We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 029)
Filter reviews
1 029 results
Traveller rating
436
397
128
43
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
397
128
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupgraded to a suiteseen better daysthe club loungerestaurant staffwestern restaurantriver viewbreakfast buffetvery nice hotelhouse keepingfive star hotelnoodlescentral locationrooms are largeshopping areasichuan operametro stationtianfu square
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 1 029 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Our family stayed here as part of our China tour to Chengdu, it is a beautiful hotel, all the staff we encountered were friendly & helpful.
Our room was large & felt spacious.
The breakfast selection is adequate & good. It is also centrally located.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LindaSim2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinneySHENG, The Secretary of General Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in Tripadvisor and expressing your satisfaction with us at Sofitel Taihe Chengdu .It is delighted to learn that our room and staff helped in making you and your family members had a excellent stay .To be a guest loved great hotel is our primary vision to achieve.

We will be grateful if you could allow us the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

A vast entrance room and imposing decor make this place feel like some sort of casino.
The rooms are a little dated and could do with an upgrade.
Full marks to the man in charge of the breakfast area who kindly accommodated my request for breakfast as they were closing up.
Many times staff have given the impression of disinterest in other places I've stayed when this has happened, but here the guy was super helpful.
Good location right on the river allows for easy access walks to the expensive and overrated Lan Kwai Fong drinking areas plus the very pretty bridge lit up at night.
Go for the Sichuan hot pot if you get a chance.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
Thank LookieLookie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinneySHENG, The Secretary of General Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Taihe Chengdu. and sharing your comments in Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is pleased to know that our service helped in making your stay experience enjoyable.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Comfortable, spacious and clean rooms, staff very helpful. It-s not one of the newest Sofitel, but it keeps the standard. The breakfast is rich and good. It-s pretty calm and you feel good in your room.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very spacious
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinneySHENG, The secretary of General Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Taihe Chengdu. and sharing your comments in Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Average overall. Breakfast ok but not much variety even after only 3 mornings, rooms ok on first stay then on second stay upgraded to suite due to error they made during first stay. Suite was great. Gym is pretty ordinary as is pool and spa area.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinneySHENG, The Secretary of General Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Chengdu Taihe. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sofitel Taihe Chengdu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Not much has changed since I was here 8 years ago. And that pretty much says it all. Noisy and dated, this hotel is a throwback to a more confused time in Chinese architecture and interior design. The rooms are clean but worn and the restaurants are nothing you want to stop in and try. The breakfast buffet has a half hearted attempt to provide Western fare with orange drink as "orange juice", watery coffee and taste-free breads. Skip this place and stay at one of the many new and excellent hotels around Chengdu. Besides, it's sitting next to two massive construction holes in the ground that will surely provide years of unnerving jackhammering and ground pounding at all hours. You've been warned.

othis this hotel

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
Thank gottagothere525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinneySHENG, The Secretary of General Manager at Sofitel Chengdu Taihe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
Sofitel Chengdu Taihe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews