking distance, banks, hop on hop off bus, restaurants, shopping, so much!

Thank you Hotel San Martin team!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank monsieuramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_TA, Gerente at Hotel San Martin Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear monsieuramar , on my own name and on behalf of all the personnel of the Hotel San Martin Cartagena, we thank you immensely for your valuation to our service.

Your opinion is really important and stimulating for us, since it leaves us with the feeling of having done our work well, and for us that is the best payment for our effort.

We know that we have to keep improving our service and we will continue to work hard on it.
It is very likely that for your next visit to Cartagena we have a beautiful pool for the enjoyment of our guests, as it is one of our plans for the very near future.
We hope that your visit to our beautiful city has been a memorable experience for you and we look forward to serving you again.

The management,

PS, Greetings from Evelin, Lourdes, Nelson and all our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Pleasant accommodations centrally located in Bocagrande, 10 minutes from Centro. Room is clean and functional (no frills). Front desk and other staff are friendly. Would recommend staying on a higher floor as the hotel is right on a busy corner.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kerri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We spent 3 nights here and just loved the location. You can easily walk to the beach within a minute or you can enjoy a nice 20 mins walk to the walled old town of Cartagena.
The rooms are clean, the breakfast varies every day and the quality of the food is really nice.
The staff here was one of the friendliest we had in a hotel so far and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_TA, Gerente at Hotel San Martin Cartagena, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018
Google Translation

Apreciado Travel L le agradecemos sinceramente su valoración a nuestro servicio. Su opinión es realmente importante para nosotros. Esperamos que su visita a Cartagena haya sido para ustedes una experiencia memorable y poder volver a tener el gusto de servirles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews