We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Shijiazhuang
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
22
20
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
20
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews identification state passport era description history tomb students china
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

This museum is free for all, just need to show them your identification. Hence, remember to bring your passport along. Good educational visit for families and tourists. Centrally located. You will get to see histories of different era and dynasty. Photo taking is permitted too. Worth checking out this place if you are a history lover and since its free, why not?

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank ahwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Went there on a rainy day. Didn't expect the museum was that new, grand and so much to offer. The history and art are mainly from the Hebei region; the exhibition is just beautiful and the interactive media made the visit and learning fun for the kids. I remember were taking a small test of telling the modern Chinese writing from the old Chinese characters, all my family were intrigued, and in the end a kid in the neighborhood was joining the "competition" too. There is also dinosaur, as well as "experience" space for the "tombs" and ritual dancing in the primitive period. It exceeded my expectations and gave me a new aspect on the regional cultural heritage, so much to offer.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank viva634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

This is a great museum, full of exhibits pre dating to BC. The museum has 4 floors of exhibits, preferably start at the top floor and work downwards as the top shows the prehistoric age and proceeds in age as you go downwards. The museum is new and spacious, it also joins an older building of the museum where an exhibit of the Japanese occupation is shown.
There is no entrance fee but bring along some form of identification. I had a soft copy of my passport in my iPhone and reluctantly the ticketing lady accepted it.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank mkjs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Back in 2011-2012 the museum was mostly closed for renovation. Today an entire new museum has been built on the backside of the old one. It has some remarkable exhibits, including the first two Han jade burial suits ever found in China (today about 18 are known, though only half are publicly displayed). Besides the Mancheng Han Tomb Gallery, the other unique exhibit is that of the Eastern Zhou State of Zhongshan. Nothing out of the ordinary here, but there is a nice full-size model of a Zhou chariot. A Northern Dynasties Fresco Exhibit has a number of original frescoes, a painted room showing what frescoes looked like new, and a small army of terracotta figures recovered from a Northern Dynasties tomb. A porcelain gallery has a fairly decent collection spanning the Nanbeichao to the Qing and a Stone Gallery has mostly Buddhist carved stone images. Tourists rarely go to Shijiazhuang, but I went specifically to photograph the jade shrouds for my Chinese and World History website and for one of my books, and I am very happy I took the time to photograph this museum. It is not one of the five best in China, but it is still quite good, as indeed, nearly all museums in China are.

Date of experience: November 2014
3  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

Spent a few hours browsing the free exhibits. It's worth seeing if you have time to spare. There were 3 free exhibits showcasing Hebei ancient pottery, sculpture, and paintings.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank themadcatter07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews