We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 063)
Filter reviews
1 063 results
Traveller rating
938
76
28
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
938
76
28
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge goji korean restaurant breakfasts were excellent man ho restaurant premium ocean view room large section busy hotel relaxing pool definitely stay here again great kids club touring china special thanks service manager upon check west wing poolside service
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1 063 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018

The Marriott is a huge hotel at the far end of Dadonghai Bay with the ocean on one side and mountains on the other. The decor is modern and stylish, and the rooms are large with all the features you'd expect like flatscreen TV, electric blinds, balcony, big bathroom with rainshower and bathtub by the window (in our case looking out onto a rock wall - one of the few rooms in this cleverly-designed hotel without a sea view!). There's a huge pool on the ocean side, a few quality restaurants and lots of places to chill out. Best of all was the Executive Lounge which was massive, had great views over the ocean, and provided afternoon tea with cakes and snacks, and then an evening happy hour with a decent choice of very good wines, beers and spirits, and a decent hot and cold buffet which was plenty for dinner. Best of all were the staff - as an English speaker, there were a few Nepalase who spoke excellent English and were genuinely friendly and kind, and whilst most of the local staff in the lounge didn't speak much English, they were still very helpful and did their best to take care of us.

In terms of location, Dadonghai Bay is mostly aimed at locals and Russian tourists (most of the signs are in Russian), has a nicer beach than Sanya Bay and a boardwalk stretching from the Marriott to the other end of the bay, lined with mainly local restaurants serving pretty average food. There are a few supermarkets and a Pizza Hut halfway along. We stuck with the Lounge for meals. Local buses are cheap and frequent - 26 and 54 go from the main street in Sanya and drop you about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. There are also a few along the main stretch of Dadonghai Bay that go to Yalong Bay. Yalong has nicer hotels and more of a beach vibe, but is relatively isolated and quite a trek from Sanya.

Some other tips: For getting around by car, the Didi app was fantastic - it's China's equivalent of Uber, all in English, cheap, cars everywhere, and avoids the risk of the driver getting your destination wrong (and they're all eager to please in order to get a 5 star rating). The Pleco app is great for translating pinyin to chinese characters - good to help you read signs, or to show to locals when trying to book train tickets etc. Via the camera it can also translate text to English, sometimes with great accuracy.

All in all, the Marriott is a decent modern hotel with everything you'd want for a holiday on the beach in Sanya

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Up1ntheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinYangChao, Director of Rooms at JW Marriott Hotel Sanya Dadonghai Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay through the TripAdvisor Website.

We are so glad to know that you have a awesome vacation on Sanya, also staying in our hotel enjoyably. Your good comments for hotel facilities and staff service, which give us huge supporting.

Thank you again for your sharing time and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We chose this hotel as the prices were very attractive compared to other hotels in the area, as well as the convenient location to the city. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool facilities, the 24 hour gym was convenient for us, however quite disappointed that the Infinity pool was closed! That was one of the reasons why we were so drawn to this hotel as well. The room was spacious and exceeded our expectations, favorite part was the huge bathtub and the fact that you can open the doors so that you can enjoy a bath while watching TV. The daily breakfast buffet at the Goji Restaurant was also amazing, a great variety of foods to enjoy and different things every day.

As there was unfortunately a typhoon passing during my stay at Marriott, we were looking to stay on the hotel grounds for entertainment. We were told there was a game room with a number of activities to enjoy, however quite disappointed to learn that each of these activities you had to add on money for. Due to this reason we ended up going out to the city despite the rain. We had asked the concierge to borrow an umbrella as we had not brought one ourselves, but the staff would not allow us as they said that because of the typhoon they are worried it will blow away when we use it. I understand this but also quite ridiculous as we are guests and need an umbrella to use in the rain. At this point we got quite frustrated as it felt as if we weren't allowed to stay on resort without paying for facilities and then not being allowed to use an umbrella when out. Following this, we were not told by the staff that we had to book one day in advance for the shuttle to the city, even though we only arrived that day therefore it being impossible to book at all.

Another incident was the fact that we were attempting to book the shuttle to the CDF mall in Haitang Bay a day in advance however, were also not told that the "day in advance" meant before 4pm so these minor bits of information was not delivered to use properly, which sort of caused a dispute between us and the staff. The staff that day were not quite understanding and polite even though we had spoke mandarin - getting quite frustrated with us.

Other than these small incidents we had a pleasant stay. We would like to give special thanks to Anson Yang, he has great English and Cantonese communication (we speak english and cantonese primarily) making it easier for us. He had helped us when our room safe wasn't working as well as helping us Check out. He was very polite and made sure that we were satisfied with our stay. Thank you Anson for the great customer service! You will be remembered :)

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felicia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinYangChao, Director of Rooms at JW Marriott Hotel Sanya Dadonghai Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay through the TripAdvisor Website.

We are so glad to receive your good comments for our rooms view, Goji restaurant and gym which recovered your bad mood causing typhoon day. I will pass on your kind words to Anson as I am sure he will be happy to know you were delighted by his flexible service.

Thank you again for your sharing time and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

It’s my first time staying at 5* hotel and I must say it was fun and worth the stay from rooms,facilities,view and friendly staff. Even though some staff can’t speak english fluently they still try to understand or ask someone who knows english language just to satisfy and answer every customers query. Definitely recommended for everyone.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank graziosalynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinYangChao, Director of Rooms at JW Marriott Hotel Sanya Dadonghai Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay through the TripAdvisor Website.

We are so glad to receive your good comments for our room view, facilities and staff service. We training associates English all the time to ensure guests stay experience. And thank you for your recommendation.

Thank you again for your sharing time and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

2nd time we have stayed here, nothing changed in the one year gap, great hotel and staff but below par breakfast.
Respected in full as platinum member,lovely corner suite 601, cannot fault the room except i asked one day later for the welcome fruits.
Bit annoying when in the bathroom hearing the same doorbell sound as the lift.
The grounds are lovely and far more spacious than the Autogragh hotel 200 metres opposite, but they do have nicer swimming pools in my opinion.
The executive lounge is great, each evening there was a nice selection of foods and drinks, specisl thanks to Ricky and his team.
Cara gave a professional and polite check in.
Now the only reason why 4 stars, breakfast, something about the layout is not right, and unable to cope with peak demand 9-10am, no replinshments and the coffee is not good.
I do not normally pull down hotels in the chain that i pay a lot into, but something needs improving here.
3 strikes and your out is the norm, please listen to your customers, other than that if your not eating here then great hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BritinChina1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinYangChao, Director of Rooms at JW Marriott Hotel Sanya Dadonghai Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay through the TripAdvisor Website.

I will pass on your kind words to Ricky and Cara as I am sure they will be happy to know you were delighted by their flexible service.

Thank you again for your sharing time and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

I visited Sanya Marriott Dadonghai for my family vacation.
Breakfast at the Goji restaurant was not that high quality as I expected and there was so many people. But it was nice.
My two little girls liked swimming pool and the sand playground(?) at the pool side. The Kids club was really good. I want to recommend this hotel to family with little kids.
The executive lounge was very good. I enjoyed the Happy hour and snacks there.
Especially the staffs at the lounge were very kind and helpful.
I met a staff (who's name was Sanmani from Nephal) and he always smile and tried to help us to spend a good time at the lounge.
I was so impressive and write this review to praise him.

딸아이 둘과 함께 가족여행으로 방문함.
조식당 Goji 레스토랑은 좀 붐비고, 예상했던거보다 그리 높은 수준은 아니어서 아쉬웠음.
수영장이 아이들 놀기 좋고, 바로 옆에 모래밭이 있어서 모래성도 쌓고놀기 좋았음.
엘리트멤버로서 익제큐티브 라운지를 이용했는데, 해피아워와 스낵을 잘 이용했고
간단히 저녁식사 후에 셔틀버스를 이용해서 시내로 나가니 매우 좋았음.
키즈클럽이 잘 되어있음. 커다란 미끄럼틀과 엑스박스에가 있어서 초등학생인 아이들이 매우 좋아했음.
아이들을 동반한 가족여행시 추천하고 싶음.
이유: 가까운 시내, 키즈클럽

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odyssey792925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GavinYangChao, Director of Rooms at JW Marriott Hotel Sanya Dadonghai Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay through the TripAdvisor Website.

I have passed on your kind words to Sanmani, he was super happy to know you were delighted by his flexible service.

Thank you again for your sharing time and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews