We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 408)
Filter reviews
1 408 results
Traveller rating
735
571
78
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
735
571
78
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant yalong bay tier pool breakfast buffet kids club small shopping family package shallow pool sanya town white sand sea water beautiful beach swimming area the check in process welcome drink beach bar language barrier
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1 408 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful oceanfront resort, amazing landscapes, hotel staff are very warm and friendly. The kids club is well designed to children from 1-6 years old for play around a whole day, a lot of fun and parents can relax. The lap pool in Kids Club area is very quiet compared to the big one in main garden. We truly enjoyed the holiday!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank 524 125 539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Stayed at this hotel in June. We were presented a pretty necklace, which was a pleasant surprise for us. We reached around 11+ and only one room was ready, which was fine with us since we were early. We were also given a bigger room with good view for my couple friends who were celebrating their anniversary. It was a nice gesture for my friends.

However, the last room was only given to us at 4+ after i called to ask the recep. I was informed that the previous guest who was a Marriott member, had extended the check-out thus they could not prepare the room in time. They asked for more time to clean the room, but when we finally got the room, it wasnt totally cleaned. The floor had dirt, bath amenties werent complete, no floor mat. The holder for the shower head was also spoil, bathroom door wasnt able to close well. Water was all over the floor after bath. I went down to the recep to ask for these items to be delivered before i went out for dinner, but it wasnt delivered when i came back. I had to call to ask for the items again.

Last, i bought a package which includes spa vouchers, bike rides, and something else. The package about SGD100+ more for each pax (we had 6 pax) but none of these was given to us. To be frank, i wasnt even intending to write a review on all these because i was having a separate email with the front office manager, Alex to get the refund on this package. But after afew emails, he stopped responding despite promising to reply the next day. I just want to have a proper closure on this.

Room Tip: face sea or face garden are both good as long as high floor
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnnieTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlin137, General Manager at Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa and sharing your comments with us. We value all guest feedback as it is through such comments that we can continually improve.

I'm very pleased to know that you and your friends enjoyed their anniversary trip and you've found our location to be so amazing. I hope that you had a relaxing getaway with lots of happy memories.

However, I hereby to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused due to some issues you've mentioned. First of all, as you requested rooms close to each other and due to high occupancy in our peak season, we couldn't arrange the room you've booked to be ready by that time which we are all so sorry about. Secondly, we will definitely strengthen our Housekeeping and Front Desk training towards our associates to enhance service level. It's always the priority affair for us to provide all of our guests with the most comfortable staying experience and flawless service. Last but not least, our financial department is handling with the refund process currently according to our procedure, and we will email you back soon when there is any updates.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. I very much hope that we will be able to welcome you once again in the future.

Best regards,
Edmund Ko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This time I visited to have the business meeting but I really feel this is good choice. We can stay with some relaxing and that helps us much fun during the meeting. Food chices are not so much but that good too. View of the ocean is good too.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ArataTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Me and my wife have Marriott Vacation Membership. We have stayed at Marriott in Phuket, Shanghai, Bangkok, Singapore and several other cities. The Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay is probably the least desirable in terms of overall experience.
First, in other Marriott properties, the check-in is done sitting down on a nice comfy chair. In this hotel, due to some mixed up with the system, my wife has to stand for more than 90minutes to fix the booking.
Second, in other Marriott properties, we will be served a welcome drink immediately. In this hotel, the welcome drink is given out at certain timing only, so if you are checking in after that period, you won't get it unless you wait for the next round of drinks.
Thirds, Majority of the customers are local Chinese who smokes. The hotel management are unable to enforce the no-smoking rules. They smoke when alighting from their vehicles/bus, they smoke in the lobby while waiting. They smoke while walking around the hotel. They smoke while entering the lift. They smoke in corridors along the rooms. They smoke at the beach area or pool area. They smoke everywhere, including inside the bedrooms.
Fourth, Again due to the clientele, during breakfast buffet, they pile up the food sky high on their table. It looks like they are having a buffet spread on their tables. Huge food wastage considering millions of people die of hunger in this world. They should be penalized for doing such shameful act.
Fifth, unlike other Marriott Hotels, Marriott Vacation Member holders are considered outsiders and to be treated with less respect. The staff kept blaming the overseas Marriott office (booking was done from another country). They act like the vacation members are slightly of less value (they kept referring it as 3rd party). Maybe this is because the local tourists are too rich and hence they have seen too many rich people around to even bother to show some respect or courtesy to other paying hotel guests.
Sixth, lack of information about shuttle availability. There is a sign near the lobby and nobody else mentioned it or explained it, so you have to look for the information yourself.
Seventh, the aircons are probably old and not cold. We booked 2 rooms, and we switch the aircon at full blast at the lowest temperature and the temperature was just slighly cold all night long.
Eighth, the bathroom soaps comes in small containers, slightly too little if you have more than 1 person in the room who need to use it more than 1 time.
Aside from the above negatives, there is a supermarket near the hotel. There is also a nearby eatery location with many restaurants (cheaper and more variety than eating inside the resort). Taxi are easy to get, the staffs will be able to help you get (you can ask for bigger taxis that can fit 6 to 8people at double the normal rate).
The kids club is pretty good for younger kids. It has its own shallow pools and adult pool, so parents can still swim while watching the kids. The adult pools are pretty big and plenty of activities can be done in the swimming area, like basketball or volleyball.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlin137, General Manager at Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa and sharing your comments with us. We value all guest feedback as it is through such comments that we can continually improve.

I'm very pleased to know that you like our hotel’s parent-child facilities which is our hotel famed for, great location with direct access to the beach, lush greenery, private swimming pool and plenty of activities that you and your families to enjoy.

I hereby to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused due to those issues. Your concern has already been addressed to our management team, and the action to improve on this issue has been emphasized to the related departments accordingly, as your booking all are different and without any remarks, there could be several conditions out of our prompt control. However, we always make sure our check in procedure is done on regular basis. It's the priority affair for us to provide all of our guests with the most comfortable staying experience and flawless service. We treat every guest as VIP and offer excellent, efficient and warm-heated service. It's our duty to offer considerate service and our goal is to create brand name. And considering guests' health, our central air conditioning temperature couldn't adjust to very low, it is not a technical problem, we hope you could understand.

We will continually strengthen our training towards our associates to enhance service level, and definitely take responsibility to remind guest when smoking in public area. We have well-noted all the points you have mentioned in your review and same has been discussed with the team for proper solutions and to avoid same experience for other guests.

We very much appreciate your constructive feedback, and we will diligently make every effort to improve these points.

Best regards,
Edmund Ko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

It's a beautiful hotel, the gardens are immaculate, the pools are beautiful. The beach is beautiful however there's strong currents when we visited. All the beaches we visited have strong currents. We were upgraded, so our room has a lot of windows, very airy, very comfy. The restaurant prices however are very high compared with the other marriot hotels at Sanya. We didn't see when we entered the property that there are restaurants a block away. We also saw some locals booking foods for delivery from McDonalds, etc. We'll take note of this next time as it seems to be a norm as we stayed at several hotels at Sanya and that was what the locals were doing to save on food cost.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews